Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 2TB WD passport USB drive and WinXP

  1. #1
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Under the Boardwalk AC USA
    Posts
    1,790
    Thanks
    967
    Thanked 2,532 Times in 647 Posts
    Rep Power
    1067
    Reputation
    44387

    Default 2TB WD passport USB drive and WinXP

    Opinions/Advice/Solution needed.

    I ordered a 2TB WD "Passport" backup drive for a computer running WinXP.

    I must have still been under anesthesia thinking,

    1) XP would recognize such a large hard drive,

    AND . . .

    2) that this 2TB passport would NOT come GPT formatted which XP also does not recognize.

    At this point upgrading the PC to Win7 or Win 10 is not an option.

    I need to backup all current data on the XP's 500GB drive as well as an already full WD500GB "MY Book" external hard drive.

    I'm thinking I have to remove the GPT type format (if XP is going to recognize it) and most likely that will mean 4 separate logical 500GB NTFS partitions or no?

    Can I leave this passport intact at 2TB and reformat it to NTFS or at least separate logical 1TB partitioned NTFS drives?

    Any input will be highly appreciated

    Thanks Chris



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    49
    Posts
    3,558
    Thanks
    168
    Thanked 1,084 Times in 645 Posts
    Rep Power
    488
    Reputation
    12518

    Default

    1st thing id format it just to rid the gpt if it is ? thought that was only for os's

    then if it doesnt see the 2tb delete the volume & make it 2 x 1gb

    random quote " 4) Put drive back in and hope that XP will read it. SP3 supports drives up to 2.2 GiB, so if the drive is fine then a properly-patched XP will be able to read it.
    Last edited by Philquad; 14-03-17 at 02:53 PM.
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Philquad For This Useful Post:

    cmangle (14-03-17),OSIRUS (14-03-17)

  • #3
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,670
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 54 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    710
    Reputation
    21727

    Default

    reformat the drive with ntfs and xp will see it no problems
    have done it many times with 2tb drives

  • The Following User Says Thank You to fandtm666 For This Useful Post:

    cmangle (14-03-17)

  • #4
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Under the Boardwalk AC USA
    Posts
    1,790
    Thanks
    967
    Thanked 2,532 Times in 647 Posts
    Rep Power
    1067
    Reputation
    44387

    Default

    OK, thank guys(mates) I'll use linux gpart to re-format to ntfs.

    XP, will see 2gb though?

  • #5
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    49
    Posts
    3,558
    Thanks
    168
    Thanked 1,084 Times in 645 Posts
    Rep Power
    488
    Reputation
    12518

    Default

    apparently so, even it it doesnt, in windoz disk management, you should be able to delete the whole disk, make a partition at 1.9gb maybe?

    wouldnt happent to be a asus, gigabyte or asrock board would it, seems even 32 bit is fine
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Philquad For This Useful Post:

    cmangle (15-03-17)

  • #6
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    6,125
    Thanks
    4,686
    Thanked 3,146 Times in 1,592 Posts
    Rep Power
    1359
    Reputation
    54180

    Default

    I'll use linux gpart to re-format to ntfs.
    Don't bother. Of you want no trace of Linux, don't use gparted. Use Windoze admin tools and work with disk management from there.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • The Following User Says Thank You to lsemmens For This Useful Post:

    cmangle (14-03-17)

  • #7
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Under the Boardwalk AC USA
    Posts
    1,790
    Thanks
    967
    Thanked 2,532 Times in 647 Posts
    Rep Power
    1067
    Reputation
    44387

    Default

    isemmens i tried windows disk management and it wouldn't recognize the disk as it is/was formatted GPT!

    Linux Gpart seems to do a clean NTFS partition/format! I've used it before when nasty viriii write to their own special part of the hard drive.

    thanks again to all for advice!

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •