Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How to copy a file to client desktop

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default How to copy a file to client desktop

    Hi All,

    I was wonder if someone can tell me how i can copy a file to one of my client without remote connection.

    1- What do i need to have from my client? (Ip address, hostname,etc?)

    2. Is the client has to be online ? (computer has to be powered on)?

    3. what is the meaning of below command:
    \\192.168.14.56\C$

    thanks for help.



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    58
    Posts
    5,555
    Thanks
    9,121
    Thanked 4,246 Times in 2,195 Posts
    Rep Power
    1580
    Reputation
    65257

    Default

    Tried sending by email attachment?
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Tiny For This Useful Post:

    porkop (22-12-16)

  • #3
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    54
    Posts
    4,364
    Thanks
    1,376
    Thanked 2,123 Times in 992 Posts
    Rep Power
    849
    Reputation
    28895

    Default

    maybe a floppy in an envelope.
    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!

  • #4
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3,861
    Thanks
    4,859
    Thanked 3,751 Times in 1,555 Posts
    Rep Power
    1070
    Reputation
    40758

    Default

    You could upload the file to a file sharing website and request your client to down load it after you supply him/her with the appropriate Url.

    Otherwise, transfer it by:

    1/. E-mail attachment.

    2/. On USB stick (memory device), CD, DVD, floppy disk.

    3/. By FTP (file transfer protocol after installing FTP client on your "client's" machine and FTP host on your machine. Connect each via LAN/WAN (whichever is applicable), and yes, IP addresses must be known for each machine to enable FTP configuration.

    Of course both machines must be powered up and operational.

    The OP has a response to this query on cnet.com.

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to tristen For This Useful Post:

    enf (23-12-16),Tiny (23-12-16)

  • #5
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    49
    Posts
    3,618
    Thanks
    174
    Thanked 1,130 Times in 672 Posts
    Rep Power
    514
    Reputation
    13438

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by porkop View Post
    maybe a floppy in an envelope.
    ha ha

    what if its more than 1.4mb ? 2 floppies ?
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • #6
    Super Moderator
    enf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    64
    Posts
    12,317
    Thanks
    10,066
    Thanked 14,821 Times in 4,967 Posts
    Rep Power
    5348
    Reputation
    240570

    Default

    Tristen is right....File sharing websites are the best way if you are unsure. Encrypt the file with Winrar if you want before uploading, and just email the link/password.
    The fact that there's a highway to hell and a stairway to heaven says a lot about the anticipated traffic flow.

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •