Free Giveaway !
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: New YFAtlas4 setup info please.

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    152
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default New Chinese YFAtlas4 DealExtreme setup info please.



    G'day All,
    I was happily surprised to find so much information about these things here, with Aussie based people talking about them.
    I bought one of the boxes and it is my first experience with any GPS. On first impressions I am very happy with it.
    800 x 480 pixels. The Total Memory states 131072KB so I assume it is a 128MB model.
    As with all firmware based equipment I like to try and keep it up to date and tweaked for best usage.
    It comes with iGO 8 (8.3.2.80621 Mar 2009) and I have installed the Aussie maps onto it (Primo Australia Map Sensis R17 12 Aug 2010) from fixmygps.
    The device reports that it has:-
    ROM: PA06.1204.0608I7680CH
    SW Vers: V3.6.E60.12.22
    OEM Info: YFAtlas4
    Platform ID: 5955414E46454E47
    Device ID: 0000000000000000
    The GPS itself seems fairly slow to confirm the satellites (~2 mins).
    My questions to the knowledgeable people here are:
    What firmware would you recommend running?
    What iGO 8 version should I be running?
    Is there a better app for playing music and/or video than the installed?
    Are there some better apps I can install? (I know very open ended question.)
    Can some of the installed apps (like games) be removed? From the screen or removed all together?
    Is there anyway to move the icons around on the main screen and have them stay there?
    Edit: I forgot to ask: What is the best way to back this thing up before I start stuffing with it.
    Thanks for your help.
    spence
    Last edited by spence; 03-09-10 at 11:52 AM.



  • #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    5

    Default New Chinese YFAtlas4

    G'day Spence,
    Sounds identical to my recently acquired device but from HK. Have only had it over the week-end and that was a bit distracted due to a 24hr power loss.
    Anyway, so far the unit sounds same as with the same version of iGO8. So far I've been able to install Primo on a SDCard and get it running which suits me better, as my old eyes read the Primo default screen with ease.
    I should warn you that I'm a Mac user and my WIN experience is limited but to answer the question about back-up, I would think the flash memory could be copied over to a SDCard. Others may have better answers if you have a Windows computer, connecting via USB for example.
    Have fun and keep us posted.
    Rob

  • #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    152
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Thanks for the reply letrabob.
    I have since been able to reflash the device with PA06 800x480 firmware and updated the iGO8 to an 8.3.4 version.
    Battery only lasts about 5 minutes once disconnected from power.
    Still playing.
    Trying to find a better media player.
    Cheers,
    spence

  • #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Default I have one aswell

    I am running miopocket 4 with Igo8, sygic, polnav, destinator 9, OziExplorer 1.31&1.33a city maps. It seems to work fine with the nav software, although Miopocket 4 can be tempramental..

  • #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Age
    34
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by spence View Post
    Thanks for the reply letrabob.
    I have since been able to reflash the device with PA06 800x480 firmware and updated the iGO8 to an 8.3.4 version.
    Battery only lasts about 5 minutes once disconnected from power.
    Still playing.
    Trying to find a better media player.
    Cheers,
    spence
    I have the same unit. What firmware version did you use (link if possible)?

    I backed up both the residentflash and residentflash2 without any drama. Have yet to get gmxt going yet but tt seems to work ok. Unit is slow, but I am putting this down to the screen resolution. Battery life is disappointing. I only manage about an hour. Otherwise satisfied for the price.

    cheers.

  • #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    152
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wack View Post
    I have the same unit. What firmware version did you use (link if possible)?
    .....
    cheers.
    From NoService's thread. The first post


  • Members who have read this thread: 0

    There are no members to list at the moment.

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •