Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 1234567891011 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 205

Thread: Tutorial : Newbie guide to update your Tomtom

  1. #41
    Senior Member
    Downunder35m's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,063
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 1,785 Times in 861 Posts
    Rep Power
    547
    Reputation
    15484

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hughdman View Post
    P N A :TomTom GO720 - 2GB
    DeviceName:TomTom Go
    BootLoaderVersion:55015
    Serialno.:3333333333333
    DeviceUniqueID:3333333333
    NavCore:8413.1237
    Current Map:
    Map Version No:0.0

    Am i on the right track,

    I have backed up
    and I've saved 730 to memcard and have booted from this.
    comes up with problem with map
    /
    what next
    Have you read the tutorial?
    You have to activate the map with a keygen - like keygen3.1F
    After that you should be fine.
    Tomtom GO730 ,Navcore 9.004 ,Bootloader 5.5256 ,Map :Australia 845.2661
    ttmaps and Tomplayer on 16GB SDHC class6
    Password for all my files: downunder



  • #42
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    100
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Downunder35m View Post
    You have to keep in mind that the 8.412 is not an official Navcore!
    Enjoy
    I can't use your 8.417 full backup ?
    In tartiflette we trust

  • #43
    Senior Member
    Downunder35m's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,063
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 1,785 Times in 861 Posts
    Rep Power
    547
    Reputation
    15484

    Default

    You can use the fullbackup ,but you will have problems getting computer voices to work on a one .
    And if you need the hands free function you should use the 8.413 instead.
    Tomtom GO730 ,Navcore 9.004 ,Bootloader 5.5256 ,Map :Australia 845.2661
    ttmaps and Tomplayer on 16GB SDHC class6
    Password for all my files: downunder

  • #44
    Premium Member, 2014 Austech AFL tipping champion.

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Maylands / Lesmurdie WA
    Age
    47
    Posts
    3,393
    Thanks
    192
    Thanked 1,514 Times in 798 Posts
    Rep Power
    458
    Reputation
    12023

    Default

    Thanks DownUnder looks to be working, I'm doing this at work so it was a rush job, Thanks Again

  • #45
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    hey everyone ... great thread - glad I stumbled upon it ...

    however, am having a bit of difficulty and if anyone can help that would be greatly appreciated.

    I have a TomTom One New Edition (According to TomTom Home) ...

    I'm trying Navcore 8.412.1236 and USA and Canada 825.2159 on a 2gig SD Card (wanted to keep the original file system in tact - just in case).

    I've done the following - copied Navcore to the root of my SD Card - tried booting with no maps on the sdcard. everything works except I get a "no map" error. no biggie.

    I take the USA & Canada 825.2159 and copy that onto the route of my SD Card in the USA_and_Canada subfolder.

    I run easyusetools after copying USA_and_Canada-27.meta and USA_and_Canada.pna into the "insert_meta_from_Map_here" folder - no errors.

    then I ran the ttsystem_Patcher and it says "ttsystem already patched" - I'm guessing 'cause the navcore I d/led has already been done for me.

    so I then take the SD card load it into the TomTom and now I get the following error ...

    "Problem with map: You cannot use this map on this device: USA_and_Canada".

    am I doing something wrong? did I miss a step? any help would be appreciated.

    thanks!

  • #46
    Senior Member
    Downunder35m's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,063
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 1,785 Times in 861 Posts
    Rep Power
    547
    Reputation
    15484

    Default

    That means either way your Navcore is not patched or your map is not correctly activated.
    Your map is out dated ,the current one the 835 version.
    If you want the latest features like ALG and IQ routes take PW: downunder
    It is the North America and Canda map 835.2419 - it is 1750mb so you should have enough room on your card left for the Navcore and a few MP3's.
    This map gives you the latest features and the best coverage.
    Use or to activate the map.
    If still not working try to patch your Navcore again with the Keygen ,but I think it should be ok.
    Tomtom GO730 ,Navcore 9.004 ,Bootloader 5.5256 ,Map :Australia 845.2661
    ttmaps and Tomplayer on 16GB SDHC class6
    Password for all my files: downunder

  • #47
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Downunder35m View Post
    That means either way your Navcore is not patched or your map is not correctly activated.
    Your map is out dated ,the current one the 835 version.
    If you want the latest features like ALG and IQ routes take PW: downunder
    It is the North America and Canda map 835.2419 - it is 1750mb so you should have enough room on your card left for the Navcore and a few MP3's.
    This map gives you the latest features and the best coverage.
    Use or to activate the map.
    If still not working try to patch your Navcore again with the Keygen ,but I think it should be ok.
    Downunder ... you are the man. Once I activated the maps it worked almost prefectly. almost in that you're right - it's definitely older (it was the newest one I could find on TB).

    Thanks for the reference to 835.2419 - how do you guys know when there are new versions released?

    This is an amazing website ... gets me all randy for my gps ... "three" thumbs up!

  • #48
    Senior Member
    Downunder35m's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,063
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 1,785 Times in 861 Posts
    Rep Power
    547
    Reputation
    15484

    Default

    You can in Tomtom Home for updates and it will tell you the version number
    But the 835 maps are only afew weeks old now ,so still a few month to go before we see another update...
    And one tipp : never use files from untrusted torrents or other download sites - the forums are the place where you get the stuff first and working!
    Often you are lucky and you actually get what was offered but sometimes you end up with rubbish or old files.
    Worst case would be updating your firmware and figuring out that your device is a brick after that because someone included a faulty bootloader in the package....
    Tomtom GO730 ,Navcore 9.004 ,Bootloader 5.5256 ,Map :Australia 845.2661
    ttmaps and Tomplayer on 16GB SDHC class6
    Password for all my files: downunder

  • #49
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Downunder35m View Post
    You can in Tomtom Home for updates and it will tell you the version number
    But the 835 maps are only afew weeks old now ,so still a few month to go before we see another update...
    And one tipp : never use files from untrusted torrents or other download sites - the forums are the place where you get the stuff first and working!
    Often you are lucky and you actually get what was offered but sometimes you end up with rubbish or old files.
    Worst case would be updating your firmware and figuring out that your device is a brick after that because someone included a faulty bootloader in the package....
    Thanks du ... I'll definitely keep this in mind.

    Looks like I'll be joining rapidshare

    keep up the great work!

  • #50
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Downunder35m View Post
    That means either way your Navcore is not patched or your map is not correctly activated.
    Your map is out dated ,the current one the 835 version.
    If you want the latest features like ALG and IQ routes take PW: downunder
    It is the North America and Canda map 835.2419 - it is 1750mb so you should have enough room on your card left for the Navcore and a few MP3's.
    This map gives you the latest features and the best coverage.
    Use or to activate the map.
    If still not working try to patch your Navcore again with the Keygen ,but I think it should be ok.
    hey downunder ...

    thanks for all your help so far ... I'm hoping I can ask you one other favor ...

    i can't seem to get Navcore 8.412.1236 working with sound on my TomTom ... so I thought I'd try the newer Navcore 8.413 - as you've suggested in other threads - but when I went to the main thread () the link is broken.

    is there another location where it's been uploaded to?

    also, I have a TomTom One - according to the "show version" it says this;

    TomTom One
    29MB RAM (Free:6.1MB)
    GPSv1.21, Boot 5.3029
    -EDIT- after doing some more reading online - I've determined it's a TomTom One LE - or v4 / New Edition.

    I'm putting everything on a 2gb SD Card so that if there's any issues I can just eject the card and 'go back to the original' software while on the road.

    When trying to load a newer version of Navcore I'm using the following config settings (are these correct?) - based on 8.412 it freezes and there's no sound ... hopefully when using 8.413 it'll fix that ...

    setconfig.txt
    modelri
    runclean
    viewmsg
    sdid:1
    runcheck
    changedtext:TomTom ONE
    delgns
    delmap
    ttsoff
    btoff
    fmoff
    rm
    usesetting
    noqfixdel
    showmoreinfo

    version.txt
    A:8010
    B:9369

    model.txt
    x30

    any info would be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by njchan; 25-09-09 at 10:17 AM.

  • #51
    Senior Member
    Downunder35m's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,063
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 1,785 Times in 861 Posts
    Rep Power
    547
    Reputation
    15484

    Default

    version.txt
    A:7903
    B:9183

    model.txt : delete

    setconfig.txt
    model:x40light
    runclean
    viewmsg
    sdid:1
    changedtext:TomTom One v3
    delgns
    delmap
    btoff
    fmoff
    rm
    nomsg
    usesetting
    noqfixdel

    Please check if you have unpacked the folder outsourced from the archive.

    The fullbackup can be found but the 8.412 would be better for the one as it is modified for the 32mb models.
    Tomtom GO730 ,Navcore 9.004 ,Bootloader 5.5256 ,Map :Australia 845.2661
    ttmaps and Tomplayer on 16GB SDHC class6
    Password for all my files: downunder

  • #52
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    thanks for the help du! ... you guys are so friendly on this site. must be the aussie's. thanks for helping a commonwealth brother out (Canadian).

    I'll look for 8.412

  • #53
    Senior Member
    Downunder35m's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,063
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 1,785 Times in 861 Posts
    Rep Power
    547
    Reputation
    15484

    Default

    You're welcome!
    Tomtom GO730 ,Navcore 9.004 ,Bootloader 5.5256 ,Map :Australia 845.2661
    ttmaps and Tomplayer on 16GB SDHC class6
    Password for all my files: downunder

  • #54
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Downunder35m View Post
    You're welcome!
    hahha ...

    alright ... so I've got everything working perfectly - no freezing, great new features, etc ... on the following versions ...

    TomTom One LE (32mb Ram)
    Navcore 8.412 (thanks to your setconfig.txt help)
    USA and Canada 825.2159 (825mbs to fit on the TomTom)

    if I wanted to use the ... North America and Canada map 835.2419 (it is 1750mb) as you suggested, how do I get the TomTom to read the SDCard I have?

    I've formatted the card, copied the entire 1.7gb map in its folder to the SD Card, but when I stick the card into the TomTom I get screen showing a big red X on my sd card.

    I guess it's not that big a deal ... but I've just got this sd card laying around collecting dust - figure I might as well put on the best map with a couple mp3s and maybe even some pics.

    thanks again for your patience!

  • #55
    Senior Member
    Downunder35m's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,063
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 1,785 Times in 861 Posts
    Rep Power
    547
    Reputation
    15484

    Default

    If you copy your Navcore from the internal memory onto the card your Tomtom will boot properly from the card
    Tomtom GO730 ,Navcore 9.004 ,Bootloader 5.5256 ,Map :Australia 845.2661
    ttmaps and Tomplayer on 16GB SDHC class6
    Password for all my files: downunder

  • #56
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Downunder35m View Post
    If you copy your Navcore from the internal memory onto the card your Tomtom will boot properly from the card
    duh ... of course ... I guess I should have thought of that.

    thanks for all your help (again).

    is it just me, or does the TomTom run faster when navcore and the maps are loaded onto internal memory (makes sense) ... I guess it's a balance between speed vs coverage.

    know where I can look up the differences between maps?

    i.e.

    USA and Canada 825.2159 (825mbs)
    vs.
    North America and Canada map 835.2419 (1750mbs)


    I thought "north america" was US & Canada.

  • #57
    Senior Member
    Downunder35m's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,063
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 1,785 Times in 861 Posts
    Rep Power
    547
    Reputation
    15484

    Default

    If you have afast SD card you won't see a difference.
    Well ,your 825 is outdated ,the 835 is current.
    You can check the coverage (sort of) at the .
    I don't have charts for the old 825 maps ,sorry.
    Tomtom GO730 ,Navcore 9.004 ,Bootloader 5.5256 ,Map :Australia 845.2661
    ttmaps and Tomplayer on 16GB SDHC class6
    Password for all my files: downunder

  • #58
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    hey there downunder!

    everything seems to be working smoothly ... only occasional freezing ... not sure why - seems to be 8.412 - do you think I should update the bootloader? i know I have a much older version (5.3029) - could this be causing problems?

    I did a search and found your thread ...



    would you recommend ... 5.5022 for my TT One LE?

  • #59
    Senior Member
    Downunder35m's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,063
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 1,785 Times in 861 Posts
    Rep Power
    547
    Reputation
    15484

    Default

    For your Navcore you would need the 5.5112 for full support of the Navcore features.
    Tomtom GO730 ,Navcore 9.004 ,Bootloader 5.5256 ,Map :Australia 845.2661
    ttmaps and Tomplayer on 16GB SDHC class6
    Password for all my files: downunder

  • #60
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Hello, I need help on how to, step by step, insert a map of Eastern Europe and how to patch it in my tomtom one. The TT Asperin say:
    PNA TomTom ONE IQ routers Edition: ONE
    Application :8.411.1219
    I have some map Europe_2GB_830_2315, if it is a wrong map i will download some other.
    Thanks

  • Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 1234567891011 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. Replies: 105
      Last Post: 26-09-14, 10:34 PM
    2. Replies: 81
      Last Post: 20-06-10, 02:00 PM
    3. Tomtom on to PDA guide with files - Where?
      By jason broadhurst in forum Portable Devices
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 23-01-09, 07:14 PM
    4. Newbie guide
      By Decapper in forum Dreambox
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 15-06-08, 02:14 PM
    5. Newbie Guide to Recording DM500 content?
      By covert in forum Dreambox
      Replies: 20
      Last Post: 20-01-08, 02:20 PM

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •