Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Easy updates

  1. #1
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,504
    Thanks
    741
    Thanked 274 Times in 182 Posts
    Rep Power
    234
    Reputation
    3397

    Default Easy updates

    I'm muckin' with a computer and find win7 64x needs to be reinstalled on the hdd. I put win7 on it yesterday then did all the updates, that's when the drive started playing up.
    So I cloned the drive to another hdd for backup.
    What I'd like to do is do the OS install, then install the updates from the cloned drive to save all the downloading.
    How is this done ?
    Last edited by loopyloo; 12-09-17 at 07:27 PM.



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    49
    Posts
    3,538
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 1,077 Times in 640 Posts
    Rep Power
    482
    Reputation
    12378

    Default

    If you are referring to Windows update then the default location of the update file being downloaded from windows update will automatically be saved in C:\windows\software distribution\downloads.
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Philquad For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (12-09-17)

  • #3
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,504
    Thanks
    741
    Thanked 274 Times in 182 Posts
    Rep Power
    234
    Reputation
    3397

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Philquad View Post
    If you are referring to Windows update then the default location of the update file being downloaded from windows update will automatically be saved in C:\windows\software distribution\downloads.
    Yes that's correct but how do you point windows update to those files ?
    or will it automatically find find them if I copy the files to the directory on the renewed drive ?
    Last edited by loopyloo; 12-09-17 at 07:57 PM.

  • #4
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    49
    Posts
    3,538
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 1,077 Times in 640 Posts
    Rep Power
    482
    Reputation
    12378

    Default

    buggered if i know
    just try it lol
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Philquad For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (14-09-17)

  • #5
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,504
    Thanks
    741
    Thanked 274 Times in 182 Posts
    Rep Power
    234
    Reputation
    3397

    Default

    Nope, doesn't work

  • #6
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    49
    Posts
    3,538
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 1,077 Times in 640 Posts
    Rep Power
    482
    Reputation
    12378

    Default

    bummer
    only other thing is integrate the updates with nlite which is more work
    but atleast if you need it again, it will save updating every time
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Philquad For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (14-09-17)

  • #7
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,504
    Thanks
    741
    Thanked 274 Times in 182 Posts
    Rep Power
    234
    Reputation
    3397

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Philquad View Post
    bummer
    only other thing is integrate the updates with nlite which is more work
    but atleast if you need it again, it will save updating every time
    It's a bit strange I reckon that no-one has devised some software to do the job, or if there is I can't find it.
    It's pretty common to have to reinstall the OS which means the updates are already on the computer, just copy them and reinstall them after the OS.
    I've looked at a few that claim once the updates are downloaded they can be installed on many other computers offline but still have to download them first.

  • #8
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    49
    Posts
    3,538
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 1,077 Times in 640 Posts
    Rep Power
    482
    Reputation
    12378

    Default

    sorry i thought you knew
    can be a bit of working out, suggest making usb install to test with

    try the guide
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Philquad For This Useful Post:

    loopyloo (14-09-17),tristen (14-09-17)

  • #9
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mid North Coast NSW . Australia
    Age
    61
    Posts
    1,504
    Thanks
    741
    Thanked 274 Times in 182 Posts
    Rep Power
    234
    Reputation
    3397

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Philquad View Post
    sorry i thought you knew
    can be a bit of working out, suggest making usb install to test with

    try the guide
    Ah ok that's interesting. I'll have to have a good read through it.

    Thanks

  • #10
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    49
    Posts
    3,538
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 1,077 Times in 640 Posts
    Rep Power
    482
    Reputation
    12378

    Default

    im actually going to make 1 myself now, i do a lot of win 8 installs & the updates are way out

    i just need to find out where to get the updates alone
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •