Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: can't lock onto any satellites

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Age
    98
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    108
    Reputation
    10

    Default can't lock onto any satellites

    google has helped me out on a couple things that might be causing the problem, but I haven't nailed it down to anything yet.

    I have a DM500s I got and am testing it for the first time, I am trying to lock on to the optus C1 satellite... but after about 3 hours of testing with my family, I haven't been able to lock onto anything with satfind on the DM500s box.

    I have what appears to be the same size dish as what austar/foxtel generally install.

    on most of the frequencies, the SNR moves between 50 and 60%.
    I have never seen it go below 50 or above 60 :-s.
    (AGC goes all over the place)

    LNB:
    I have physically rotated/ skewed the LNB about 10% (9.7 recomm.)
    LOF L = 09750
    LOF H = 10600
    Thrshld = 11700
    LNB volt. = H/V (not quite sure what that means.)
    Diseqc = none
    toneburst none

    DM500s:
    Running Jade Pli.
    (I have been mainly trying)
    12407 / 29999 V
    12487 / 30000 V
    *with no success.
    *I have tried scanning all freqs, but with no lock, it's impossible to do.
    >FEC is set to 2/3 on the manual scans


    Satellite info:

    Your Location
    Latitude: -33.401
    Longitude: 149.557

    Satellite Data
    Name: 156.0E Optus C1
    Distance: 37049km

    Dish Setup Data
    Elevation:50.5
    Azimuth (true): 11.6
    Azimuth (magn.): -0.4
    LNB skew: 9.7
    /\
    According to:

    (aligned the dish with a compass [used magnetic north -0.4]and inclinometer+ there were vertical measurements on the side of the dish)

    **is there a dish offset?, so I would have to move it a certain degree's to compensate this?**
    I hope someone can help me with this.
    let me know if there is any further info you need.

    Thanks for any help you can give me.
    Last edited by sinamp; 12-07-09 at 04:41 PM. Reason: hyperlink



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    beer4life's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    The Nether World.
    Age
    83
    Posts
    6,375
    Thanks
    1,351
    Thanked 1,452 Times in 1,066 Posts
    Rep Power
    482
    Reputation
    7552

    Wink Basic setup for Optus C1.

    Quote Originally Posted by sinamp View Post
    I have a DM500s I got and am testing it for the first time, I am trying to lock on to the optus C1 satellite...
    I have what appears to be the same size dish as what austar/foxtel generally install.

    LNB:
    I have physically rotated/ skewed the LNB about 10% (9.7 recomm.)
    LOF L = 09750
    LOF H = 10600
    Thrshld = 11700
    LNB volt. = H/V (not quite sure what that means.)
    Diseqc = none
    toneburst none

    DM500s:
    Running Jade Pli.
    (I have been mainly trying)
    12407 / 29999 V
    12487 / 30000 V
    *with no success.
    *I have tried scanning all freqs, but with no lock, it's impossible to do.
    >FEC is set to 2/3 on the manual scans

    Satellite info:

    Your Location
    Latitude: -33.401
    Longitude: 149.557

    Satellite Data
    Name: 156.0E Optus C1
    Distance: 37049km

    Dish Setup Data
    Elevation:50.5
    Azimuth (true): 11.6
    Azimuth (magn.): -0.4
    LNB skew: 9.7
    /
    According to:

    (aligned the dish with a compass [used magnetic north -0.4]and inclinometer+ there were vertical measurements on the side of the dish)

    **is there a dish offset?, so I would have to move it a certain degree's to compensate this?**

    Thanks for any help you can give me.
    G'Day Cobber,
    Forgive me if I appear to be asking the obvious as it is often those that cause all the problems.
    Just to check your data: Are you in Bathurst, NSW?
    If you have a multimeter, check your cable for shorts and continuity.
    Check that you have 14 / 18 V at the LNB end of cable.
    On the mast to dish bracket you should have elevation markings.
    To make swinging the Bracket and dish around the mast (Azimuth) easier, put a mast clamp for the bracket to rest on, to stop it slipping down when swinging back and forth in azimuth.
    Use this program to get a Satellite view of your location and move the icon to your exact house. You will then be able to line up your dish on a ground feature.
    Use this unique TP on C1. Saves confusion with other nearby Satellites.
    12367 V / 27800 SR.
    The best starting position for skew at your location is with the down lead at 7 O'clock, looking into the dish.
    Very slowly swing your dish through where you think C1 is, if no lock, try small changes up and down in elevation as you go back and forth.
    There is no Azimuth offset.
    Once you get a lock, tweak Elevation / Azimuth /Skew for Maximum Quality signal.
    See how you go and let us know.
    Kindest Regards, " The Druid "............

    Last edited by beer4life; 12-07-09 at 05:30 PM.

  • #3
    Senior Member tagg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In a Tin Can
    Posts
    2,205
    Thanks
    872
    Thanked 378 Times in 221 Posts
    Rep Power
    231
    Reputation
    1897

    Default

    locate the sat with a sat meter first ?? then sort your box out, you can pickup cheap sat meter for about $25.00 very handy for comfirming that you are looking at a sat.

    Tagg

  • #4
    Registered User

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Discovery Coast Qld
    Age
    54
    Posts
    1,127
    Thanks
    114
    Thanked 368 Times in 227 Posts
    Rep Power
    274
    Reputation
    6647

    Default

    agree best thing I bought
    I spent days pointing my dish at the universe got the meter and found C1 pretty quickly

  • #5
    Member nihonjin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    388
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 14 Times in 11 Posts
    Rep Power
    135
    Reputation
    102

    Default

    If you cant find any local supplier there are plenty of them on ebay.

  • Similar Threads

    1. 3 Permanent Lock
      By m3nac3 in forum Mobile Phones
      Replies: 14
      Last Post: 18-11-08, 12:50 PM
    2. Biometric/FingerPrint, Keypad Lock AND Key Lock
      By akk in forum Buy Sell and Trade
      Replies: 8
      Last Post: 17-07-08, 07:10 PM
    3. pc lock-ups, your geuss?
      By Philquad in forum PC Hardware
      Replies: 8
      Last Post: 11-03-08, 11:34 AM
    4. How to lock a folder?
      By dawar in forum PC Software
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 14-02-08, 12:48 PM
    5. Parental Lock
      By checkitout in forum Dreambox
      Replies: 12
      Last Post: 14-01-08, 09:06 AM

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •