Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Installing new graphics card help!!!

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    53
    Reputation
    10

    Default Installing new graphics card help!!!

    Hey guys I have a Dell XPS 8300 desktop computer. I am trying to install a new graphic's card into it and I am only getting a black screen. The card I am trying to install is a Radeon R5 220. Is there something I need to do to make this work? Any help would be great. Thanks Josh



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    57
    Posts
    5,275
    Thanks
    8,684
    Thanked 3,923 Times in 2,058 Posts
    Rep Power
    1432
    Reputation
    58797

    Default

    What operating system?
    Have you installed the latest driver for the card that supports the operating system?
    If the installation of the correct driver doesn't automatically give you pictures, you may need to plug your video lead into the mother board display output to get pictures while you figure this out.
    Then go to Device Manager, select the new graphics card in Device Manager/Display adapters then Enable or set as default device (depending on OS). Then change the video cable back to the new card & see if it worked.

    You can also from there; right click on the Display Adapter Device & select properties, select the events tab & check if it has been installed correctly.
    The General tab will tell if the device is working correctly.

    You can also from the Driver Tab select Update Driver, though I have found that Windows doesn't always install or acknowledge that there may be a more appropriate driver, so I go to the Graphics Card manufactures website & install the correct driver using their instructions & that solves the issue.

    A pic to show what it looks like when installed correctly.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 17 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    20
    Reputation
    350

    Default

    That systems is pretty fussy about replacement graphics card's.






  • #4
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    5,884
    Thanks
    4,444
    Thanked 2,987 Times in 1,521 Posts
    Rep Power
    1286
    Reputation
    51000

    Default

    It could be something simple as BIOS setting, does the system have on board video? Sometimes you need to turn on PCI vdeo in BIOS.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    53
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    I'm running windows 10. I have nothing in the bios to change for the video settings that was the first place I looked. I will try going into the device manager and trying it that way. Thank you guys.

  • #6
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    5,884
    Thanks
    4,444
    Thanked 2,987 Times in 1,521 Posts
    Rep Power
    1286
    Reputation
    51000

    Default

    How can you get into device manager if you've got a black screen? Does it display anything at all during boot up?
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #7
    Grumpy Old Fart
    Al Bundy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Tazzie
    Posts
    2,516
    Thanks
    919
    Thanked 2,276 Times in 907 Posts
    Rep Power
    892
    Reputation
    34510

    Default

    Read what Tiny said, plug the video cable back into the Motherboard Graphics port.
    Cheers
    Ted (Al)

  • #8
    Super Moderator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    15,423
    Thanks
    4,343
    Thanked 9,368 Times in 4,670 Posts
    Rep Power
    3066
    Reputation
    121890

    Default

    Windows 10 (64 bit) only looks at digitally signed drivers, so if your driver isn't digitally signed, it gets ignored.

    You may need to turn off the digitally signed setting.

    I've been caught with this issue adding/changing a few different components.

    The procedure to turn off digital signature is available .

    This may or may not be your problem, but worth a look.

  • #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    perth wa
    Posts
    143
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts
    Rep Power
    129
    Reputation
    759

    Default

    is your power supply big enough to power the card

    What are you running?

    Video card brand and model
    CPU
    Motherboard
    RAM
    Power supply
    Brand
    Model
    Wattage

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •