Free Giveaway !
Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Alarm system - No power

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default Alarm system - No power

    Greetings

    I have a Networx NX 16 alarm installed at home. The problem is there is no power getting to the sensors or the alarm pad. If the back up battery is flat, would you expect there to be no power in the system whatsoever? Or would I assume there may be a problem with the 24 v transformer plugged into the wall socket.

    Cheers

    Phil



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    watchdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2,445
    Thanks
    100
    Thanked 631 Times in 383 Posts
    Rep Power
    248
    Reputation
    4149

    Cool

    Probably the backup battery is 150 years old & the plugpack has given up trying to charge it
    Licensed security installer & Trainer
    if I've been helpful - add to my reputation

    you were born with two ears & one mouth
    so listen twice as much as you talk

  • #3
    Senior Member bss904's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    NOT in Thailand
    Posts
    943
    Thanks
    407
    Thanked 170 Times in 105 Posts
    Rep Power
    140
    Reputation
    1212

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by watchdog View Post
    Probably the backup battery is 150 years old & the plugpack has given up trying to charge it
    or the plugpack has fallen or been removed out of the gpo and the backup battery has now expired.

  • #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    The battery is about five years old and the power plug was plugged in. Do you guys know if the bettery is flat, it would result in loss of power? I would have thought the back up battery is only used when there was a 240v power outage.

  • #5
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,834
    Thanks
    189
    Thanked 730 Times in 442 Posts
    Rep Power
    210
    Reputation
    4661

    Default

    If the battery is clapped out, and these days it usually is at 5 years, then yes it can actually cause damage to other components of the system by creating excessive load. The other scenario is that there's been a power surge/spike and it's popped the plug pack. Either way, you'll need to replace both the plug pack and battery at this point.

  • #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    -14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by woodp View Post
    The battery is about five years old and the power plug was plugged in. Do you guys know if the bettery is flat, it would result in loss of power? I would have thought the back up battery is only used when there was a 240v power outage.
    unfortunately, 5 years is a very optimistic life span for SLA batteries,
    even if it only ever had a constant float charge over the lifespan and never
    had to actually do work. They sulphate up internally and loose capacity.

    You should try disconnecting the battery, and see if your alarm panel powers up.
    If your plugpack is working, the panel should work. I know my sol16 panel, with battery disconnected will still operate normally - bar the battery alarm.

  • #7
    Senior Member
    watchdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2,445
    Thanks
    100
    Thanked 631 Times in 383 Posts
    Rep Power
    248
    Reputation
    4149

    Cool

    There are some panels that will not power up at all if there is not a serviceable battery connected
    Licensed security installer & Trainer
    if I've been helpful - add to my reputation

    you were born with two ears & one mouth
    so listen twice as much as you talk

  • #8
    Senior Member
    watchdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2,445
    Thanks
    100
    Thanked 631 Times in 383 Posts
    Rep Power
    248
    Reputation
    4149

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by xaccto View Post
    I know my sol16 panel, with battery disconnected will still operate normally - bar the battery alarm.
    It won't you know !!
    Licensed security installer & Trainer
    if I've been helpful - add to my reputation

    you were born with two ears & one mouth
    so listen twice as much as you talk

  • #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    267
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 39 Times in 38 Posts
    Rep Power
    63
    Reputation
    229

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by woodp View Post
    there may be a problem with the 24 v transformer plugged into the wall socket.
    Are you sure the transformer is 24V? The specified input voltage for an NX alarm panel is 16V AC. This may be causing all your problems. Also, the NX panels are fussy about which order they are powered up (battery first or AC first).

    Quote Originally Posted by xaccto View Post
    I know my sol16 panel, with battery disconnected will still operate normally - bar the battery alarm.
    A little-known fact is that the alarm backup battery does all the work - the AC transformer is only there to provide charge to the battery (via the on-board circuitry). Even if you were to never use your alarm for say 5 years, it will still eventually come up with a battery "FAULT" as the battery is tested by all Solution panels under load every 4 hours, and on arming.

    Try placing a decent load on a Solution panel (say 2 horn speakers and 2 screamers sounding) without the battery connected, and see what happens.

  • #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    196
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 11 Times in 7 Posts
    Rep Power
    92
    Reputation
    70

    Default

    you may have a short on one of your power out circuits ie codepad, detectors, check it with your test meter.

  • #11
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    254
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
    Rep Power
    89
    Reputation
    49

    Default

    My process would be to first disconnect the battery. Is the problem still there?

    If yes, take out all of the power from the detector aux terminals in the panel. Problem still there?

    Take out the sirens and strobe cables. Problem still there?

    How many codepads have you? If more than one. Disconnect and leave only one connected. Problem still there?
    Disconnect that codepad and reconnect the other one. Problem still there?

    With all devices disconnected is there power coming out of the aux terminals?

    Just try basic fault finding. Take one set of things out at a time and when the system becomes operational again start adding things one at a time until the fault returns.

    Does the system have expanders? All it takes on a NX/Reliance system is a fault on one of the devices, codepad, expanders etc, and it shuts everything else down. I've had a few codepads die on me and cause this problem.

    Cheers.

  • #12
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    343
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 81 Times in 66 Posts
    Rep Power
    79
    Reputation
    563

    Default

    PS - invest in a multimeter, $9.95 from jaycar, can make a big help in circumstances like this.

  • #13
    Financial Member Hound-Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Age
    61
    Posts
    244
    Thanks
    71
    Thanked 90 Times in 56 Posts
    Rep Power
    84
    Reputation
    619

    Default Recent Fault Finding

    Hi Guys,

    fault finding 101!

    I used a multimeter on the Volts range to check across each fuse in the system. One fuse showed 4.6V across it. The 2A fuse was intact, but the current flow was in excess of 4A. Pulled the fuse, and the system came back to life! A low resistance short had occurred in one of the peripherals!

    Second example. Brand new alarm panel. Tested ok, but 2 days later, sirens running, but no keypad, or strobe. Powered down and back up. All appeared normal, until the alarm was triggered again. External sirens running but no keypad power. No Piezo running, so disconnected it from panel. Panel came back to life, and keypad worked normally. Faulty Piezo after only 2 days!
    I am UNIQUE.....Just like Everyone else!
    Licensed & Qualified Security Trainer

  • #14
    Senior Member
    watchdog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2,445
    Thanks
    100
    Thanked 631 Times in 383 Posts
    Rep Power
    248
    Reputation
    4149

    Cool

    Makes you wonder why they bother putting fuses in the NX at all
    Licensed security installer & Trainer
    if I've been helpful - add to my reputation

    you were born with two ears & one mouth
    so listen twice as much as you talk

  • #15
    Financial Member Hound-Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Age
    61
    Posts
    244
    Thanks
    71
    Thanked 90 Times in 56 Posts
    Rep Power
    84
    Reputation
    619

    Default Who said it was an NX?

    Quote Originally Posted by watchdog View Post
    Makes you wonder why they bother putting fuses in the NX at all
    It was a Challenger V8 Door Controller. One of the locks had gone short.
    I am UNIQUE.....Just like Everyone else!
    Licensed & Qualified Security Trainer

  • #16
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,834
    Thanks
    189
    Thanked 730 Times in 442 Posts
    Rep Power
    210
    Reputation
    4661

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by watchdog View Post
    Makes you wonder why they bother putting fuses in the NX at all
    The only fuse on NX/Reliance panels is for the backup battery.

  • #17
    Member Keystone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    QLD.
    Posts
    279
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    88
    Reputation
    91

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by watchdog View Post
    There are some panels that will not power up at all if there is not a serviceable battery connected
    The Nx 16 is the opposite, it wont power up with battery alone.

  • #18
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,834
    Thanks
    189
    Thanked 730 Times in 442 Posts
    Rep Power
    210
    Reputation
    4661

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Keystone View Post
    The Nx 16 is the opposite, it wont power up with battery alone.
    It doesn't if you simply plug the battery in, but it can be 'jump started'

  • #19
    Member Keystone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    QLD.
    Posts
    279
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 16 Times in 9 Posts
    Rep Power
    88
    Reputation
    91

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Drift View Post
    It doesn't if you simply plug the battery in, but it can be 'jump started'
    Yeah saw that on another thread. Didn't know that, good to know.

  • Members who have read this thread: 0

    There are no members to list at the moment.

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •