Thread: Handheld GPS

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Thanks

Default Handheld GPS

Hi guys,
    Noob here with a questions about handheld GPS.

I want something that I can walk around the city with that will plot various points of interest.
    Preferably to 6 decimal places.
    This is important because some POI's will be quite close together, possibly a metre or so.

I would like it to be able to store around 80 POI's which hopefully I can then export from the device to a PC.

Any suggestions?

Awesome forum guys too.
    Thanks.
    Luke.

2. Look Here ->
    Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 15,066 Times in 6,761 Posts

You won't get anything with 1m resolution.

Why not jut use maps on your phone?

Thanks

The Garmin Etrex 10 is an entry level GPS that will save up to 1000 waypoints but only has a very basic map and the map can't be upgraded.
    The Etrex 20 can have up to 2000 waypoints and can have other maps loaded either directly into it's internal memory or on micro SD card.

Data can be imported/exported to Garmin Basecamp which is a free program or thy can communicate directly with a PC and Google Earth.

As previously said accuracy to 1 metre isn't possible. The best you could get out in the open is 3-4 metres. In a city with tall buildings and other structures this may be worse and this accuracy would be the same for any non differential GPS

5. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Richard Puller For This Useful Post:

Landytrack (14-09-17),Tiny (14-09-17),tristen (14-09-17)

Premium Member

Thanks

I have a Garmin Oregon 450 which has been used a lot for bushwalks and around old gold mining areas. Touchscreen with maps, real easy to use and can be either downloaded to Garmin Basecamp or OziExplorer mapping software.

Good battery life, water protected and very rugged. The model up Oregon 550 has a camera built in which would be handy for some.

Depends how much you want to spend I guess.