Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: SMD id

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    60
    Posts
    1,275
    Thanks
    536
    Thanked 252 Times in 164 Posts
    Rep Power
    216
    Reputation
    2957

    Default SMD id

    Ok so you're working on a TV and find 2 SMD components that are burnt, a transistor and a zener diode, You can't read any markings and there's no available schematic for it.
    What do you do ?



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Member tw2005's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Mancave
    Posts
    278
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 93 Times in 70 Posts
    Rep Power
    117
    Reputation
    1323

    Default

    You're gonna call, Ghostbusters?

    Phone a friend?

    Or you give us TV model, or Board number , location identifier.

    Is this the LG EAY62512701 PSU ? or what?
    Last edited by tw2005; 16-07-17 at 02:30 AM.

  • #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    60
    Posts
    1,275
    Thanks
    536
    Thanked 252 Times in 164 Posts
    Rep Power
    216
    Reputation
    2957

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tw2005 View Post
    You're gonna call, Ghostbusters?

    Phone a friend?

    Or you give us TV model, or Board number , location identifier.

    Is this the LG EAY62512701 PSU ? or what?
    No, not the LG.
    The question was really asking about the thought process, what do you do?, how others handle the problem?

    This one's a Changhong 65" UD65D2800 power supply.
    47u 450v and 12u 450v caps swollen.
    FET Q4 fizzed, big hole in it.
    Fuse F1 blown.

    SMD's in question are Q1 and ZD2 (adjacent to Q4).
    Mr google didn't help at all.

  • #4
    Member tw2005's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Mancave
    Posts
    278
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 93 Times in 70 Posts
    Rep Power
    117
    Reputation
    1323

    Default

    Hmmm, I see. well I don't really. Pity, I found a full schematic for the LG

    Well, I'd say you've tried the obvious searching the board number and looking for images. That's what I'd do or see if that board is fitted to ther models in other markets?

    Not exactly mainstream, tough egg to crack.

    Can't hurt putting some clear images up. Also I find imgur pretty good for that.

  • #5
    Member tw2005's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Mancave
    Posts
    278
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 93 Times in 70 Posts
    Rep Power
    117
    Reputation
    1323

    Default

    is there another FET the same as Q4 on the board?

  • #6
    Junior Member Tiberius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Kanimbla Cairns
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    33
    Reputation
    110

    Default

    well loopyloo you have a bit of a dilemma on your hands.
    I would try and trace out the circuit to find out what q1 and zd2 are actually doing.
    they could be driver for q4 or some sort of protection circuit.
    switch mode power supplies are easy to trace the circuit and draw it on a piece of paper.
    from there you could look for similar circuits to see if other circuits use similar components.
    Sounds like the chopper q4 fried up and took those components with it and probably others as well but they might not be as obvious.
    The other option is to find out what output rails the power supply is delivering and try and find a substitute.

  • #7
    Junior Member Tiberius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Kanimbla Cairns
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    33
    Reputation
    110

    Default

    sometimes a board uses multiple components of the same type - you could try and find a similar component and test it out of circuit to determine what it is

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Tiberius For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (17-07-17)

  • #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    60
    Posts
    1,275
    Thanks
    536
    Thanked 252 Times in 164 Posts
    Rep Power
    216
    Reputation
    2957

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tw2005 View Post
    is there another FET the same as Q4 on the board?
    Unfortunately no Q4 is unique.
    Forgot to mention R33 (0.1ohm) resistor has burnt open.

    Suspected cause of the fault is small cockroaches. There were about a dozen inside the TV and a couple of charred ones sitting on the legs of Q4.

















    Last edited by loopyloo; 16-07-17 at 12:32 PM.

  • #9
    Member tw2005's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Mancave
    Posts
    278
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 93 Times in 70 Posts
    Rep Power
    117
    Reputation
    1323

    Default

    Found nothing except a bunch of overseas models with the same board. Also a shame the underside has a black sheet otherwise the Shopjimmy image may have helped.

    50326502000060, HKL-650201, HKL-650401, 401-2Q401-D4202

    Hitachi
    LE65K6R9, 65K3, 65L6

    Haier

    LE65B7000TU

    Sansui
    SLED6516

  • The Following User Says Thank You to tw2005 For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (17-07-17)

  • #10
    Premium Member
    Skepticist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    591
    Thanks
    162
    Thanked 221 Times in 174 Posts
    Rep Power
    196
    Reputation
    3800

    Default

    As Q4 is on the primary side it'd be a fairly safe bet that it's an N channel mosfet rated at least for 600V, 6A or greater.
    Seems odd for all those components to fail together unless there was a high voltage spike or the bridge rectifier short-circuited applying mains AC voltage across the caps & mosfet.

    The caps might have been swollen prior to the fault - check the ESR
    and those SMD PWM controller chips are likely to be traumatized as well
    Last edited by Skepticist; 17-07-17 at 11:13 AM.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Skepticist For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (18-07-17)

  • #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    60
    Posts
    1,275
    Thanks
    536
    Thanked 252 Times in 164 Posts
    Rep Power
    216
    Reputation
    2957

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Skepticist View Post
    As Q4 is on the primary side it'd be a fairly safe bet that it's an N channel mosfet rated at least for 600V, 6A or greater.
    Seems odd for all those components to fail together unless there was a high voltage spike or the bridge rectifier short-circuited applying mains AC voltage across the caps & mosfet.

    The caps might have been swollen prior to the fault - check the ESR
    and those SMD PWM controller chips are likely to be traumatized as well
    It's a 24N60M2 ... N-channel 600v 18A.
    I thought it might be the 2 fried cockroaches on the FET pins.
    Both caps are at 9.9ohms.
    Bridge rec is ok.

  • #12
    Premium Member
    Skepticist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    591
    Thanks
    162
    Thanked 221 Times in 174 Posts
    Rep Power
    196
    Reputation
    3800

    Default

    So it sounds like the caps had been drying out for a long time until the supply on load was running with a pretty much unsmoothed full-wave rectified supply. I'd say the roaches were either collateral damage or the straw that broke the camel's back but the good news is HV spike is looking unlikely so components not in the direct path of the fault current should be still in good condition.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Skepticist For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (18-07-17)

  • #13
    Junior Member Tiberius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Kanimbla Cairns
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    33
    Reputation
    110

    Default

    For a small fee this company will fix any switch mode power supply

    they are very good - just send them the supply - nothing they cant fix

  • #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    60
    Posts
    1,275
    Thanks
    536
    Thanked 252 Times in 164 Posts
    Rep Power
    216
    Reputation
    2957

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tiberius View Post
    For a small fee this company will fix any switch mode power supply

    they are very good - just send them the supply - nothing they cant fix
    Small fee ???
    Have you sent them PS's ?

  • #15
    Junior Member Tiberius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Kanimbla Cairns
    Posts
    72
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    33
    Reputation
    110

    Default

    Yes - they are reasonable - you normally pay less than the supply is worth

  • #16
    Premium Member
    Skepticist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    591
    Thanks
    162
    Thanked 221 Times in 174 Posts
    Rep Power
    196
    Reputation
    3800

    Default

    Any joy or new revelations with this supply?

  • #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    60
    Posts
    1,275
    Thanks
    536
    Thanked 252 Times in 164 Posts
    Rep Power
    216
    Reputation
    2957

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Skepticist View Post
    Any joy or new revelations with this supply?
    I put it aside for a while to work on the LG.
    Got a few more to look at too. You might hear about them yet Lol

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •