Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: My DVD burner is eating discs

  1. #1
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,548
    Thanks
    786
    Thanked 293 Times in 192 Posts
    Rep Power
    244
    Reputation
    3777

    Default My DVD burner is eating discs

    Trying to burn a 6GB file to DL DVD but it stop 3/4 of the way through with an error.
    So what's all this crap mean ?




Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3,734
    Thanks
    4,599
    Thanked 3,650 Times in 1,504 Posts
    Rep Power
    1009
    Reputation
    38262

    Default

    I have also occasionally had a similar error, although I burn dual layer disks very infrequently.

    In a similar situation, I would simply start again with a fresh DVD (although the thread title suggests it is not an isolated problem?).

    Errors in burning Cd's and DVD's can be caused by a few different factors, e.g. the burner was bumped during burning, lens became dirty, bad media (scratched, dirty etc), power supply glitch and the list goes on.

    Also, I always ensure that there are no other tasks running on the computer when attempting to burn such media.

    Nero has been my software of choice for the last twenty or so years.

    Edit:

    You might find a precise explanation for the error cited by going to the StarBurn website (starburnsoftware.com/products/starburn-sdk/overview) and submitting a log file of the session involved.
    Last edited by tristen; 06-01-17 at 05:52 PM.

  • #3
    Super Moderator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    15,564
    Thanks
    4,388
    Thanked 9,493 Times in 4,730 Posts
    Rep Power
    3121
    Reputation
    124390

    Default

    This may be completely unrelated to your problem, but often it's another program running, either open, or in the background that causes a little glitch, so it's best to have no other programs running whilst burning, regardless of the processor and RAM.

    Another thing I learnt many years ago, was that even Windows 'sounds' such as startup, email notifications, etc, can cause glitches, as often the sampled sounds are a very low sample/bitrate which causes the processor to slow down or reconfigure somehow ever so briefly to play them.

    I had issues like what you are experiencing, but just with single layer CD burning and turning off Windows sounds (and not running other programs during burning) solved it.

    Worth a try.

  • #4
    Super Moderator
    enf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Canberra
    Age
    63
    Posts
    11,364
    Thanks
    8,841
    Thanked 12,629 Times in 4,384 Posts
    Rep Power
    4432
    Reputation
    196730

    Default

    What mtv said...

    Also it's often the burn speed that causes errors. Try setting the speed as low as you can. Your drive will have a minimum, but if you don't know what it is, then set the software as low as you can as the burner will use whatever speed IT is lowest at.
    The fact that there's a highway to hell and a stairway to heaven says a lot about the anticipated traffic flow.

  • #5
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Central Tablelands of NSW
    Age
    74
    Posts
    12,359
    Thanks
    1,130
    Thanked 3,143 Times in 2,138 Posts
    Rep Power
    1405
    Reputation
    43726

    Default

    Although this is different, I ran into a problem trying to record a program from a Hard drive.
    I had copied a Video Tape with a program longer than an hour but I didnt set the recorded time correctly on the HDD so when I went to copy it to a DVD, it wont accept the program and it wont allow me to re adjust the time.
    Not understanding how a DL disk works, I wonder if it does one layer at a time and its when it reaches the point where it goes from one layer to the other is where the failure occurs?
    I stand unequivicably behind everything I say , I just dont ever remember saying it !!

  • #6
    Super Moderator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    15,564
    Thanks
    4,388
    Thanked 9,493 Times in 4,730 Posts
    Rep Power
    3121
    Reputation
    124390

    Default

    +1 for Nero

    Also, check with the burner manufacturer website for driver updates.

  • #7
    Premium Member
    Skepticist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    797
    Thanks
    214
    Thanked 379 Times in 323 Posts
    Rep Power
    269
    Reputation
    6960

    Default

    Also try a different brand of DL disc, I get the occasional bad one. If it's still a regular thing I'd be replacing the drive itself.

  • #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    perhaps it needs a new disc. try closing other app that is causing the issue. if possible, avoid using the file and other apps that might affect the transfer of data

  • #9
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    5,996
    Thanks
    4,535
    Thanked 3,034 Times in 1,550 Posts
    Rep Power
    1308
    Reputation
    51940

    Default

    Could be any number of issues as discussed above. Is it always the same brand of disk that fails. Some drives do not play well with some brands of Disk, don't ask my why.....don't know.......(cue: theme from HAIR).
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #10
    Premium Member joezep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    SE Melbourne
    Posts
    786
    Thanks
    410
    Thanked 204 Times in 143 Posts
    Rep Power
    184
    Reputation
    1928

    Default

    Check if there is an updated firmware for your dvd burner. A new firmware sometimes supports more brands of blank dvd's and other fixes.

  • #11
    Junior Member Harry Houdini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Northern NSW
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    70

    Default

    Although i don't burn many discs these days i also use to run into that problem on Asus & Pioneer burners.My workaround at the time was to Burn to rewritable BD or DVD Discs and then copy to a normal Disc.I think it must have something to do with write speed as rewritable Discs burn much slower.

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •