Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Mac address to block

  1. #1
    Junior Member umby75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default Mac address to block

    Hi, I'm using a Tplink W8980 N600 dual band router with dhcp disabled
    I'm looking for block the access at a station located over my home connected to my lan network.
    I suppose he hacked my network through Wps feature available on my router.
    Since I installed in my network powerline, and cams, etc. I'd like to block his device through the Mac address filtering by my router.
    I enabled Wireless Mac Filtering in 2.4 and 5Ghz freqs and I set Deny and I enabled the station to filter mac address.
    But I notice that the station is still into my lan and it is using my data network.
    Why does it happen?

    Sent from my LG-H990 using Tapatalk



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    49
    Posts
    3,553
    Thanks
    168
    Thanked 1,083 Times in 644 Posts
    Rep Power
    486
    Reputation
    12498

    Default

    maybe this can

    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Philquad For This Useful Post:

    umby75 (28-09-17)

  • #3
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    6,020
    Thanks
    4,545
    Thanked 3,059 Times in 1,561 Posts
    Rep Power
    1319
    Reputation
    52440

    Default

    I suppose he hacked my network through Wps feature available on my router.
    He is logging on to your WiFi? Correct? Change your Passwords, problem solved!
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lsemmens For This Useful Post:

    tristen (27-09-17),umby75 (28-09-17)

  • #4
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    903
    Thanks
    830
    Thanked 814 Times in 395 Posts
    Rep Power
    359
    Reputation
    12468

    Default

    Blocking the Mac address will do little good if the person has half a clue. Mac addresses are easily spoofed. If you can disable WPS and use WPA or WPA2 encryption and a nice strong key. If you actually must use WPS then turn it off, reset it and reconnect your own clients. Then keep checking at least daily over at least the next few days and less frequently afterwards. Wifi with WPS enabled is much easier to crack. Presumably whoever is on your network, probably a neighbour, used a packet sniffing program to crack the key. If you cut this person off they will probably do it again, with a good chance of succeeding if WPS remains available. But it will probably take them some time. You need to keep an eye on it.

    The person is probably a neighbour. The motive can be as simple as free internet, but it can also be that they are up to no good and want you to take the blame. You need to consider reporting the matter just to get it on the record that your network was hacked. You don't want law enforcement knocking on your door with a search warrant and seizing your computer because your IP has been used to download child porn or browse terrorist sites or the like.
    Last edited by DB44; 27-09-17 at 08:45 PM.

  • The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to DB44 For This Useful Post:

    tristen (27-09-17),umby75 (28-09-17),wal1 (27-09-17)

  • #5
    Junior Member umby75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Philquad View Post
    maybe this can

    OK. Thanks. I didn't know about that. I'm forced to change passkey and reconfigure all clients..

    Quote Originally Posted by lsemmens View Post
    He is logging on to your WiFi? Correct? Change your Passwords, problem solved!
    Yes, but as I said this way complicates my life because I have got a lot of clients to configure and recently I succeeded to configure my powerline only through the wps feature of the router.

    Quote Originally Posted by DB44 View Post
    Blocking the Mac address will do little good if the person has half a clue. Mac addresses are easily spoofed. If you can disable WPS and use WPA or WPA2 encryption and a nice strong key. If you actually must use WPS then turn it off, reset it and reconnect your own clients. Then keep checking at least daily over at least the next few days and less frequently afterwards. Wifi with WPS enabled is much easier to crack. Presumably whoever is on your network, probably a neighbour, used a packet sniffing program to crack the key. If you cut this person off they will probably do it again, with a good chance of succeeding if WPS remains available. But it will probably take them some time. You need to keep an eye on it.

    [cut]
    Yes, thanks...as I said I need to disable Wps and change the passkey..


    Sent from my LG-H990 using Tapatalk

  • #6
    Junior Member umby75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    But for sure he didn't change his mac address then I think this issue could be a wrong configuration or something like that..

    Sent from my LG-H990 using Tapatalk

  • #7
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    6,020
    Thanks
    4,545
    Thanked 3,059 Times in 1,561 Posts
    Rep Power
    1319
    Reputation
    52440

    Default

    How many devices need access to your WiFi? Surely, in a home environment it would be no more than half a dozen? Most of my home network is wired although there are 5 or 6 WiFi enabled devices which only takes me a short time to re-configure when I do change passwords.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #8
    Junior Member umby75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Yes, but I have got some cams that need to configure each one different to other
    Quote Originally Posted by lsemmens View Post
    How many devices need access to your WiFi? Surely, in a home environment it would be no more than half a dozen? Most of my home network is wired although there are 5 or 6 WiFi enabled devices which only takes me a short time to re-configure when I do change passwords.
    Yes, but I have got some cams that need to configure each one different from the other and I also had got that issue on my powerline but I've configurated all things fine.
    Anyway in my router in Wps Settings I noticed Disable Modem Router's Pin function and I could keep Wps enabled and to flag this Disable Pin function to avoid new hackings at my wireless network...
    Right?

    Sent from my LG-H990 using Tapatalk

  • #9
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2,728
    Thanks
    1,246
    Thanked 1,452 Times in 696 Posts
    Rep Power
    596
    Reputation
    19428

    Default

    Here we have 4 adults, 6 lan, 18 wi fi?
    There is a fine line between "Hobby" and "Madness"

  • The Following User Says Thank You to allover For This Useful Post:

    DB44 (29-09-17)

  • #10
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    903
    Thanks
    830
    Thanked 814 Times in 395 Posts
    Rep Power
    359
    Reputation
    12468

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by umby75 View Post
    Yes, but I have got some cams that need to configure each one different to otherYes, but I have got some cams that need to configure each one different from the other and I also had got that issue on my powerline but I've configurated all things fine.
    Anyway in my router in Wps Settings I noticed Disable Modem Router's Pin function and I could keep Wps enabled and to flag this Disable Pin function to avoid new hackings at my wireless network...
    Right?

    Sent from my LG-H990 using Tapatalk
    Wrong! My understanding is that if WPS is enabled at all it is potentially vulnerable.
    Last edited by DB44; 29-09-17 at 03:22 PM.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to DB44 For This Useful Post:

    umby75 (29-09-17)

  • #11
    Junior Member umby75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DB44 View Post
    Wrong! My understanding is that if WPS is enabled at all it is potentially vulnerable.
    In this router you can generate a new pin and I thought that if you disable that function you can do less vulnerable my wifi network.
    Anyway I disabled Wps feature completely and I've not noticed that station in my network...

    Sent from my LG-H990 using Tapatalk

  • #12
    Junior Member johnhoward's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    244
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 30 Times in 21 Posts
    Rep Power
    132
    Reputation
    287

    Default

    Go for wpa2 with strong password , check MAC address 's and only allow those ones in , sure anyone can spoof your mac but at least the layers of defence will help , monitor your network regularly eventually you will win

    Anyone can learn to use backtrack and other tools , you just have to be smarter , remember you wouldn't go out shopping without locking your house up would you ?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Last edited by johnhoward; 29-09-17 at 07:38 PM.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to johnhoward For This Useful Post:

    umby75 (03-10-17)

  • #13
    Junior Member umby75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by johnhoward View Post
    Go for wpa2 with strong password , check MAC address 's and only allow those ones in , sure anyone can spoof your mac but at least the layers of defence will help , monitor your network regularly eventually you will win

    Anyone can learn to use backtrack and other tools , you just have to be smarter , remember you wouldn't go out shopping without locking your house up would you ?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    As I know to hack a WPA2 with Wps disabled is very very hard to do.
    There are too many combinations to try with a large dictionary list and you need computer very powerful and it isn't enough to hack the passkey keeping your computer working for some years...

    Sent from my LG-H990 using Tapatalk

  • #14
    Junior Member johnhoward's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    244
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 30 Times in 21 Posts
    Rep Power
    132
    Reputation
    287

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by umby75 View Post
    As I know to hack a WPA2 with Wps disabled is very very hard to do.
    There are too many combinations to try with a large dictionary list and you need computer very powerful and it isn't enough to hack the passkey keeping your computer working for some years...

    Sent from my LG-H990 using Tapatalk
    You never say never , nothing is impossible if you know what your doing , staying safe is keeping ahead of the pack like regularly changing passwords and doing regular network scans looking for intruders.
    Never assume the door is locked enough to keep intruders out.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •