Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: TP8100 Program cable pinout

  1. #1
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Age
    38
    Posts
    76
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    120
    Reputation
    250

    Default TP8100 Program cable pinout

    Well I have searched far and wide for the pinout and all I have tried, fail.
    What I have done is find an old RSM and use the connector and tail as my "lead".
    I have then connected it up to a DB9 using R1->C5, R5->C2 and R6->C3.
    With no luck.
    I then paired it up with my official T2000 lead with the MAX chip in it and again no luck.
    THe issue is the software cant even see the radio to be able to even give me a DB or version error.

    Any ideas would be most welcome, excluding go buy a cable :-P



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3,763
    Thanks
    4,661
    Thanked 3,698 Times in 1,522 Posts
    Rep Power
    1030
    Reputation
    39222

    Default

    Perhaps the thread at will help.

    If not, try an Advanced SEARCH of the forum. There are many TP8100 threads.

  • #3
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Age
    38
    Posts
    76
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    120
    Reputation
    250

    Default

    Yup thats the one I started with. and the Advanced search feature provided nil support to my issue.

  • #4
    Super Moderator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    15,746
    Thanks
    4,466
    Thanked 9,666 Times in 4,801 Posts
    Rep Power
    3198
    Reputation
    127850

    Default

    Pin 1 is Data out of the radio. Pin 9 is Data into the radio. Pin 5 is common ground.



  • The Following User Says Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    bongo (18-07-17)

  • #5
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Age
    38
    Posts
    76
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 12 Times in 8 Posts
    Rep Power
    120
    Reputation
    250

    Default

    I have tried again and again to create a lead and have failed.
    I have created a comport lead and a T2000 lead with MAX232 ad I CANNOT get it to
    read...... I dunno what the heck is going on... or should I say not going on....

  • #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
    Rep Power
    38
    Reputation
    170

    Default

    The T2000 programming lead should work on a TP8100 but it does need external power - for a T2000 it will normally be getting this from the radio through one the wires on the RJ-12. Power does not come from the RS-232 port. For the TP8100 you can wire up either the TP8100 power output or wire up a 9V battery to the 5V regulator (78L05) inside the T2000 programmer.

    It's been a while but from memory the Tait radios run with a non-inverting level converter but if you use an RS-232 converter chip (eg MAX232) using only one pair of transceivers it won't work as the symbols get reversed by the RS-232 chip. You can get around this by using two transceivers in the chip for each direction. For example R1in > R1out > T1in > T1out. This will effectively make a non-inverting level shifter. This is what is inside the T2000 programmer. Hope this helps!

  • Tags for this Thread

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •