Thread: Security alarm slow down the internet!

Thanks

Default Security alarm slow down the internet!

hi everyone,

I am a newbie. I just moved to a new house which have a security alarm. The internet in there is so slow, and I usually lost the internet connection. I even cannot read newspapers sometimes.

I tried to call the internet provider which is Optus. They send a technical staff in and he said it is because it go through the alarm system. So it make my internet terrible slow.

Can anyone have ideas how to fix this problem? I tried to connect the internet line to the modem before it go through the alarm but it does not work. Can i do like that? Because I dont need and use the alarm anyway. (i did put the filter in)

Can anyone please help? I really need internet to study, and stuff!
    Last edited by alex_kt; 10-09-12 at 10:58 PM.

Look Here ->
    Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by alex_kt View Post
    I even cannot read newspapers sometimes
    Downloading too much "stuff" can cause you to go blind.

You need a "Central Splitter" on your phoneline which will ensure all telephony devices (including your alarm) do not interfere with your ADSL connection.

Although you might just be able to disconnect the alarm altogether which may or may not disconnect your other phones, depending how competent the person who installed it was.

• The Following User Says Thank You to downunderdan For This Useful Post:

alex_kt (12-09-12)

Thanks
    Thanked 1,484 Times in 691 Posts

It's sounds as though the ADSL is after the Mode 3. You'll need to get a licensed cabler out to reconfigure your cabling.

You'll need a

Refer to this diagram for wiring schematic.

• The Following User Says Thank You to intelliGEORGE For This Useful Post:

alex_kt (12-09-12)

Thanks

thank you guys! can you also pls tell how much it would cost for install the central filter?
    and do you know any person i can contact? im living in Mel.

Administrator
    Thanks