Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: can i use old hydro ballast for jacobs ladder

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Age
    34
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default can i use old hydro ballast for jacobs ladder

    hi evry one i have an old 600w HPS ballast that i want to use for my second jacobs ladder project. i have been told about 3Kv comes out but it pulsed? and is it high frequency? current limiting? any info would b greatly appreciated. thanks rob



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    trash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Tamworth
    Posts
    3,085
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 1,837 Times in 854 Posts
    Rep Power
    614
    Reputation
    19834

    Default

    Probably back EMF. Have a look at a switchmode 'boost' circuit configuration.

  • #3
    Senior Member mobihci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 204 Times in 139 Posts
    Rep Power
    139
    Reputation
    844

    Default

    have a look at this site here-



    just reading through it, some great ideas there. maybe parts of the ballast could be used.

    some different types here-


  • #4
    Senior Member mobihci's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    708
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 204 Times in 139 Posts
    Rep Power
    139
    Reputation
    844

    Default

    oh and hi trash, good to see you are still here.

  • #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    77
    Posts
    230
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 131 Times in 50 Posts
    Rep Power
    151
    Reputation
    1714

    Default

    or here

  • #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Age
    34
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    thanks trash that will b good for next ladder or this one if the ballast doesnt work. flyback does hav a good arc.
    i know it would b easier to just use a NST! but i dont have one(am tryin to find 1 very cheap)
    any more suggestions/help would be great thanks

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •