Thread: Grounding in the shack help, opinions.

Thanks

Default Grounding in the shack help, opinions.

Just setting up my radio shack properly and would like to know some of your comments, experiences.
    I have been reading for weeks and am still none the wiser.
    Should multiple transmitters and receivers be grounded to the same ground point?
    Should PC's chassis be grounded to this point as well?
    Should this point be chained to your electrical safety earth?

I am not asking about lightning ground (this seems pretty obvious, being the shortest, straightest path of least resistance) but is certainly open to discussion.

It all looks like a big can of worms, too many different opinions to make sense of.
    Thanks for your input.
    What happens if I press alt + F4?

Look Here ->
    Thanks

I work in the broadcast industry and I build and wire out studios. On-air studios are quite demanding, when it comes to grounding and power supply.

The trick with audio equipment and mains power is to have separate earths.

You have a "technical earth" and a "mains earth".

The idea is that your audio gear (shack gear in your case) ONLY connects to the technical earth.

The rest of the stuff in your house including noisy electrical appliances such as fridges, freezers, air con units et al - all connect to the normal "mains earth".

In your shack, create a technical earth by sinking a 2 metre earth stake into the ground outside the shack. Run a 6 mm earth conduit cable inside and tag it as such.
    If possible, connect this 6 mm˛ cable to a stud point somewhere so you can attach your feeders from the hotpoints to it.

The hotpoints are wired "star" earth.

Each hotpoint's earth connection goes back to the tech earth stud on its own cable.

Don't "daisy chain" the earths from one hotpoint to the next - this will cause hum loops.