Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 92

Thread: NBN Changeovers

  1. #21
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    17,125
    Thanks
    4,917
    Thanked 10,771 Times in 5,366 Posts
    Rep Power
    3697
    Reputation
    149950

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by admin View Post
    So I am presuming my connection should be as simple as my mates with just some work in the street ?
    Yes, providing you don't have any other premises cabling connected before or after the socket the modem is plugged into, regardless of whether or not there are other devices connected to the line.

    Eg: the line from the street goes directly to the socket the modem is plugged into and no other cables run to/from that socket.

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    admin (05-12-17)



  • #22
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    51
    Posts
    0
    Thanks
    2,059
    Thanked 12,638 Times in 5,448 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    143338

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fandtm666 View Post
    you can set the belong modem to bridge mode and then connect the night hawke to
    do all your routing but you will loose the vpn setup

    Thanks for the link, looks doable.

    From what I have read, the Belong modem isnt brilliant in regards to wireless range. I live in a house that is very long, so definitely don't need something with worse wifi range so this this will be a good solution.

    The Archer has 2 Operation modes, so if I select Wireless Router mode and make the changes to the Belong modem in the link and bang a cable in between, all should be good

    DSL Modem Router Mode
    Wireless Router Mode

  • #23
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    51
    Posts
    0
    Thanks
    2,059
    Thanked 12,638 Times in 5,448 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    143338

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mtv View Post
    Yes, providing you don't have any other premises cabling connected before or after the socket the modem is plugged into, regardless of whether or not there are other devices connected to the line.

    Eg: the line from the street goes directly to the socket the modem is plugged into and not other cables run to/from that socket.
    Should be good I think.

  • #24
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    51
    Posts
    0
    Thanks
    2,059
    Thanked 12,638 Times in 5,448 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    143338

    Default

    It seems Belongs modem is a bit of a pig when it comes to having more than half a dozen items on wireless.


    I will see how I go with the Archer D7 attached, it should fix the problem but it was interesting to see mentioned that telstra modems work no problem with Belong.

    Given that many people will get a modem from telstra and not use it, I wonder if any of the Telstra Gateway Frontier modems will appear cheap on Ebay/Gumtree ? Does anyone know how the fallback to 4G works, ie, do they have a sim card in them ?

    Edit ; Having a big read about them now.

    Interesting with 4G fallback....whats to stop you taking it on holidays with you ? Fallback to 4G 6/1 and any download/upload allowance simply comes off your broadband allowance....to some unlimited.

  • #25
    Premium Member
    mkhannah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    2,431
    Thanks
    2,782
    Thanked 1,444 Times in 747 Posts
    Rep Power
    583
    Reputation
    18502

    Default

    I know WiFi extenders cop some flack and I have spent good money on one some years ago and vowed never again. But these are ridiculously cheap, I got one as my sons bedroom is at the back of the house and he always had crap WiFi.



    I cant believe how good they work for around five bucks. He games, netfiixes etc no probs. This is with 25/5 nbn.

  • #26
    Member h8fg4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    327
    Thanks
    127
    Thanked 82 Times in 46 Posts
    Rep Power
    162
    Reputation
    1124

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by admin View Post
    Or suburb

    There is no information even on my mates house who is connected.
    My house is the same just a yellow dot no speed estimate, I have been connected to fttn for 12 months and get 23mps down and the tech said thats the best I will get. My house/estate is about 32 years old

  • #27
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,938
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked 360 Times in 170 Posts
    Rep Power
    852
    Reputation
    27847

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mkhannah View Post
    I know WiFi extenders cop some flack and I have spent good money on one some years ago and vowed never again. But these are ridiculously cheap, I got one as my sons bedroom is at the back of the house and he always had crap WiFi.



    I cant believe how good they work for around five bucks. He games, netfiixes etc no probs. This is with 25/5 nbn.

    the link shows nothing

  • #28
    Senior Member
    Guiseppe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,270
    Thanks
    767
    Thanked 309 Times in 201 Posts
    Rep Power
    247
    Reputation
    5144

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mtv View Post
    Any licensed cabler can perform the work
    What is their official title - in other words how do locate one?
    If Australia is a democracy why, then, is voting compulsory?

    "What has changed between the arrival of the First Fleet and today?"
    "Wearing leg irons is now not required."

  • #29
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    17,125
    Thanks
    4,917
    Thanked 10,771 Times in 5,366 Posts
    Rep Power
    3697
    Reputation
    149950

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Guiseppe View Post
    What is their official title - in other words how do locate one?

    ACMA Registered Cabler.

    Registrations are administered through 5 registrar organisations.

    You can search for registered cablers but that only shows those cablers that advertise on that site.

    You can search the registered cabler database as well

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    admin (06-12-17),Guiseppe (07-12-17)

  • #30
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    51
    Posts
    0
    Thanks
    2,059
    Thanked 12,638 Times in 5,448 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    143338

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mkhannah View Post
    I know WiFi extenders cop some flack and I have spent good money on one some years ago and vowed never again. But these are ridiculously cheap, I got one as my sons bedroom is at the back of the house and he always had crap WiFi.



    I cant believe how good they work for around five bucks. He games, netfiixes etc no probs. This is with 25/5 nbn.
    As mentioned, your link is not linking.

    I have a couple of TP Link wifi extenders and they work well. As I mentioned, I live in a long house and the modem is about midway, so I have an extender up each end.

  • #31
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    51
    Posts
    0
    Thanks
    2,059
    Thanked 12,638 Times in 5,448 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    143338

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by admin View Post
    Given that many people will get a modem from telstra and not use it, I wonder if any of the Telstra Gateway Frontier modems will appear cheap on Ebay/Gumtree ?
    Not particularly cheap at the moment, but cheaper than buying one. Most people over at Whirlpool reckon they are a good modem.

    I dont think the 4G fallback would work on Belong though, I am still reading and might ask the question over there.

  • #32
    Premium Member
    mkhannah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    2,431
    Thanks
    2,782
    Thanked 1,444 Times in 747 Posts
    Rep Power
    583
    Reputation
    18502

    Default

    Sorry guys here's a link



    They are usually a bit cheaper at a few places online
    Last edited by mkhannah; 06-12-17 at 04:26 PM.

  • #33
    Senior Member
    Guiseppe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,270
    Thanks
    767
    Thanked 309 Times in 201 Posts
    Rep Power
    247
    Reputation
    5144

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mtv View Post
    ACMA Registered Cabler.

    Registrations are administered through 5 registrar organisations.

    You can search for registered cablers but that only shows those cablers that advertise on that site.

    You can search the registered cabler database as well
    Just a query. How come ACMA get involved with telephone cabling?

    Cablers do not seem to be thick on the ground or is it simply my search method.
    If Australia is a democracy why, then, is voting compulsory?

    "What has changed between the arrival of the First Fleet and today?"
    "Wearing leg irons is now not required."

  • #34
    Member Au_radio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    258
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 127 Times in 63 Posts
    Rep Power
    104
    Reputation
    2550

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Guiseppe View Post
    Just a query. How come ACMA get involved with telephone cabling?

    Cablers do not seem to be thick on the ground or is it simply my search method.
    Maybe because the letter C in ACMA is for communications ?

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Au_radio For This Useful Post:

    Guiseppe (08-12-17)

  • #35
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    17,125
    Thanks
    4,917
    Thanked 10,771 Times in 5,366 Posts
    Rep Power
    3697
    Reputation
    149950

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Guiseppe View Post
    Just a query. How come ACMA get involved with telephone cabling?

    Cablers do not seem to be thick on the ground or is it simply my search method.
    Yep... ACMA = Australian Communications and Media Authority.
    Australian Communications and Media Authority

    ACMA are the government licensing department responsible for all communications spectrum licensing, including all that which encompasses telecommunications.

    ACMA is the controlling body for cabler licensing and always has been.

    The cabling licence was originally called an Austel Cabling Licence and was managed directly by ACMA.

    There are at present 5 registrar organisations approved by ACMA that maintain registration of licensed cablers on behalf of ACMA.

    , , , and .

    I don't know how you are searching, but there are literally thousands of licensed cablers in Australia.

    For example, BRCA currently has 9721 registered cablers on their database and they are only one of the five registrar organisations.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    Guiseppe (08-12-17)

  • #36
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,938
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked 360 Times in 170 Posts
    Rep Power
    852
    Reputation
    27847

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Guiseppe View Post
    Just a query. How come ACMA get involved with telephone cabling?

    Cablers do not seem to be thick on the ground or is it simply my search method.
    Go into your local TRADE electrical wholesaler like TLE and some one at the counter would be able
    to give you contact details for a cabler in your area.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to fandtm666 For This Useful Post:

    Guiseppe (08-12-17)

  • #37
    Senior Member
    Guiseppe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,270
    Thanks
    767
    Thanked 309 Times in 201 Posts
    Rep Power
    247
    Reputation
    5144

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mtv View Post


    I don't know how you are searching, but there are literally thousands of licensed cablers in Australia.

    For example, BRCA currently has 9721 registered cablers on their database and they are only one of the five registrar organisations.
    I must be having a senior's moment but clicking on that link only gives a list of cablers - there is no immediately apparent way of searching for a cabler in a particular city.
    If Australia is a democracy why, then, is voting compulsory?

    "What has changed between the arrival of the First Fleet and today?"
    "Wearing leg irons is now not required."

  • #38
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    17,125
    Thanks
    4,917
    Thanked 10,771 Times in 5,366 Posts
    Rep Power
    3697
    Reputation
    149950

    Default

    As fandtm666 mentioned, you could check with local electrical/data wholesalers.

    Another easy method would be to Google telephone and data installers, or telephone and data cablers in your area... yellow pages, etc.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    Guiseppe (08-12-17)

  • #39
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    51
    Posts
    0
    Thanks
    2,059
    Thanked 12,638 Times in 5,448 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    143338

    Default

    Geez, Belong are a nightmare. And I am not even connected yet.

    When I signed up, I got a technician date of today. 2 days later I got an SMS saying it was now on the 13th. Ok, not a biggy, shit happens.

    I login to my Belong account today (it would have to be the worst site I have ever used and speed wise, it must be located in Albania or something) and decide to check my order status. And it says "Your technician appointment is cancelled, you need to make a new appointment". Beauty. Why did I decide to leave Telstra again ?

    After painfully trying to find a contact button on their website ( I am not joking on how slow the site is......up to 5 minutes to change a page), I find one and ring and am told my wait time is less than 5 minutes. Good stuff, lets get this sorted.

    35 minutes later (that's 7 X the advised waiting time), the call gets answered by a woman who is obviously in a "sub continental" country who I can barely understand, and even worse, talks in a complete monotone ie, her voice does not change at all, its all at the same pace and her sentences are so long I was nearly losing consciousness . I had to concentrate so hard to understand her that I have probably leaked more brain fluid than what I did with that spinal injection I had last month.

    After taking some guesses with yes and no to her questions, she put me on hold and came back and told me in one big looong sentence that went on for 3 minutes that the website is wrong. I did somehow mange to hear her say that she checked the appointment with the "NBN authority", so I am hoping she is right.



    Yesterday I made another mates Telstra order online. It was as easy as my first mates one.

  • #40
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    51
    Posts
    0
    Thanks
    2,059
    Thanked 12,638 Times in 5,448 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    143338

    Default

    Interesting that belong.com.au resolves to a US IP address with 3 time outs on a tracert. No wonder its slow.

  • Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •