Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: cpu overheating

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Reputation
    90

    Question cpu overheating

    i built this computer my self but today my computer overheated i putted a new Thermal paste to see how it goes but should i be looking buying a new cpu



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    48
    Posts
    3,508
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 1,062 Times in 631 Posts
    Rep Power
    473
    Reputation
    12078

    Default

    no not really
    depending on the cpu? which is?
    you just need to make it cooler
    maybe a better heatsink
    what temp was it, what does the bios say, whats the shutdown temp set at in bios???
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Philquad For This Useful Post:

    Ris (11-11-16)

  • #3
    Super Moderator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    14,925
    Thanks
    4,180
    Thanked 8,988 Times in 4,484 Posts
    Rep Power
    2886
    Reputation
    113869

    Default

    If the computer is overheating, it's not the CPU, it's something wrong with the cooling system.

    You've excluded thermal paste being the issue, so I'd be starting with things like adequate ventilation around the case.... fans... blocked filters, etc.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    Ris (11-11-16)

  • #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Reputation
    90

    Default

    im only useing the stock fan and the cpu is a amd fx 6300

  • #5
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    48
    Posts
    3,508
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 1,062 Times in 631 Posts
    Rep Power
    473
    Reputation
    12078

    Default

    what was the temp?
    i just put the $15 zalman on my amd it fixed the heat problem
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Philquad For This Useful Post:

    Ris (11-11-16)

  • #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Reputation
    90

    Default

    over 90c but its at 41 now
    Last edited by Ris; 01-11-16 at 08:35 PM.

  • #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    60
    Posts
    1,216
    Thanks
    505
    Thanked 248 Times in 162 Posts
    Rep Power
    211
    Reputation
    2877

    Default

    Did you clean off the old thermal paste before putting the new on ?
    A little turps on a rag does a good job of it.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to loopyloo For This Useful Post:

    Ris (11-11-16)

  • #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    perth wa
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 32 Times in 25 Posts
    Rep Power
    124
    Reputation
    679

    Default

    it sounds like you did not apply the new paste correctly,to much is as bad as not enough

    check here for the correct way to apply


  • The Following User Says Thank You to dai For This Useful Post:

    Ris (11-11-16)

  • #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    10
    Reputation
    90

    Default

    thank dai

  • #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Thermal paste is a big deal! Also, did you add other things to the case that may impend the airflow? Make sure all your vents are free of dust, etc. But, thermal paste needs to be cleaned off and reapplied!

  • #11
    Junior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Location
    QLD The State of ..................... Confusion
    Age
    62
    Posts
    59
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 184 Times in 34 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    3690

    Default

    yep , as said in . replies , all are true , Dust on the M/B , is a big issue ..
    Thermal paste is crucial , use a razer blade ta wipe off excess ,
    [ paste is only ta fill small impurities , micro holes i the surface of the heatsink ,,]

    and what fans are ya running , ? and PSU watts ?

    in the old days , i cooked A MB . after overclocking it , with 4 Fans in tha case ta cool it ..
    took 2 years , fer it ta die , [and in a room without aircon ! , geez , the capacitors were swollen on the top [good way ta tell , visually ]

    now i have made a spare room , into an office ,'[air conned ] Touch wood..


    CPU inteL 3.02 HYPER , socket 478 , STILL have the O/C Passmark scores 4ghz . YEP - OLD , BUT works fer me ..

    and same Cpu in this Comp Taday running , normal speeds .. [new motherboard ] ..revived , after 10 years,,,

    temps are fair ..
    A lot of variations can affect , the performance , a good CPU is hard ta kill ,
    as others have said , FANS , Heatsink , PASTE , all play tha part ...

    hope ya get it sorted ...

    the simplest things are usually the cause ..

    cheers ..
    Last edited by manfromironbark; 18-02-17 at 02:06 PM.

  • #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 13 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    14
    Reputation
    270

    Default

    I'd say the temps are being incorrectly reported.

    The maximum operating temperature for a fx-6300 is 70.5C



    No way you'll see 90c with an AMD system.

  • #13
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    All u need is an additional cooler fan.

    If that doesn't work, try old receipe put fan infront of your CPU or put air condition on high!

    Works every-time

    J.K

  • #14
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    14 Wombat Cres, Goanna Heights NSW
    Posts
    1,039
    Thanks
    511
    Thanked 809 Times in 415 Posts
    Rep Power
    363
    Reputation
    13329

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mtv View Post
    If the computer is overheating, it's not the CPU ~
    I have no idea which CPU the OP has, but this statement is not necessarily true.

    Some Intel & AMD processors are renowned for having bad thermal conductivity between the die and the heat spreader, most famously the Ivy Bridge CPUs, but even some of the newer stuff like Kaby Lake has been reported to have the same issues as well. It's not all processors in these families either, some come off the line better than others, and some people wouldn't notice the difference anyway, well... until their PC shuts down that is!

    This is internal to the CPU "package" and has nothing to do with the cooler mounted to the top of the CPU, the problem is that some of the heat isn't making it to the cooler in the first place.



    Run a search on "delidding a CPU", I'm sure you'll find many articles and videos on the subject.

    Andrew

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •