Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: foxtel IQ ethernet port?

  1. #1
    Senior Member alphredo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Age
    37
    Posts
    999
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 26 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    -44

    Default foxtel IQ ethernet port?

    my old iq box was just replaced with a newer one with an external power supply, hdmi output and an ethernet port.... just wondering if anyone knows what the ethernet port is for?



Look Here ->
Free Giveaway !
  • #2
    Senior Member
    bambbbam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Republic of Westralia
    Posts
    1,973
    Thanks
    369
    Thanked 715 Times in 340 Posts
    Rep Power
    205
    Reputation
    3224

    Default

    I believe 'Reserved for Future Use'

  • #3
    Junior Member etcetc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Age
    54
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    83
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Can you indicate if the new model still has 2 RF outputs? ie is there a powered RF output for the remote to be used in the other room?
    "My glasses...without them, I'm helpless!"

  • #4
    Senior Member alphredo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Age
    37
    Posts
    999
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 26 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    -44

    Default

    scart, hdmi , red/white next too hdmi for sound, coaxial , optical , ethernet and usb port on the back.
    1 of each.
    external power supply and the box is about 3 quarters the size of the old one.

  • #5
    Junior Member etcetc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Age
    54
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    83
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alphredo View Post
    scart, hdmi , red/white next too hdmi for sound, coaxial , optical , ethernet and usb port on the back.
    1 of each.
    external power supply and the box is about 3 quarters the size of the old one.


    It seems to me that Foxtel will need to come up with a new multiroom solution [I'm not aware of a multiroom solution for the IQ2 HD - possibly the same solution for the new IQ1 and the HD IQ] and update their ad in the accessories section of their website : http://www.foxtel.com.au/accessories/4753.htm

    I wonder whether the staff at Foxtel's call centre know of the change???

    Until multiroom for these IQs is resolved, I certainly won't be considering any "upgrade".
    "My glasses...without them, I'm helpless!"

  • #6
    Premium Member agarol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    A state of constant denial
    Posts
    325
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 52 Times in 23 Posts
    Rep Power
    100
    Reputation
    331

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alphredo View Post
    my old iq box was just replaced with a newer one with an external power supply, hdmi output and an ethernet port.... just wondering if anyone knows what the ethernet port is for?
    Foxtel rep in a shopping centre was telling me that the ethernet port will be used in the near future for streaming and programming, but would say exactly what, but talked in similar terms to TIVO. Will apparently need broadband. He wouldn't say what plan, who pays for the data, etc.

    ag
    Energy is the father of creation

  • #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    143
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 36 Times in 17 Posts
    Rep Power
    91
    Reputation
    192

    Default

    There was news a couple of months ago of foxtel doing on-demand video services via iptv.

  • #8
    Senior Member BillyGoat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,982
    Thanks
    815
    Thanked 420 Times in 225 Posts
    Rep Power
    205
    Reputation
    2774

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agarol View Post
    Foxtel rep in a shopping centre was telling me that
    And you listen to those puppets.

  • #9
    Senior Member alphredo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Age
    37
    Posts
    999
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 26 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    -44

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agarol View Post
    Foxtel rep in a shopping centre was telling me that the ethernet port will be used in the near future for streaming and programming, but would say exactly what, but talked in similar terms to TIVO. Will apparently need broadband. He wouldn't say what plan, who pays for the data, etc.

    ag
    its allready connected through a cable outlet.

  • #10
    Premium Member agarol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    A state of constant denial
    Posts
    325
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 52 Times in 23 Posts
    Rep Power
    100
    Reputation
    331

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BillyGoat View Post
    And you listen to those puppets.
    Yeah, I listen. It's sport -they know so little. My wife runs the other way when I approach them because she knows how much fun I have with them

    ag
    Energy is the father of creation

  • #11
    Premium Member agarol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    A state of constant denial
    Posts
    325
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 52 Times in 23 Posts
    Rep Power
    100
    Reputation
    331

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by alphredo View Post
    its allready connected through a cable outlet.
    True
    Energy is the father of creation

  • #12
    Senior Member alphredo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Age
    37
    Posts
    999
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 26 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    -44

    Default

    yeh well, they are put there because they are salesmen, not techs.... alot of salesmen like too pretend they are techs though.

  • Members who have read this thread: 0

    There are no members to list at the moment.

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •