Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Ethernet RJ45 to wifi bridge

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    bob_m_54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    1,195
    Thanks
    570
    Thanked 538 Times in 331 Posts
    Rep Power
    275
    Reputation
    7918

    Default Ethernet RJ45 to wifi bridge

    I have a wired connection up to my shed, and want to have wifi up there. I have tried a wifi extender (Netgear WN2000RPT), but due to the shed being colourbond, and the house being brick and approx 30M away, it was never very successful. Also the wifi extender I have, can't be used as a bridge, ie connected to my wired network to give me wifi out.

    Any suggestions for a suitable product for around the $100 mark? There are a few on ebay, but having no experience with the brands they have, at that sort of price, I thought I'd get some advice from the network gurus on here.



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    oceanboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    13,543
    Thanks
    5,749
    Thanked 6,350 Times in 3,444 Posts
    Rep Power
    2607
    Reputation
    102072

    Default

    Could not be easier
    You have a wired connection to your shed
    Just use anything you have as an Access Point in the shed.

    AP / Old Router / Old WiFi Modem, what ever you have laying around will work.
    Last edited by oceanboy; 30-08-16 at 11:20 AM.
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #3
    Senior Member
    bob_m_54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    1,195
    Thanks
    570
    Thanked 538 Times in 331 Posts
    Rep Power
    275
    Reputation
    7918

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oceanboy View Post
    Could not be easier
    You have a wired connection to your shed
    Just use anything you have as an Access Point in the shed.

    AP / Old Router / Old WiFi Modem, what ever you have laying around will work.
    haha, would be easy if i had an old wifi router laying around LOL. Although I've never tried to use one just as a bridge.

  • #4
    Senior Member
    oceanboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    13,543
    Thanks
    5,749
    Thanked 6,350 Times in 3,444 Posts
    Rep Power
    2607
    Reputation
    102072

    Default

    Get that "Bridge" idea out of your head
    That is not what you are doing here.

    You are simply deploying an AP on the end of a LAN cable.



    You can connect it 2 ways

    1. By using the Router function in the product (it will do it all automatically)
    2. By using anyone of the LAN ports (Manually configure, keeps it on the same sub net that way, the preferred method)

    Back to your original problem getting WiFi out to the shed, i have been very impressed with EoP products in situations where WiFi and Running a Physical LAN cable was impossible.
    It is far superior to WiFi Bridges which halve your speed everytime.
    Last edited by oceanboy; 30-08-16 at 01:35 PM.
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • The Following User Says Thank You to oceanboy For This Useful Post:

    bob_m_54 (30-08-16)

  • #5
    Senior Member
    bob_m_54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    1,195
    Thanks
    570
    Thanked 538 Times in 331 Posts
    Rep Power
    275
    Reputation
    7918

    Default

    Yeah, bad terminology on my part there. Bridge would be between two wired networks.
    But yes, that looks like what I'm after. Why isn't that easy when you go into a shop? They all wanted to either sell me another wireless extender, or a new wireless modem/router.

  • #6
    Senior Member
    oceanboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    13,543
    Thanks
    5,749
    Thanked 6,350 Times in 3,444 Posts
    Rep Power
    2607
    Reputation
    102072

    Default

    Probably because they have no idea
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • The Following User Says Thank You to oceanboy For This Useful Post:

    porkop (30-08-16)

  • #7
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wherever the babes and booze are.
    Age
    53
    Posts
    4,110
    Thanks
    1,276
    Thanked 1,779 Times in 860 Posts
    Rep Power
    683
    Reputation
    21552

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oceanboy View Post
    Probably because they have no idea
    Oh yea!!!!! aint dat der truth
    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!

  • #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    191
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 72 Times in 47 Posts
    Rep Power
    132
    Reputation
    1040

    Default

    Get yourself a Ubiquiti Unifi Access Point.

    This one

    Or this one
    Last edited by irwazza; 30-08-16 at 08:11 PM.

  • #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    191
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 72 Times in 47 Posts
    Rep Power
    132
    Reputation
    1040

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oceanboy View Post
    It is far superior to WiFi Bridges which halve your speed everytime.
    WiFi bridges don't halve your speed..... Repeaters do.
    Last edited by irwazza; 30-08-16 at 08:18 PM.

  • #10
    Senior Member Mods's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    49
    Posts
    579
    Thanks
    248
    Thanked 256 Times in 129 Posts
    Rep Power
    178
    Reputation
    2205

    Default

    Wont there be issues if you put a wireless router in the shed - which is already coming off of a router ? Wont there be dns/dhcp issues ? Or do you have to manually configure each item in the shed ?

    Cheers.
    When I was a kid, I used to have an imaginary friend. I thought he went everywhere with me. I could talk to him and he could hear me, and he could grant me wishes and stuff too. But then I grew up, and stopped going to church.

  • #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    191
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 72 Times in 47 Posts
    Rep Power
    132
    Reputation
    1040

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mods View Post
    Wont there be issues if you put a wireless router in the shed - which is already coming off of a router ? Wont there be dns/dhcp issues ? Or do you have to manually configure each item in the shed ?

    Cheers.
    Won't have issues if configured correctly.

  • #12
    Senior Member Mods's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    49
    Posts
    579
    Thanks
    248
    Thanked 256 Times in 129 Posts
    Rep Power
    178
    Reputation
    2205

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by irwazza View Post
    Won't have issues if configured correctly.

    So, turn off the dhcp ?

    I only ask as I have exactly the same issue as the OP myself. I have a computer in the house, and have run a cable to the shed. It then goes into a wireless router, but that's where the issues start. I currently have dhcp turned on, but am happy to manually configure it if that will solve the conflict issues.
    Or, if it's easier to just buy a wireless AP, then I am happy to do that.

    Cheers.
    When I was a kid, I used to have an imaginary friend. I thought he went everywhere with me. I could talk to him and he could hear me, and he could grant me wishes and stuff too. But then I grew up, and stopped going to church.

  • #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    191
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 72 Times in 47 Posts
    Rep Power
    132
    Reputation
    1040

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mods View Post
    So, turn off the dhcp ?

    I only ask as I have exactly the same issue as the OP myself. I have a computer in the house, and have run a cable to the shed. It then goes into a wireless router, but that's where the issues start. I currently have dhcp turned on, but am happy to manually configure it if that will solve the conflict issues.
    Or, if it's easier to just buy a wireless AP, then I am happy to do that.

    Cheers.
    Turn DHCP off on the router in the shed. That way your primary router will handle addressing. A wireless AP is ideal but the router will do what you require

  • #14
    Senior Member
    oceanboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    13,543
    Thanks
    5,749
    Thanked 6,350 Times in 3,444 Posts
    Rep Power
    2607
    Reputation
    102072

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by irwazza View Post
    Turn DHCP off on the router in the shed.
    You can actually do it either way
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #15
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wherever the babes and booze are.
    Age
    53
    Posts
    4,110
    Thanks
    1,276
    Thanked 1,779 Times in 860 Posts
    Rep Power
    683
    Reputation
    21552

    Default

    I run exactly the idea above. Two netgear routers. One with dhcp off. No issues ever
    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!

  • #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    191
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 72 Times in 47 Posts
    Rep Power
    132
    Reputation
    1040

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oceanboy View Post
    You can actually do it either way
    He is struggling to set this up, turning DHCP off on the secondary router simplifies it.

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to irwazza For This Useful Post:

    bob_m_54 (31-08-16),tristen (31-08-16)

  • #17
    Senior Member
    bob_m_54's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Newcastle, Australia
    Posts
    1,195
    Thanks
    570
    Thanked 538 Times in 331 Posts
    Rep Power
    275
    Reputation
    7918

    Default

    Thanks guys for the info.

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •