Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: formattung a 32G micro sd card

  1. #1
    Banned

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    tassie
    Posts
    449
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 264 Times in 119 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    5309

    Default formattng a 32G micro sd card

    The 32G micro sd cards I use in my dash cam, won't work any more for some reason. When I downloaded the vid's off them and delete the content, they say there is only 1.9G available. When I put them in the dash cam, it says the storage medium is full. So was wondering, would formating them make a difference, or should I remove just a few files at a time and not the lot. Played around with one and deleted everything and now it won't even register as being there, so decided to get some advise before doing anything else. Didn't happen with 8-16G SD, but 2 x 32G have done the same thing and don't want to wreck any more until I have an answer.



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Banned

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    2,361
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 1,181 Times in 605 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    16131

    Default

    Try

  • The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jwoegerbauer For This Useful Post:

    peter3535 (05-10-15),porkop (05-10-15),Tiny (04-10-15)

  • #3
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    48
    Posts
    3,477
    Thanks
    165
    Thanked 1,055 Times in 628 Posts
    Rep Power
    465
    Reputation
    11938

    Default

    if you can plug it into a card reader, or maybe camera or phone that shows on the pc
    go to my computer, right click in the device\card
    go format, pick fat 32
    quick format
    should wipe it
    probably got recycle bin or temp files on it, hogging the space

    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • #4
    Banned

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    tassie
    Posts
    449
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 264 Times in 119 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    5309

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Philquad View Post
    if you can plug it into a card reader, or maybe camera or phone that shows on the pc
    go to my computer, right click in the device\card
    go format, pick fat 32
    quick format
    should wipe it
    probably got recycle bin or temp files on it, hogging the space

    Don't use last century bloatware any more, use linux mint and haven't been using it long enough to fully understand how to do things properly. Really wanted to know if formatting it would help and from what you say, it may and will try it thanks.

  • #5
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3,391
    Thanks
    4,271
    Thanked 3,465 Times in 1,381 Posts
    Rep Power
    908
    Reputation
    34141

    Default

    I had a similar problem recently to the OP (although not 32GB or dash cam).

    I too thought that a quick format using FAT32 would be the answer, but after doing so, I still had a problem.

    I then investigated further and discovered the SD formatting utility referred to in jwoegerbauer's post #2.
    After using the utility, the card was recognised as having the correct capacity and functioned perfectly.

  • #6
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Central Tablelands of NSW
    Age
    74
    Posts
    12,105
    Thanks
    1,107
    Thanked 2,992 Times in 2,047 Posts
    Rep Power
    1330
    Reputation
    40706

    Default

    Does your Car Cam have the option of reformatting a card and did you try it?
    I stand unequivicably behind everything I say , I just dont ever remember saying it !!

  • #7
    Banned

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    tassie
    Posts
    449
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 264 Times in 119 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    5309

    Default

    tried the formatting in the cam, but it said it was already formatted and still only has 1.9g, which doesn't seem to work at all. Will go to a linux forum and ask there, thanks.

  • #8
    Super Moderator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    14,410
    Thanks
    4,016
    Thanked 8,571 Times in 4,300 Posts
    Rep Power
    2691
    Reputation
    105133

    Default

    Did you try the utility jwoe & tristen suggested?

  • The Following User Says Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    tristen (05-10-15)

  • #9
    Senior Member
    diavalo13666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2,953
    Thanks
    453
    Thanked 1,942 Times in 955 Posts
    Rep Power
    622
    Reputation
    20604

    Default

    i had a similar issue a while back and used the program posted above by jwoegerbauer
    and it fixed the problem
    Never take your partner or loved one for granted life is so short

  • #10
    Banned

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    tassie
    Posts
    449
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 264 Times in 119 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    5309

    Default

    sd formatter is a windows and mac app, doesn't work on linux. Have been able to access the card in mint, can only recover a fraction before it gets an error. Reformatted it to fat32, reinstalled and nothing. So will wait until I get hold of my linux mate who will probably fix it in a couple of minutes.

  • #11
    Banned

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    2,361
    Thanks
    166
    Thanked 1,181 Times in 605 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    16131

    Default

    On "Linux" you use gparted (command line version: parted) to format an SD-card.

  • #12
    Senior Member
    nomeat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Commonly found in a pantry or the bottom of a fridge, searching for grains, fermented or distilled
    Posts
    3,383
    Thanks
    804
    Thanked 1,381 Times in 845 Posts
    Rep Power
    646
    Reputation
    21118

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jwoegerbauer View Post
    On "Linux" you use gparted (command line version: parted) to format an SD-card.
    Gparted is not always installed by default on some distros, which I find sensible for those who haven't been using it long enough to fully understand how to do things properly, as you can easily wipe out your whole system with a few mouse clicks.

    so you might need to:

    sudo apt-get install gparted

    ...and make sure you are wiping the right partition (it will never start with sda or hda, stay away!)
    The card may also just be faulty or a dodgy clone and beyond repair, in that case it may show in gparted an incorrect size.
    Welcome to Australia where corruption is legalised.
    Protecting the rich and high real estate prices kills our economy.


  • #13
    Banned

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    tassie
    Posts
    449
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 264 Times in 119 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    5309

    Default

    Used gparted to reformat one of the cards after doing some terminal work, now have to work out what I did that allowed gparted to connect to it and format, have another to fix as well. Now when I put the card in, nothing in gparted, yet it can be found and it is 32G. Checked one I have that's ok and it's fat32 as they say that's what cams use, I formatted the one to ext4 for linux to see what happens and now it can't be accessed.

    Any way, thus exercise will get me more familiar with linux and will have to find the commands I used to get into the card. Typically when I got it to format, deleted the page the commands were on. Having use windows since the beginning for so long, have to say linux is so much easier to work with, especially if you want to get beyond the hood. No complicated code, all the commands are pretty much normal language. The terminal also tells you when you have it wrong and suggests steps to take to go forward, unlike windows.

    I do a lot of video and audio work and spent heaps over the years with corel, photoshop and premier elements and kept my win because was told linux had nothing of worth for media work, My linux mate told me to try Gimp and open shot, can't believe how far ahead of windows they are, using blender and inkspot, opens up so many doors including 3d and an endless supply of different formats, plus you can create your own.

    Thanks to everyone, using linux is an easy learning curve I'm beginning to really enjoy, wish I'd got into it a few years ago instead of struggling with the antiquated slow and bloated junk called windows. Only got rid of windows a week ago and that's when I learnt gparted. Another surprise was libreoffice, installed the mega package and it makes office look like infant school stuff and having a system that is fast to load, fast the use and constantly upgraded without having to download huge files, most updates are just a few megabits and bugs are extremely rare. Took a few years for my mate to get me to change but win8 and one experience with win10, along with being show what linux can do and that was it.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to spook For This Useful Post:

    Skepticist (05-10-15)

  • #14
    Premium Member
    Skepticist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    555
    Thanks
    131
    Thanked 197 Times in 157 Posts
    Rep Power
    181
    Reputation
    3320

    Default

    What had me scratching my head when first using GParted is the need to unmount the card or disc before you can start modifying/deleting/formatting etc. It's a very powerful tool and with absolute power comes the ability to corrupt absolutely so great care is advised

  • Members who have read this thread: 1

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •