Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Imac problem

  1. #1
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,423
    Thanks
    652
    Thanked 261 Times in 172 Posts
    Rep Power
    225
    Reputation
    3137

    Default Imac problem

    My imac g5 won't startup.
    No startup sound.
    Screen goes to grey with the pin wheel spinning for half a minute then the computer shuts off.
    What would cause this problem ?



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member
    mandc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Age
    63
    Posts
    3,543
    Thanks
    1,556
    Thanked 2,243 Times in 1,169 Posts
    Rep Power
    694
    Reputation
    22935

    Default

    Failed HDD?
    RAM?

    Start in cmd+S for verbose start...it may give you come clue

  • The Following User Says Thank You to mandc For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (07-08-17)

  • #3
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    5,765
    Thanks
    4,343
    Thanked 2,926 Times in 1,488 Posts
    Rep Power
    1256
    Reputation
    49780

    Default

    It's got a ?
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • The Following User Says Thank You to lsemmens For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (07-08-17)

  • #4
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,423
    Thanks
    652
    Thanked 261 Times in 172 Posts
    Rep Power
    225
    Reputation
    3137

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lsemmens View Post
    It's got a ?
    I'm the one with the disease.
    I've had that rotten virus for 3 weeks.

  • #5
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,423
    Thanks
    652
    Thanked 261 Times in 172 Posts
    Rep Power
    225
    Reputation
    3137

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mandc View Post
    Failed HDD?
    RAM?

    Start in cmd+S for verbose start...it may give you come clue
    Great trick.
    It comes up with : apple smu - shutdown cause = -110
    Any idea what that is ?

  • #6
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,423
    Thanks
    652
    Thanked 261 Times in 172 Posts
    Rep Power
    225
    Reputation
    3137

    Default

    ok so I'm a beginner with Mac so bear with me on this. I don't even own a Mac keyboard.
    I found a list of Mac codes here ;

    error -110 memAdrErr: address was odd; or out of range

    So another site says enter fsck -fy
    The result of that : Catalog file invalid record count , (4,37326) , volume check failed , /dev/rdisk0s3 (hfs) , exited with signal 8

    Is this recoverable or is the HDD stuffed ?

  • #7
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3,660
    Thanks
    4,485
    Thanked 3,589 Times in 1,464 Posts
    Rep Power
    980
    Reputation
    37042

    Default

    1/. You do not need a Mac keyboard. A Windows keyboard will suffice. A search using the term "windows keyboard versus mac keyboard" will lead to helpful web pages showing the two keyboards side-by-side. I have successfully used (and continue to do so) a Windows keyboard on a Mac.

    2/. Go to for alternative Mac startup methods and proceed from there. It's really not that difficult.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to tristen For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (07-08-17)

  • #8
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,423
    Thanks
    652
    Thanked 261 Times in 172 Posts
    Rep Power
    225
    Reputation
    3137

    Default

    Alt windows p and r got the startup sound back so that's progress but it still shuts down.
    I'm still checking but it looks like most of them alternative Mac startup methods aren't working for me.
    Any more ideas ?

  • #9
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3,660
    Thanks
    4,485
    Thanked 3,589 Times in 1,464 Posts
    Rep Power
    980
    Reputation
    37042

    Default

    Loopy, it would help enormously if you posted the model number of the unit PLUS the version of Mac OS (OS X ?) resident on the hard drive if you know it. (Mac operating systems are hardware-dependent therefore the model number is crucial).

    Once you do that, I might be able to help more.

    (It appears that you might have to consider booting from an external source (rather than the existing HDD)).

    Edit: Well, I had failed to re-read your first post in which you stated that the unit is a G5.

    My humblest apologies!!

    Leave it with me for a while.
    Last edited by tristen; 07-08-17 at 09:12 PM.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to tristen For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (07-08-17)

  • #10
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,423
    Thanks
    652
    Thanked 261 Times in 172 Posts
    Rep Power
    225
    Reputation
    3137

    Default

    I went back to cmd+s to try another command I found : fsck_hfs -rf /dev/diskxsy and used that 0s3 in replacement of xsy.
    The computer works now.
    Cool. I'll come back if I have any more problems



  • #11
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,423
    Thanks
    652
    Thanked 261 Times in 172 Posts
    Rep Power
    225
    Reputation
    3137

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tristen View Post
    Loopy, it would help enormously if you posted the model number of the unit PLUS the version of Mac OS (OS X ?) resident on the hard drive if you know it. (Mac operating systems are hardware-dependent therefore the model number is crucial).

    Once you do that, I might be able to help more.

    (It appears that you might have to consider booting from an external source (rather than the existing HDD)).
    Sorry, it's a G5, is there a model number somewhere on it ? and don't know the OS cos I picked it up off the street. lol
    PS I suppose I can say what the OS is now, where do I find out ?
    Last edited by loopyloo; 07-08-17 at 09:14 PM.

  • #12
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,423
    Thanks
    652
    Thanked 261 Times in 172 Posts
    Rep Power
    225
    Reputation
    3137

    Default

    Found it
    10.5.8

  • #13
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3,660
    Thanks
    4,485
    Thanked 3,589 Times in 1,464 Posts
    Rep Power
    980
    Reputation
    37042

    Default

    You seem to pick a lot of stuff off the street.

    I used to do the same until the local councils stopped providing an annual hard rubbish collection.

    To find out what version of Mac OS is installed, left click on the little Apple logo at extreme top left of screen and then left click 'About This Mac', whereupon all will be magically revealed.

    The Mac equivalent of 'Windows System Settings' is the second option (under Apple logo....'System Preferences', where you can change various things.

    'Finder' is Explorer, while the others are fairly self-evident.

    The website, Everymac, can be quite useful, e.g. .

    O.S. manuals can be borrowed from municipal libraries. I might even be able to provide a link to enable you to download one if you tell me what OS is installed.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to tristen For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (07-08-17)

  • #14
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3,660
    Thanks
    4,485
    Thanked 3,589 Times in 1,464 Posts
    Rep Power
    980
    Reputation
    37042

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loopyloo View Post
    Found it
    10.5.8
    That's 'OS X Leopard'. The next version up is called 'Snow Leopard'.

    There's a useful 'Beginner's Guide for Mac' at .

    See also .

    I haven't been able to locate a copy of the Leopard user manual, but it might be available at ebook3000. For starters go to .

  • The Following User Says Thank You to tristen For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (07-08-17)

  • #15
    Premium Member
    mandc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Age
    63
    Posts
    3,543
    Thanks
    1,556
    Thanked 2,243 Times in 1,169 Posts
    Rep Power
    694
    Reputation
    22935

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loopyloo View Post
    Found it
    10.5.8
    If you want to upgrade I have an original Snow Leopard disc that I can copy for you if you want...or you can still buy them from Apple for $31


    Ahhh ....Forget that. The G5 is a powerPC mac ..not an intel mac so Leopard is the highest you can go
    Last edited by mandc; 07-08-17 at 10:31 PM.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to mandc For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (07-08-17)

  • #16
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,423
    Thanks
    652
    Thanked 261 Times in 172 Posts
    Rep Power
    225
    Reputation
    3137

    Default

    This is the model :


    I'll just have a play with it now.
    Thanks guys

    PS by the way, will any windows software run on it ?
    Last edited by loopyloo; 07-08-17 at 11:00 PM.

  • #17
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3,660
    Thanks
    4,485
    Thanked 3,589 Times in 1,464 Posts
    Rep Power
    980
    Reputation
    37042

    Default

    As the G5 does not have an Intel processor Windows will not run on it.

    A Mac does most of what Windows will do with existing on-board applications.
    Last edited by tristen; 07-08-17 at 11:13 PM.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to tristen For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (07-08-17)

  • #18
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,423
    Thanks
    652
    Thanked 261 Times in 172 Posts
    Rep Power
    225
    Reputation
    3137

    Default

    ok Thanks

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •