Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Measat 3B Ku Aus Beam query

  1. #1
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    1,433
    Thanks
    934
    Thanked 1,659 Times in 723 Posts
    Rep Power
    787
    Reputation
    32267

    Default Measat 3B Ku Aus Beam query

    Anyone know if there is currently any signal on the 3B Australian Ku beam?

    The Satellite Users Handbook for this bird refers to test signals of 12201.5H and 12202V for alignment purposes, but no indication as to whether this signal is on all four Ku beams.

    Would be handy if somebody could confirm one way or the other.....save me setting up a tripod/dish possibly looking for nothing (wouldn't be the first time )



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 33 Times in 14 Posts
    Rep Power
    75
    Reputation
    670

    Default

    Last week I did a scan with crazyscan and there is a huge ku spike around measat 3 , cannot recall the freq.. My tbs card wont do above 8psk so no way to tell what it is, beacon or whatever. Not much help sorry. apsattv might know if he's around.

    EDIT
    did a rescan 12319 v is by far the strongest signal then 12474 v and a small spike on 12201 v. No s/r with my limited demodulator sorry. It's Definitely peaks at 91.5%.
    Last edited by pithicus62; 14-02-16 at 12:29 PM.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to pithicus62 For This Useful Post:

    Thala Dan (14-02-16)

  • #3
    Senior Member
    Guiseppe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,431
    Thanks
    930
    Thanked 353 Times in 232 Posts
    Rep Power
    288
    Reputation
    6024

    Default

    According to all channels are encrypted. EDIT: No footprints are available on this site.
    Last edited by Guiseppe; 14-02-16 at 11:22 AM.
    If Australia is a democracy why, then, is voting compulsory?

    "What has changed between the arrival of the First Fleet and today?"
    "Wearing leg irons is now not required."

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Guiseppe For This Useful Post:

    Thala Dan (14-02-16)

  • #4
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    1,230
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 896 Times in 445 Posts
    Rep Power
    415
    Reputation
    12981

    Default

    Most likely bet is the INDO beam into Northern Australia there is also an Aussie beam one of them
    Don't know if its in use though.

    Beacons are usually low powr but a global type beam


  • The Following User Says Thank You to apsattv For This Useful Post:

    Thala Dan (14-02-16)

  • #5
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    1,433
    Thanks
    934
    Thanked 1,659 Times in 723 Posts
    Rep Power
    787
    Reputation
    32267

    Default

    Thanks for the replies.

    apsattv....yep, got that footprint document, which is what piqued my interest.

    Reason for the interest...I would like to check out some of the C-band stuff on 3/3A.....my current C-band dish is looking directly at a bloody big gum tree where 3/3A should be...a few metres further north in the backyard and I think I've got a good shot at it, but I don't want to have to set up a C-band dish just to find out....so I thought I'd have a look with a tripod and 90cm ku dish for anything on the 3B Aus Ku beam......if I get something there then that pretty much confirms that I should be able to "see" 3/3A at that location....then worth the effort to set up for C-band.

    pithicus62....sounds interesting.....I'll set up and have a look for those freqs.....the 12201 fits in roughly with the beacon freqs in the User Manual.

    If anyone's interested, the User Manual is here:



    reference to the Ku beacons is on pp 7-8.

    No SR given.....never looked for a signal without a SR before.....can anyone advise what I should put into this parameter in the sat meter?

  • #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 33 Times in 14 Posts
    Rep Power
    75
    Reputation
    670

    Default

    91.5 cband gives a pretty good signal for me @ western vic. The gum tree might not be a problem. Recently I locked and watched 4196 h 4000 on intelsat20 @68.5% from a 2.3m mesh dish ground mounted. Very clear western view though.

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pithicus62 For This Useful Post:

    Mattsat (24-02-16),Thala Dan (14-02-16)

  • #7
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    1,433
    Thanks
    934
    Thanked 1,659 Times in 723 Posts
    Rep Power
    787
    Reputation
    32267

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pithicus62 View Post
    91.5 cband gives a pretty good signal for me @ western vic. The gum tree might not be a problem. Recently I locked and watched 4196 h 4000 on intelsat20 @68.5% from a 2.3m mesh dish ground mounted. Very clear western view though.
    Thanks for that.......I'm in NE Vic, and I'm not really expecting any problems at 91.5 once I get a clear shot at it, but unfortunately my current western view looks like this:





    Measat 3 is somewhere in that area where the Gum Tree meets the top of the Silky Oak.

    I've run the dish back and forth thru the area and got zip on a number of transponders.

    If that damn Silky Oak gets too much bigger I'm going to start having problems with AS5. It's on the neighbours side of the fence, otherwise it would have a date with a chainsaw.

    To the right of the Silky Oak I can just about see the top of QV1 in Perth

    Anyhow, I'll give it a go on 3B/Ku...still would appreciate advice from anyone on what to do regards looking for a signal with no SR.

  • #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 33 Times in 14 Posts
    Rep Power
    75
    Reputation
    670

    Default

    Neighbors tree, thats a bummer. You have a big advantage being in perth though for lots of sats. Re the s/r all I can suggest is.. looking at various data transponders that use 16apsk or above , many use around 10000 s/r. [Assuming the big spike I see is a data transponder using 16-32apsk or acm, turbo apsk ect . ] I am really intrigued what this spike is. I am waiting for the price of cards with better demod chips to fall . they are very expensive atm.

    oh I see you are in ne vic, sorry the perth thing threw me.
    Last edited by pithicus62; 14-02-16 at 05:10 PM.

  • #9
    Junior Member Mattsat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    South East Australia
    Posts
    119
    Thanks
    50
    Thanked 13 Times in 10 Posts
    Rep Power
    82
    Reputation
    230

    Default

    I tried to get Measat 3 a few times with no success. There is a big tree down the road in that position plus my house is sitting on the bottom side of a ridge to the west. I was trying to get a V signal which are always harder. Also, can't get Thaicom which is even lower.
    2.3 M Phoenix C-Band dish, Star C-Band LNBF, 24" Actuator, Phoenix V-box, Strong 4930L decoder & ex-foxtel KU-Band dish, Sharp twin LNBF

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Mattsat For This Useful Post:

    Thala Dan (24-02-16)

  • #10
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    1,433
    Thanks
    934
    Thanked 1,659 Times in 723 Posts
    Rep Power
    787
    Reputation
    32267

    Default

    Matt,

    Lugged a 1.8m Andrews solid out into the clear and spent hours manually scanning the perfectly clear spot where I know Measat should be.....not a whimper on any of about six TPs!
    Clinometer indicated that the bird was well up in the sky relative to surrounds.

    Looked for Asiasat 5 with it, and found it OK, but signal not as good as I get with my 2.3m mesh....bit of a surprise, I thought solids ran rings around mesh.

    Looking at the Satbeams footprints, it appears that our neck of the woods is right on the limit of Measats coverage....perhaps a dish too far

    If I can ever get my hands on a 2nd-hand 2.3 (our little town is full of them....large Italian population) I'll try again.

    Regards your other thread re:LNB....I've been using a Satking dual-out on the 2.3 for around 2 years now....have always had good signals right across the arc.
    Pretty cheap, and seem to work OK.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Thala Dan For This Useful Post:

    Mattsat (24-02-16)

  • #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Rep Power
    60
    Reputation
    130

    Default

    i lived in Lalor 3075, got measat cband very well, showing 77% signal UNTV channel from strong receiver,
    i used Orbitron dish 3.7meter.
    will try measat KU with lnb ku band prime focus this week.

  • #12
    Senior Member CONAXLE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    771
    Thanks
    84
    Thanked 224 Times in 124 Posts
    Rep Power
    231
    Reputation
    2899

    Default

    I can pick up DZRH Radio TV on my 3 Metre dish, Ku might be a bit of struggle as I had a 90 cm a while back pointing at NSS 6 when all those Porn channels were pointing their signals back then..

  • #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Rep Power
    60
    Reputation
    130

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CONAXLE View Post
    I can pick up DZRH Radio TV on my 3 Metre dish, Ku might be a bit of struggle as I had a 90 cm a while back pointing at NSS 6 when all those Porn channels were pointing their signals back then..
    Have you tried measat ku before with 3mtr dish ?

  • #14
    Junior Member Daengsat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Sydney,Australia
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default Measat KU

    Look like 85Cm more than enough

    Regards,

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •