Page 1 of 11 12345678910 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 205

Thread: Tutorial : Newbie guide to update your Tomtom

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Downunder35m's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,063
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 1,786 Times in 862 Posts
    Rep Power
    550
    Reputation
    15504

    Post Tutorial : Newbie guide to update your Tomtom

    This is a general guide ,what means you will have to find the stuff you need yourself ! (except for the links posted here!)

    First some general infos and tips :
    Some terms :
    Navcore : the software that runs on your Tomtom - same as your Windows on the PC
    SE Navcore : a special Navcore that emulates functions of "bigger" Tomtom devices ,sometime with "switchfiles" to deactivate functions you don't really need to safe on RAM
    ttgo.bif : file containing all important info's of your device
    Bootloader : the "bios" of your Tomtom - same as the bios for your PC
    Map and map version : most ppl here will need an Australian or New Zealand map - that would be the stuff you see on your Tomtom while driving
    The map version is the number that identifies the map e.g. 830.2352 for the latest Australian map with ALG ,CSSpeech and IQ routes
    meta.txt : file containing the blowfish code to activate maps - sometimes only as text in the thread with the download link. In that case copy and paste it into a file named "meta.txt" together with your keygen.
    TT Home : Tomtom Home ,the application that runs on your PC
    ALG : advanced lane guidance - shows you images of the lanes if it gets complicated ,mostly on the freeway
    IQ Routes : Technology from Tomtom to calculate the fasted route based on times automatically recorded by your Tomtom and transmitted when you connect it to your PC
    CS Speech ,TTS ,ASR : related to the computer voices and speech recognition running on "bigger" Tomtom units - usually all included in a goog Navcore ,so nothing to worry about
    (computer]voices : There are two types of voices to be used - "normal" voices gives you simple instructions and they are recorded,like the "celebrity voices.
    Computer voices are much bigger in filesize and need more RAM to work ,but the read aloud street names ,warnings and textmessages.
    Keygen/Easyusetools : needed to activate a non genuine map and to patch your "ttsystem" and Tomtom Home DLL.
    ttsystem : don't think about it too much. All you need to know is : almost all downloaded Navcores are already patched and a original Navcore from Tomtom needs to be patched in order to work with a non genuine map.


    How to update (I assume you do all - Navcore and Map,if it is only the map jump to 8. after checking on 1. and 2.):
    1. Make a proper backup using the Windows Explorer - not Tomtom Home!!
    1.1 Make sure you see all files and folders -even hidden and system!! (check under settings)
    1.2 Check if you backups is really complete - if not you might be in trouble if you need to restore your old system

    2. If you have a slot for a memory card - USE IT!!!
    Why? Because you always keep a working system on your internal memory and a 2GB SD card is less than $10! A new Tomtom is ??

    3. Check if there are special instructions in regards to the Navcore you download e.g. settings for a SE Navcore ,if the Navcore is complete or if you need to download voices and so on...

    4. Download all files you need ,like Nacore ,map ,voices , keygens ,POI's into a folder on you har disc - make sure you make "intelligent subfolders" like "Navcore" , "MAP" ,"REST" in order to not confuse yourself!

    5. Check the 1. before you continue

    6. If you have a SD card delete everything what is on there.
    If you use your internal memory do the same ,but leave it connected and don't turn it off!
    6.1 Hint : if you have a card reader - use it because it will be much faster than using the card in your Tomtom!

    7. Copy all files and folder for the Navcore to the root of your "system" (System means the SD card if you use it ,or the internal memory if don't use a card!)

    8. Copy all files for your new map into a folder on your "system" e.g. "Australia" ,but make sure you are not using a subfolder within it - sometime a map in a downloaded archive is already in a folder e.g.Australia_830_2352. So either copy that folder to root of your system or the files within into the folder you created for the map.

    9. Start your Tomtom once to create a new "ttgo.bif" - turn it off without accessing the menu and ignore warnings that you can't use the map or that no map is found!

    10. Use a keygen to activate the map and if you use an original Navcore to patch the "ttsystem"

    11. Start your Tomtom to configure the setting and enjoy!

    If these steps are not working for you : DON'T PANIC!!!
    Most likely you have made a minor mistake on the way - start over and try again after a short break.
    Error mesages related to the map occur mostly because of a non patched "ttsystem" or not properly activated map - so check the keygen part again!


    Some downloads :
    : All in one tool for activating map and all patching - needs a connected Tomtom (Tomtom Home not running in the background!) - The buttons are pretty much self explaining!
    Same as the "easyusetools" you will find in regards to the maps ,but with a nice frontend running under Windows.
    You only need to copa the the "meta.txt" into the same folder and press the buttons...
    - ignore the 2305 in the name,it is in fact the 2352! PW : downunder
    including a videoplayer and some extras - reported to be working on : Go7xx ,Go5xx,Go9xx,ONE V3,One V4
    Without TTS and ASR reported to wor fine on : Go300,Go500,ONE,ONE classic
    PW : gsmfree
    PW : gsmfree ,Tool to show you the info's of your Tomtom ,like Serial number ,Navcore ,installed map ....

    Think that should be enough for a start...
    Tomtom GO730 ,Navcore 9.004 ,Bootloader 5.5256 ,Map :Australia 845.2661
    ttmaps and Tomplayer on 16GB SDHC class6
    Password for all my files: downunder

  2. The Following 12 Users Say Thank You to Downunder35m For This Useful Post:

    + Show/Hide list of the thanked

    ballbelter (07-08-09),best4less (07-07-09),develec (15-05-16),Fernbay (07-07-09),girkers (03-06-10),gmaust (02-12-09),Henpecked (08-09-10),ianski (06-07-10),livelife (28-09-09),porkop (25-07-09),rknsw (22-12-11)



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Downunder35m View Post
    This is a general guide ,what means you will have to find the stuff you need yourself ! (except for the links posted here!)

    First some general infos and tips :
    Some terms :
    Navcore : the software that runs on your Tomtom - same as your Windows on the PC
    SE Navcore : a special Navcore that emulates functions of "bigger" Tomtom devices ,sometime with "switchfiles" to deactivate functions you don't really need to safe on RAM
    ttgo.bif : file containing all important info's of your device
    Bootloader : the "bios" of your Tomtom - same as the bios for your PC
    Map and map version : most ppl here will need an Australian or New Zealand map - that would be the stuff you see on your Tomtom while driving
    The map version is the number that identifies the map e.g. 830.2352 for the latest Australian map with ALG ,CSSpeech and IQ routes
    meta.txt : file containing the blowfish code to activate maps - sometimes only as text in the thread with the download link. In that case copy and paste it into a file named "meta.txt" together with your keygen.
    TT Home : Tomtom Home ,the application that runs on your PC
    ALG : advanced lane guidance - shows you images of the lanes if it gets complicated ,mostly on the freeway
    IQ Routes : Technology from Tomtom to calculate the fasted route based on times automatically recorded by your Tomtom and transmitted when you connect it to your PC
    CS Speech ,TTS ,ASR : related to the computer voices and speech recognition running on "bigger" Tomtom units - usually all included in a goog Navcore ,so nothing to worry about
    (computer]voices : There are two types of voices to be used - "normal" voices gives you simple instructions and they are recorded,like the "celebrity voices.
    Computer voices are much bigger in filesize and need more RAM to work ,but the read aloud street names ,warnings and textmessages.
    Keygen/Easyusetools : needed to activate a non genuine map and to patch your "ttsystem" and Tomtom Home DLL.
    ttsystem : don't think about it too much. All you need to know is : almost all downloaded Navcores are already patched and a original Navcore from Tomtom needs to be patched in order to work with a non genuine map.


    How to update (I assume you do all - Navcore and Map,if it is only the map jump to 8. after checking on 1. and 2.):
    1. Make a proper backup using the Windows Explorer - not Tomtom Home!!
    1.1 Make sure you see all files and folders -even hidden and system!! (check under settings)
    1.2 Check if you backups is really complete - if not you might be in trouble if you need to restore your old system

    2. If you have a slot for a memory card - USE IT!!!
    Why? Because you always keep a working system on your internal memory and a 2GB SD card is less than $10! A new Tomtom is ??

    3. Check if there are special instructions in regards to the Navcore you download e.g. settings for a SE Navcore ,if the Navcore is complete or if you need to download voices and so on...

    4. Download all files you need ,like Nacore ,map ,voices , keygens ,POI's into a folder on you har disc - make sure you make "intelligent subfolders" like "Navcore" , "MAP" ,"REST" in order to not confuse yourself!

    5. Check the 1. before you continue

    6. If you have a SD card delete everything what is on there.
    If you use your internal memory do the same ,but leave it connected and don't turn it off!
    6.1 Hint : if you have a card reader - use it because it will be much faster than using the card in your Tomtom!

    7. Copy all files and folder for the Navcore to the root of your "system" (System means the SD card if you use it ,or the internal memory if don't use a card!)

    8. Copy all files for your new map into a folder on your "system" e.g. "Australia" ,but make sure you are not using a subfolder within it - sometime a map in a downloaded archive is already in a folder e.g.Australia_830_2352. So either copy that folder to root of your system or the files within into the folder you created for the map.

    9. Start your Tomtom once to create a new "ttgo.bif" - turn it off without accessing the menu and ignore warnings that you can't use the map or that no map is found!

    10. Use a keygen to activate the map and if you use an original Navcore to patch the "ttsystem"

    11. Start your Tomtom to configure the setting and enjoy!

    If these steps are not working for you : DON'T PANIC!!!
    Most likely you have made a minor mistake on the way - start over and try again after a short break.
    Error mesages related to the map occur mostly because of a non patched "ttsystem" or not properly activated map - so check the keygen part again!


    Some downloads :
    : All in one tool for activating map and all patching - needs a connected Tomtom (Tomtom Home not running in the background!) - The buttons are pretty much self explaining!
    Same as the "easyusetools" you will find in regards to the maps ,but with a nice frontend running under Windows.
    You only need to copa the the "meta.txt" into the same folder and press the buttons...
    - ignore the 2305 in the name,it is in fact the 2352! PW : downunder
    including a videoplayer and some extras - reported to be working on : Go7xx ,Go5xx,Go9xx,ONE V3,One V4
    Without TTS and ASR reported to wor fine on : Go300,Go500,ONE,ONE classic
    PW : gsmfree
    PW : gsmfree ,Tool to show you the info's of your Tomtom ,like Serial number ,Navcore ,installed map ....

    Think that should be enough for a start...
    Excellent guide and valuable reference for newbies like me.
    Will provide the confidence for new users to have a crack at updating their TT's.
    Last edited by halil; 01-07-09 at 12:16 AM.

  • #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Thanx - very informative and helpful

  • #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    37
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    117
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Thanks!
    Tutorial : Newbie guide to update your Tomtom---Is this TT only?

  • #5
    Senior Member
    Downunder35m's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,063
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 1,786 Times in 862 Posts
    Rep Power
    550
    Reputation
    15504

    Default

    Yes it is TT only - wont work for Garmin
    just kidding ,if you mean is it can be used for the WinCE versions : yes,it's just a general guide to give you some assistance.
    The only difference is that on the WinCe (or mobile) versions you don't have a Navcore ,but the Tomtom application.

    There are some tutorials for WinCe and Windows mobile as well
    Tomtom GO730 ,Navcore 9.004 ,Bootloader 5.5256 ,Map :Australia 845.2661
    ttmaps and Tomplayer on 16GB SDHC class6
    Password for all my files: downunder

  • #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Age
    45
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    12

    Default Linked keygen detected as a virus

    The instructions are very helpful but the keygen is detected as an Artemis virus by McAfee.

  • #7
    Senior Member
    Downunder35m's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,063
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 1,786 Times in 862 Posts
    Rep Power
    550
    Reputation
    15504

    Default

    Ignore the virus warning!
    There is now virus in the keygen - most keygens alert the AntiVirus Software because of the way the work.
    But use the new
    You will still ge a warning though
    All files posted by me are tested and virus free!
    If you check the file with Norton you won't get the warning -same for many other scanners. Avira for example always alerts me when I open the keygen
    Tomtom GO730 ,Navcore 9.004 ,Bootloader 5.5256 ,Map :Australia 845.2661
    ttmaps and Tomplayer on 16GB SDHC class6
    Password for all my files: downunder

  • #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Sorry i must be having a really bad day... i am still stumped.

    I have downloaded all the files you have listed including the copy of the GO files and also the maps. I already had a copy of a Navcore which is 8.4 so i have your backup, 8.4 Navcore and 830 2352 maps however i still can not get my tom tom one xl series 1 i think to boot.

    I get error messages when i try to patch ttsystem advising that i need a genuine non patched file. When i try to patch the maps it appears to work ok however when i switch on my device it says no maps found.

    Can anyone try and pinpoint what i am doing wrong?

  • #9
    Senior Member
    Downunder35m's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,063
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 1,786 Times in 862 Posts
    Rep Power
    550
    Reputation
    15504

    Default

    If your device is starting you're half way through
    If your map is in a folder on your device it's ok.
    Just try the to get he map working.
    If you don't understand what the steps mean click on help and a nice extra folds out explaining what to do.
    Tomtom GO730 ,Navcore 9.004 ,Bootloader 5.5256 ,Map :Australia 845.2661
    ttmaps and Tomplayer on 16GB SDHC class6
    Password for all my files: downunder

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Downunder35m For This Useful Post:

    Fernbay (31-07-09)

  • #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    473
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 22 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    143
    Reputation
    315

    Default

    thanks downunder works great on my XL one, but would the tt GO500 work with the same navcore and map?

  • #11
    Senior Member
    Downunder35m's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,063
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 1,786 Times in 862 Posts
    Rep Power
    550
    Reputation
    15504

    Default

    There should be no problem with your Go500 ,however I have posted a tutorial for the 300,500 and 700 models as well
    You can use the latest 8.417 Navcore as well ,the only problem with these old units is the lack of RAM - same goes for the ONE models.
    Thats why there are special version out there to get these oldies going with the latest maps.
    Most ppl are happy if they can upgrade from old Ver. or 7 maps to the new 830 maps and don't need fancy computer voices or voice control anyway
    Tomtom GO730 ,Navcore 9.004 ,Bootloader 5.5256 ,Map :Australia 845.2661
    ttmaps and Tomplayer on 16GB SDHC class6
    Password for all my files: downunder

  • #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Age
    54
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default Help needed please

    Hi folks,

    I'm a newbie to gps devices, and in fact I only bought my TomTom Go 730 this very afternoon, and after following Downunder's update sticky I think I've bricked it

    I followed Downunder's guide to the letter first using a card and then the device's internal memory (after making three backups), and couldn't get any further than an error message along the lines of the map not being able to be used on this device. I had a few of these with error 61, and a later one with error 19.

    I've since given up feeling that I'm out of my depth and restored the original configuration only now to have the thing failing to boot. It gets as far as the tomtom logo and the picture coming up after it, but then just locks up and does nothing. You can't turn it off or do anything with it other than press the small reset button on the bottom to shut it down.

    If anyone has any ideas about what I can do to get it working I'd be very grateful as I haven't even used this thing yet, and if the wife finds out that I've broken it before even sticking it in the car once I'm going to be in the doghouse until Christmas

    I have another untouched Go 730 here that's a week old if that helps (It's the wife's, which is why it's untouched .

    If anyone can help I'd be forever in their debt.

    Regards,
    George.

  • #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    473
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 22 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    143
    Reputation
    315

    Default

    Updated a GO500 and will come back on the test drive with app 8.412 + map830.2352

  • #14
    Senior Member
    Downunder35m's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,063
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 1,786 Times in 862 Posts
    Rep Power
    550
    Reputation
    15504

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dasgib View Post
    Hi folks,

    I'm a newbie to gps devices, and in fact I only bought my TomTom Go 730 this very afternoon, and after following Downunder's update sticky I think I've bricked it

    I followed Downunder's guide to the letter first using a card and then the device's internal memory (after making three backups), and couldn't get any further than an error message along the lines of the map not being able to be used on this device. I had a few of these with error 61, and a later one with error 19.

    I've since given up feeling that I'm out of my depth and restored the original configuration only now to have the thing failing to boot. It gets as far as the tomtom logo and the picture coming up after it, but then just locks up and does nothing. You can't turn it off or do anything with it other than press the small reset button on the bottom to shut it down.

    If anyone has any ideas about what I can do to get it working I'd be very grateful as I haven't even used this thing yet, and if the wife finds out that I've broken it before even sticking it in the car once I'm going to be in the doghouse until Christmas

    I have another untouched Go 730 here that's a week old if that helps (It's the wife's, which is why it's untouched .

    If anyone can help I'd be forever in their debt.

    Regards,
    George.
    If it's a 730 ,you could have used the -works straight out of the box ,all you need is adding the map and activate the map with a keygen.
    Password for the backup : gsmfree
    As long as your Go can be seen with drive letter nothing is lost !
    Last edited by Downunder35m; 08-08-09 at 12:33 PM.
    Tomtom GO730 ,Navcore 9.004 ,Bootloader 5.5256 ,Map :Australia 845.2661
    ttmaps and Tomplayer on 16GB SDHC class6
    Password for all my files: downunder

  • #15
    Super Moderator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    15,819
    Thanks
    4,478
    Thanked 9,755 Times in 4,834 Posts
    Rep Power
    3237
    Reputation
    129630

    Default

    George,

    If you have backups, just re-install them.

    Reformat the drive and install the backup.

    With a brand new TT, I don't see the point of you wanting to install the 'update' from here, when you are entitled to the genuine map update from TomTom for free.

  • #16
    Senior Member
    Downunder35m's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,063
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 1,786 Times in 862 Posts
    Rep Power
    550
    Reputation
    15504

    Default

    The new maps are not out yet ,so it would be a wasted update.
    I don't know what Navcore and map he is running now(or was before it went wrong).
    But as long as he has not registered the Tomtom and not used Home with being logged in he can wait till the maps are out ,put his backup on and then get the brand new maps - the map warranty is only for 30 days (after registration or making an account ).
    Tomtom GO730 ,Navcore 9.004 ,Bootloader 5.5256 ,Map :Australia 845.2661
    ttmaps and Tomplayer on 16GB SDHC class6
    Password for all my files: downunder

  • #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Age
    54
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Hi Guys,

    Many thanks for the advice, but after a night's sleep and a fresh start with a clear head I've managed to restore the device from one of the backups and return it to normal.

    It's funny, but when things start to go wrong common sense often goes out the window. My problem seemed to be that when I attempted to restore the backup I was starting with the device already turned on before hooking it up to the computer, and some of the files already running on the device weren't being over-written. The trick, I've since learned, is to power up the device while it's already docked so nothing is running and _everything_ gets over-written.

    Hey, like I said, I'm new

    I'll have another play with it later on tonight now that I'm feeling more confident, and thanks for the help. The guides are terrific and the knowledge shown by some of you guys is quite remarkable.

    Regards,
    George.

  • #18
    Senior Member
    Downunder35m's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,063
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 1,786 Times in 862 Posts
    Rep Power
    550
    Reputation
    15504

    Default

    Well ,we're here to help ,so feel free to come back any time
    Tomtom GO730 ,Navcore 9.004 ,Bootloader 5.5256 ,Map :Australia 845.2661
    ttmaps and Tomplayer on 16GB SDHC class6
    Password for all my files: downunder

  • #19
    Super Moderator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    15,819
    Thanks
    4,478
    Thanked 9,755 Times in 4,834 Posts
    Rep Power
    3237
    Reputation
    129630

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Downunder35m View Post
    The new maps are not out yet ,so it would be a wasted update.
    That was my point. The map in the unit would be the same as the one available here, so updating from either source would be pointless, at this time.

  • #20
    Senior Member
    Downunder35m's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    4,063
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 1,786 Times in 862 Posts
    Rep Power
    550
    Reputation
    15504

    Default

    Well with the right informations it would be easier to help anyway.
    Always post your model ,Navcore and map version - if you need help ,we need informations
    Tomtom GO730 ,Navcore 9.004 ,Bootloader 5.5256 ,Map :Australia 845.2661
    ttmaps and Tomplayer on 16GB SDHC class6
    Password for all my files: downunder

  • Page 1 of 11 12345678910 ... LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. Replies: 105
      Last Post: 26-09-14, 10:34 PM
    2. Replies: 81
      Last Post: 20-06-10, 02:00 PM
    3. Tomtom on to PDA guide with files - Where?
      By jason broadhurst in forum Portable Devices
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 23-01-09, 07:14 PM
    4. Newbie guide
      By Decapper in forum Dreambox
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 15-06-08, 02:14 PM
    5. Newbie Guide to Recording DM500 content?
      By covert in forum Dreambox
      Replies: 20
      Last Post: 20-01-08, 02:20 PM

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •