Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Connecting DVR to ethernet port on laptop

  1. #1
    Member secure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    W.A
    Posts
    387
    Thanks
    100
    Thanked 56 Times in 51 Posts
    Rep Power
    128
    Reputation
    497

    Default Connecting DVR to ethernet port on laptop

    How do I setup a pacom dvr PDRH-16-RT to connect directly to my laptop via the ethernet port?

    I have rasplus installed ver 2.2.1
    I got a cat 5 crossover cable.

    Not sure how to get them to talk to each other and ip settings



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    intelliGEORGE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sydney, AUSTRALIA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    4,103
    Thanks
    884
    Thanked 1,481 Times in 689 Posts
    Rep Power
    386
    Reputation
    7176

    Default

    Do you know much about editing your TCP/IP settings on your laptop?

    If not I will explain later.

    Basically what you need to do is assign your DVR with an IP Address and a subnet mask. Generally;

    DVR IP: 192.168.1.100
    Subnet: 255.255.255.0

    Then you need to goto your network connection settings for your network card and enter an IP Address of the same subnet i.e.

    Laptop IP: 192.168.1.XXX (XXX being any number between 2 and 254, but excluding 100)
    Laptop subnet: 255.255.255.0

    Once you setup the IP for each device, leaving out the default gateway, you should be able to ping the DVR from the laptop command prompt.

    Start>Run>Cmd then type: ping 192.168.1.100

    If successful, then you have established a connection. Then install RASPlus on the lappy and point it to the DVR IP Address.

    Let me know if you need help changing the TCP/IP settings in windows.

  • #3
    Member secure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    W.A
    Posts
    387
    Thanks
    100
    Thanked 56 Times in 51 Posts
    Rep Power
    128
    Reputation
    497

    Default

    I have been able to connect to the dvr in the computer network connections but can not connect to it in ras plus. Comes up "no server running"
    I've tried disabling firewalls.

  • #4
    Member secure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    W.A
    Posts
    387
    Thanks
    100
    Thanked 56 Times in 51 Posts
    Rep Power
    128
    Reputation
    497

    Default

    Played around with settings and got it to work.

  • #5
    Senior Member
    intelliGEORGE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sydney, AUSTRALIA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    4,103
    Thanks
    884
    Thanked 1,481 Times in 689 Posts
    Rep Power
    386
    Reputation
    7176

    Default

    Sorry I didn't reply sooner mate, what was it?

  • #6
    Member secure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    W.A
    Posts
    387
    Thanks
    100
    Thanked 56 Times in 51 Posts
    Rep Power
    128
    Reputation
    497

    Default

    the ip address wasn't right. I had same address in DVR and laptop.

  • #7
    Senior Member
    intelliGEORGE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sydney, AUSTRALIA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    4,103
    Thanks
    884
    Thanked 1,481 Times in 689 Posts
    Rep Power
    386
    Reputation
    7176

    Default

    That'd cause problems. Good to see you got it going.

  • Similar Threads

    1. Ethernet port switch
      By Ratty in forum PC Hardware
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 07-11-09, 02:38 PM
    2. X-Net 10/100 Ethernet Switch 16 Port (SH-9016R)
      By bandwagon_rider in forum Buy Sell and Trade
      Replies: 9
      Last Post: 24-07-09, 11:38 PM
    3. foxtel IQ ethernet port?
      By alphredo in forum Cable Television
      Replies: 11
      Last Post: 11-01-09, 09:09 PM
    4. connecting my house to 4 port router
      By KB007 in forum Networking - Wireless and Cabled
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: 23-10-08, 12:11 PM
    5. Streaming via ethernet direct to laptop
      By jamesv in forum Dreambox
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: 13-08-08, 12:14 AM

    Members who have read this thread: 0

    There are no members to list at the moment.

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •