Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Earthing my LNB.....Help

Thanks

Default Earthing my LNB.....Help

Ok,

I have done a search and read much about the "have you earthed your LNB" type comments of advise given by many here. I live in China in a 10th floor apartment block where they use the 'dirty Neutral' and from what I can make out they connect the Neutral and the earth wires together at some point in the electrical system.....?

I'm not an electrician so know no more than this from a terchnical perspective.

I'm using a UPS in line between my AV kit and the wall socket.

However I do know that all my AV equipment is running with a voltage on their cases and the LNB cable also gives a low shock when it touches a soft part of the skin such as forearm etc.

I do not have a handy GPO socket to connect a cable to the LNB outer sheath to ground it, nor do i have any water pipes running anywhere nearby my TV and lounge, so what can i do to earth out this stray voltage?

I do have a cable TV socket next to the power socket but I do not know if it has a good earth or should even be considered as an earthing point?

I did notice that the aluminium window frame allowed the LNB cable to pass its current through me via the window frame, so could I use that as an earthing point for the LNB? Also would this then earth out the rest of my AV system or not?

I have been plauged with "LAN not working" issues on my DM500 Clone for many months and today i discovered that I could get it to work everytime if i unplugged the AV Phono cables form the DM500 and then rebooted the box. Sometimes did not even have to reboot the box, just unplugging the Phono cables did the trick as restarted the LAN lights.

Sorry for the long post and thanx for any advise that you can give to help me out with my issue.

Look Here ->
    Thanks

you must have a GPO to power the ups so

1: turn the power of to you power point from the fuse box outside.
    2: unscrew the gpo face plate