Thread: Absolute newbie

Thanks

Default Absolute newbie

Hi to all members, we have recently purchased a new 22'6 full size caravan (which the wife wanted for our future grey nomad travels).
    We have started to do some free camping and we now find we are in need of a satellite free to air system or foxtel system.
    As usuall there are so many companies out there selling these products I am not sure where to begin.
    We live in SA so maybe we should start looking locally.
    I would be most interest in what systems other members are using and can advise us.
    Thanks in advance.
    Stu

Look Here ->
    Crazy Diamond
    Thanks
    Thanked 5,437 Times in 2,652 Posts

Ok, to simplify VAST is Viewer Access Satellite Television.

You can qualify for the commercial stations ,7-9-10 etc, by being a genuine traveller & filling in an application- Traveller's Temporary Certificate @ & renewing every 6 months. This link also provides info about the VAST system.

Then purchase equipment, VAST certified decoder, UEC 4121 or 4639, Satking or Humax. Or a VAST Certified Cam & Card to go in a DVB-S2 satellite decoder.
    You will need to do some reading on what you want out of the decoder, just watch TV or record TV (1 or 2 tuners for multiple recording/watching) etc.
    All you need to know is in this part of the forum for VAST.

You will also need a dish recommend ~80cm in size with a suitable 10700 K-Band LNBf.

Plus cabling.

Hope that helps & now gives you some more questions.
    Last edited by Tiny; 05-05-16 at 02:30 PM.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

• The Following User Says Thank You to Tiny For This Useful Post:

mtv (05-05-16)

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 15,074 Times in 6,765 Posts

In relation to the dish, there are several options.