Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Foxtel & FTA one cable help

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    50

    Default Foxtel & FTA one cable help

    Hi guys, I have just moved to a newly completed apartment which has 2 F-type connectors with FTA & Foxtel (Satellite) combined on to both connectors (Eg. Satellite & FTA on one cable).

    I'm having an issue with my VAST box which is picking up some of the transponders and not others (0 signal on the transponder that contains Imparja but full signal strength on the transponder that has Southern Cross Central).

    All VAST transponders are V pol I think so I can't work out why some would have full strength and others nothing at all. Both sockets give the same result.

    FTA reception is at full strength on both F-type sockets.

    Any suggestions as to what might be the issue?

    Thanks in advance for all your help.

    Marc



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Super Moderator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    15,746
    Thanks
    4,466
    Thanked 9,666 Times in 4,801 Posts
    Rep Power
    3198
    Reputation
    127850

    Default

    Are you using a separator (diplexer in reverse) between the outlets and your decoder and TV to separate the terrestrial signals from the satellite signals?

  • #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    50

    Default

    No I didn't know I needed one. Any idea where they might be available in Canberra?

  • #4
    Super Moderator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    15,746
    Thanks
    4,466
    Thanked 9,666 Times in 4,801 Posts
    Rep Power
    3198
    Reputation
    127850

    Default

    When you combine satellite and terrestrial signals on a single cable, you need to separate them at the other end.

    Any satellite equipment supplier will have them.

    You'll need to search for one local to you.

    (Maybe another member who lives in the area may know of a supplier)

    They are also available from online stores, ebay, etc.

    Here's an .

  • The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    AdrianR (19-05-17),austar (22-05-17),gulliver (29-05-17),OSIRUS (19-05-17)

  • #5
    Super Moderator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    15,746
    Thanks
    4,466
    Thanked 9,666 Times in 4,801 Posts
    Rep Power
    3198
    Reputation
    127850

    Default

    Any update how you're going with this, Marc?

  • #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    50

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mtv View Post
    Any update how you're going with this, Marc?
    Hi MTV, I just installed a separator on the weekend and no change...Still 100% on the transponder that has Southern Cross 7 (South) and Ten central south but no signal at all on the Imparja transponder.

    I can't work it out...is that even possible if they are both vertical so it can't be a skew thing can it? Very odd!

    Unfortunately being an apartment scenario I can't get access to the equipment powering it all to see what might be wrong.

    Thanks so much for your help with this one to. really appreciated!

  • #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    50

    Default

    Update on this guys. Without me making any changes all VAST transponders are now working perfectly so must have been an issue with the buildings satellite set up which has now been rectified.

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to austar For This Useful Post:

    mtv (23-06-17),tristen (23-06-17)

  • #8
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3,763
    Thanks
    4,661
    Thanked 3,698 Times in 1,522 Posts
    Rep Power
    1030
    Reputation
    39222

    Default

    Thank you for the update, austar.

    Many newcomers don't bother to return to the forum to advise of a successful outcome and so your update is a welcome exception.

  • #9
    Super Moderator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    15,746
    Thanks
    4,466
    Thanked 9,666 Times in 4,801 Posts
    Rep Power
    3198
    Reputation
    127850

    Default

    I suspect LNB alignment may be the issue and it's quite possible you may lose VAST signals again.

    As Canberra typically has excellent terrestrial TV signal coverage, you are probably not entitled to receive VAST (other than ABC/SBS) at your address, so the satellite installation has specifically been optimised to receive Foxtel.

    VAST signals are weaker and require more-critical alignment of the LNB compared to Foxtel signals, so it's likely VAST signals may be right on the edge of sufficient signal reception for them to 'lock in'.

    Slight atmospheric changes could cause VAST reception to work, or not work if those signals are sitting on the 'digital threshold".

    Hopefully they continue to work OK for you.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    austar (20-07-17)

  • Tags for this Thread

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •