Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Installing programs on Windows 10 (locked to app store)

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cranebrook, NSW
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    126
    Reputation
    50

    Default Installing programs on Windows 10 (locked to app store)

    I'm trying to install Notepad++ onto Windows 10 Pro and regardless if I use the 32 or 64 bit versions, I get "Your PC's settings only let it install verified apps from the Store" which is clearly useless.

    I have tried the walkthrough at however there is no drop-down menu to allow me to install from non-store sources.

    Can anyone help?



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    58
    Posts
    5,339
    Thanks
    8,781
    Thanked 3,996 Times in 2,092 Posts
    Rep Power
    1466
    Reputation
    60257

    Default

    Notepad++ no problems.

    just go to Settings/Apps & select apps from anywhere.

    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Tiny For This Useful Post:

    mkhannah (11-10-17),therufus (18-10-17)

  • #3
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    6,124
    Thanks
    4,681
    Thanked 3,145 Times in 1,592 Posts
    Rep Power
    1359
    Reputation
    54160

    Default

    I just downloaded it and installed the 64 bit version with no issues. Have a look in your settings "Update and Security", select "For Developers", and select "Sideload Apps", allow it, and you might actually be able to install it.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lsemmens For This Useful Post:

    therufus (18-10-17),Tiny (12-10-17)

  • #4
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    58
    Posts
    5,339
    Thanks
    8,781
    Thanked 3,996 Times in 2,092 Posts
    Rep Power
    1466
    Reputation
    60257

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by therufus View Post
    I'm trying to install Notepad++ onto Windows 10 Pro there is no drop-down menu to allow me to install from non-store sources.
    Ok, if there is no drop down menu to select 'Allow Apps From Anywhere', then something is not right with your W10 Pro 64 install??

    As I have W10 Pro 64 as well.

    Or it's possible that the settings are blocked as per lsemmens post, see pic below.

    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Tiny For This Useful Post:

    therufus (18-10-17),xapi (12-10-17)

  • #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cranebrook, NSW
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    126
    Reputation
    50

    Default

    It's in Sideload mode now in developer options, however I still only have this:

    Last edited by therufus; 12-10-17 at 09:22 AM.

  • #6
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    6,124
    Thanks
    4,681
    Thanked 3,145 Times in 1,592 Posts
    Rep Power
    1359
    Reputation
    54160

    Default

    That is a list of installed apps. Have you tried to download and run the installer for Notepad++ from
    Last edited by lsemmens; 12-10-17 at 02:13 PM.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cranebrook, NSW
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    126
    Reputation
    50

    Default

    After opening the installer downloaded from the Notepad++ site:

  • #8
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    54
    Posts
    4,959
    Thanks
    188
    Thanked 2,960 Times in 1,287 Posts
    Rep Power
    1004
    Reputation
    35930

    Default

    • Run Local Security Policy (secpol.msc) as an administrator.
    • Go to Security Settings > Application Control Policies > AppLocker, and select Configure rule enforcement.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to hoe For This Useful Post:

    therufus (18-10-17)

  • #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cranebrook, NSW
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    126
    Reputation
    50

    Default

    Took me to another window (AppLocker Properties) with 4 options:

    Executable rules
    [ ] Configured
    ---Enforce rules

    Windows Installer rules
    [ ] Configured
    ---Enforce rules

    Script rules
    [ ] Configured
    ---Enforce rules

    Packaged app Rules
    [ ]
    ---Enforce rules

    Any clues what to do from here? I ticked all the boxes and changed "Enforce rules" to "Audit only" but nothing changes in app settings and I still can't install Notepad++

  • #10
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    54
    Posts
    4,959
    Thanks
    188
    Thanked 2,960 Times in 1,287 Posts
    Rep Power
    1004
    Reputation
    35930

    Default

    have a look at the settings on this page and see if any are stopping installation......



    Last edited by hoe; 12-10-17 at 04:15 PM.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to hoe For This Useful Post:

    therufus (18-10-17)

  • #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cranebrook, NSW
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    126
    Reputation
    50

    Default

    Mine is the same as yours

  • #12
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    58
    Posts
    5,339
    Thanks
    8,781
    Thanked 3,996 Times in 2,092 Posts
    Rep Power
    1466
    Reputation
    60257

    Default

    Hey therufus, I'd suggest System File checker sfc /scannow. It will not remove any of your personal files or Apps/programs.
    How to use System File checker sfc /scannow, in W10;
    System File Checker is a utility available in Windows 10 that checks for system file corruption. It's recommended for advanced users. To run it:



    • Select Start , and in the search box, enter Command Prompt. Press and hold (or right-click) Command Prompt (Desktop app) from the search results and select Run as administrator.
    • Enter DISM.exe /Online /Cleanup-image /Restorehealth (note the spaces before each "/").
    • Enter sfc /scannow (note the space between "sfc" and "/").




    If that doesn't solve the settings issue then it maybe time to think about a as I reckon you have a corrupt registry entry or system file somewhere? This will leave your files intact, however it will not reinstall any of your apps, but it will give you a list of apps that will need to be reinstalled.

    Either way back up your personal files before proceeding.

    BTW; several people are helping you here, the thanks button is used to say thank you.
    Last edited by Tiny; 12-10-17 at 06:46 PM.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • #13
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    6,124
    Thanks
    4,681
    Thanked 3,145 Times in 1,592 Posts
    Rep Power
    1359
    Reputation
    54160

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by therufus View Post
    After opening the installer downloaded from the Notepad++ site:
    What happened when you clicked on the "open Settings link" on that page?
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cranebrook, NSW
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    126
    Reputation
    50

    Default

    The "Apps and features" dialog box opens, without the option to install from non-store locations.

  • #15
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    6,124
    Thanks
    4,681
    Thanked 3,145 Times in 1,592 Posts
    Rep Power
    1359
    Reputation
    54160

    Default

    Maybe Tiny's suggestion will work. But I can offer no more. Maybe will provide some assistance, that allows you to twaek many areas of windoze that are not readily accessible.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #16
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    54
    Posts
    4,959
    Thanks
    188
    Thanked 2,960 Times in 1,287 Posts
    Rep Power
    1004
    Reputation
    35930

    Default

    is this your pc ? or is it a work etc. one that has been locked down ?

    it appears the registry has been modified to disable installation..

  • #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cranebrook, NSW
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    126
    Reputation
    50

    Default

    It's a work PC, however, after speaking to the person who installed Windows, he just installed it without any modified policies or settings.

    It is hooked into a domain if that makes a difference...

  • #18
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    54
    Posts
    4,959
    Thanks
    188
    Thanked 2,960 Times in 1,287 Posts
    Rep Power
    1004
    Reputation
    35930

    Default

    Yes, being on a domain is the problem.
    Make sure you are using a local profile not roaming.

    Try creating a new local user and see if that works.

    Sent from my LON-L29 using Tapatalk

  • The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to hoe For This Useful Post:

    admin (18-10-17),therufus (19-10-17),Tiny (18-10-17),tristen (18-10-17)

  • #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cranebrook, NSW
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    126
    Reputation
    50

    Default

    The strangest thing is I installed Office, Foxit reader, Chrome, etc on this very PC with no problems. Now I can't install anything. It's like there was a Windows update that has broken it.

  • #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Cranebrook, NSW
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    126
    Reputation
    50

    Default

    Found a workaround that was so simple, I slapped myself.

    Hit start, type CMD, right-click the program that comes up, run as Administrator and execute the installer that way.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to therufus For This Useful Post:

    Tiny (24-10-17)

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •