Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: R20.50.07 Control Head Sync File

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default R20.50.07 Control Head Sync File

    Hello all, FNG here. I am working converting an XTL5000 from a W7 to O5 head. We have written a new codeplug with the O5 configuration. Radio boots up, we can read and write to it when connected directly to the TIB. However, the control head does not connect and goes to maintenance mode. We believe the only issue is that we need to do a control head sync, however we do not have the correct cvn. Our firmware is at R20.50.07, we are using latest CPS. We have check MOL for the cvn, but the only one we have found is for R20.50.09.

    If we are unable to locate this file, I believe we will have to upgrade the firmware to the latest. IIUC, this means we will have to force write a hand written codeplug from depot before we can proceed with a firmware upgrade. Can someone confirm this?



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Member Wi-Fi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    86
    Thanked 64 Times in 47 Posts
    Rep Power
    104
    Reputation
    1722

    Default

    You no need to match FW in radio and CH. Many FW pairs even from different major versions (like 16..20) works fine. I've never come across with CH Sync issue, but crossed many many radios with many many heads. They had from 12 to 20 versions in different combinations, but all of them worked with no CH file used.

    Your case could be HW issue - there are 2 different CHIB/TIB generations and parts used in one set must be from the same generation. Also, there are old CH that need old generation CHIB+TIB. Same for new CHs. Check batlabs for list of PNs.
    Last edited by Wi-Fi; 17-04-17 at 02:06 AM.

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Wi-Fi For This Useful Post:

    chopskxw (18-04-17),mrsscps (16-04-17)

  • #3
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    14 Wombat Cres, Goanna Heights NSW
    Posts
    995
    Thanks
    477
    Thanked 770 Times in 399 Posts
    Rep Power
    344
    Reputation
    12549

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wi-Fi View Post
    ~ I've never come across with CH Sync issue, but crossed many many radios with many many heads. They had from 12 to 20 versions in different combinations, but all of them worked with no CH file used. ~
    Then you are a very lucky person...

    I can't remember a CH swap where I didn't have problems, even one in particular where I couldn't get the CH synced whatsoever! (Eventually fixed with a different CH)

  • #4
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2,593
    Thanks
    477
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 733 Posts
    Rep Power
    616
    Reputation
    23021

    Default

    I agree with Bigfella. The XTL series is a real pain when it comes to control heads. They always should be synced, have the firmware that matches the brick and have the CPS configuration matching the hardware. If not you can almost expect a visit from the 01/90 fairy.

  • #5
    Member Wi-Fi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    86
    Thanked 64 Times in 47 Posts
    Rep Power
    104
    Reputation
    1722

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lynt123 View Post
    I agree with Bigfella. The XTL series is a real pain when it comes to control heads. They always should be synced, have the firmware that matches the brick and have the CPS configuration matching the hardware. If not you can almost expect a visit from the 01/90 fairy.
    Sorry, but I disagree.

    I have dealt with XTS2500, XTL25000 and O3, O5 and M5 heads. More than 20 radios mobile totally. They all were from different sources including parts Moto, eBay, Chinese guys, etc. They always run out of packaging! And I flashed them after that just be sure that they are all the latest. No CH Sync issues at all. As stated, versions were from 12 to 20. Some were V9, but just a few.

    Some of them started after 2 power cycles or was initialized too slow at the first power on.
    Last edited by Wi-Fi; 18-04-17 at 05:06 AM.

  • #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Thanks all. I don't have the hardware beside me right now. Will review the p/n's and compare those to the info from batlabs. That could be the issue.

    If that does not turn out to be the issue, what would be the correct process for upgrading firmware on the brick and head?

  • #7
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2,593
    Thanks
    477
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 733 Posts
    Rep Power
    616
    Reputation
    23021

    Default

    Wi Fi I am happy you have not experienced any issues. I guess the best answer for the member would be power everything up and if it works leave it alone. If not then do the control head sync and if needed the firmware updates for both the head and the brick.

  • #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    I referenced the PNs on batlabs. Looks like all should be okay there. The bootloader on the head is R08.51.00. How does one go about upgrade firmware on a CH? For that matter, how does one see what version is installed?

  • #9
    Member Wi-Fi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    86
    Thanked 64 Times in 47 Posts
    Rep Power
    104
    Reputation
    1722

    Default

    I am not sure, but IIRC CH will go to Test mode and show even when in Maint Mode. Do proper keypress (orange + first softkey + power on?) and share your results.

    Anyway, you can try to upgrade everything by any method (legal or dirty) or apply CH Sync file. You no need to have matching CH Sync files, just use the latest.

  • #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    We attempted to use the latest CH sync file, but it did not work.

    orange + first softkey + power on is where you set the CH number. I'm assuming you were referring to flashzap? If so, it show R08.51.00.

  • #11
    Member Wi-Fi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    384
    Thanks
    86
    Thanked 64 Times in 47 Posts
    Rep Power
    104
    Reputation
    1722

    Default

    We attempted to use the latest CH sync file, but it did not work.

    This is what I expected from my experience.

    About Test Mode. Sorry, my fault. 5 fast key presses in sequence after self test pass (but not later than a few seconds). It must be Home button if I am not wrong.

  • #12
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2,593
    Thanks
    477
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 733 Posts
    Rep Power
    616
    Reputation
    23021

    Default

    To synch and update the control head firmware. This should only be done with the head in maintenance mode. You can force the head into the mode if you have a remote mount by disconnecting the pwer to the brick while keeping the head powered.

    Steps
    Move the .cvn to the upgrade folder in the CPS. run the CPS. go to tools synch control head. select the CH file in the browser. click open and let it update.

  • #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Okay, so I attempted the sync again. CH was in maintenance mode, clicked off the sync, rebooted to flashzap, then my PC says it is an unknown usb device and fails to communicate any further.

  • #14
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2,593
    Thanks
    477
    Thanked 1,276 Times in 733 Posts
    Rep Power
    616
    Reputation
    23021

    Default

    Thats the problem with the XTL series you have to have everything 100% right.

    read this is might help.


  • #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Attempted this method, same result. Once the CH reboots to FlashZap mode, the computer does not recognize the device. I am using a USB to GCAI cable.

  • #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Currently debating on whether I should try to pick up another O5 head (newer apx style) cheap to try, or get a GCAI to serial cable to try.

  • #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    70

    Default

    Check widows device manager to see if it changes when head enters flashzap mode. Look under modems I think.

    Maybe you need to reload flashzap driver? It's a different driver than the normal radio.

    I had one laptop (windows 10) where I had to get device in flashzap mode, hold it there, and delete the windows driver and tell it to delete the driver files totally, then reinstall cps and let the driver reload. Then it worked.

    Just a thought.

  • Members who have read this thread: 57

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •