Thread: Building a light detector

Thanks

Default Building a light detector

Hi all,
    I'm just starting out in trying to get my head around electronics and circuits
    and thought I'd start on a small project. Basically I want to build one of these

I cant make head or tail of the circuit diagram thats given and wanted advice
    on it. I was looking at a sensor like this one:

to catch the red laser beam that will shine thru and hit the the sensor. I see that you can set the sensitivity by using a potentiometer (is that right ?) in a few different examples I've seen on other similar projects. I want to keep the circuit as simple as possible (one step at a time right) so I can send a signal back to a computer each time the laser is detected hitting the sensor. So the laser beam hitting the sensor will be quite bright and direct so sensitivity can be set quite low in this case (I'm guessing).

Has anyone done anything similar to this or is planning to. Would love to hear any comments...
    Thanks,

Look Here ->
    Thanks
    Thanked 3,229 Times in 1,451 Posts

Ok... I can see what your up too.

In this case there appears to be a hole in the meter disk, so pulses of light are let through. Count the pulses and you're counting watt-hours.

So first question is, can you get access to the disk so you can shine a laser though it and does it have a hole etc ?

You can monitor power usage with inductive coupling. A simple current based circuit running a VCO of some sort will do a similar thing on the output.
    There's more than one way to skin a cat.

I'll check my own meter and see if it has any optical possibilities.

Thanks