Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Redflex fixed speed / red light camera internals

I am NOT the Messiah!
    Thanks

Default Redflex fixed speed / red light camera internals

Disclaimer: The pictures provided are of a speed camera which I noticed had its rear cover open. I do not know why the cover was open be that due to human error, mechanical failure or interference with the camera. In the event the camera was interfered with it was not me and I have no knowledge whatsoever of how this came to be in this state. I have solely taken photographs of the unit while on public land but at no time touched or interfered with the unit it in any way whatsoever.

Here in Victoria other than mobile cameras there are a number of Redflex fixed speed and red light cameras. The basic operation of these cameras is in most cases strips in the road that allow the camera to detect speed and red light offenses. The detail of which is transmitted back to a central office and a ticket issued.

Details of the inner workings of these units is not public and to and extent protected to some extent to avoid court challenges.

I noticed the camera shown had its rear access cover open a few days ago. On the off chance it was still open I bought camera along the next time I was passing. To my surprise it was still open.

This raises a question re the validity of any tickets issued by this camera given it is exposed to the elements and unprotected from external interference.

The actual camera units are only viable as black boxes but the road strip terminations, processor units with dip switch settings, 1.6 GHz CPU, power box and ISDN modem are visible.

The photos are high resolution so you can zoom in on the detail of individual components

PS: The authorities will not have to be rocket scientists to work out which camera this is. I am surprised it did not phone home a distress call does this mean these cameras can be opened and tampered with without causing an alarm. If so that’s troubling.