Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: mobile broadband

  1. #1
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    169
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 25 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    141
    Reputation
    174

    Default mobile broadband

    Hi I have a telstra netgear air card 810s , can I put other sims in it or is it locked to telstra . thanks



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Central Tablelands of NSW
    Age
    76
    Posts
    13,822
    Thanks
    1,242
    Thanked 3,801 Times in 2,522 Posts
    Rep Power
    1730
    Reputation
    56886

    Default

    My guess it will be and not only that, it may only accept a specific Telstra card like the Sierra Air card 320u I used for their Mobile Broadband.

    The SIM card is Blue in colour and it will not work in any other Telstra devise, nor will any other Telstra card work in it.
    You will have to ring Telstra 'Big Pond' to find out. Try 137663
    I stand unequivicably behind everything I say , I just dont ever remember saying it !!

  • The Following User Says Thank You to gordon_s1942 For This Useful Post:

    xapi (09-03-17)

  • #3
    Senior Member joezep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    SE Melbourne
    Posts
    837
    Thanks
    428
    Thanked 226 Times in 158 Posts
    Rep Power
    207
    Reputation
    2368

    Default

    It looks like you can unlock them but can it be used with other ISP, I don't know. Here are the instructions but Telstra might charge for the unlock pin.


  • #4
    Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    169
    Thanks
    45
    Thanked 25 Times in 13 Posts
    Rep Power
    141
    Reputation
    174

    Default

    Thanks for replies guys , I wanted to give to a friend , I think he is with optus so probably no go for now

  • #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    New England, NSW
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 11 Posts
    Rep Power
    102
    Reputation
    220

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gordon_s1942 View Post
    nor will any other Telstra card work in it.
    Bit late in time, any Telstra SIM Card from AldiMobile, Boost or Belong mobile will work

  • #6
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Central Tablelands of NSW
    Age
    76
    Posts
    13,822
    Thanks
    1,242
    Thanked 3,801 Times in 2,522 Posts
    Rep Power
    1730
    Reputation
    56886

    Default

    You have taken that quote out of context as the Sierra Air Card 4G device I was referring to when I made that comment also it not work on the 'new' 700 Mhz ? Band nor will any other SIM card function in it.
    Apart from trying other Telstra SIM cards in it (which didnt work) I rang Telstra and they confirmed it would only function on that specific card.

    The 4G card from the Sierra Air card would NOT work in either an Elite Telstra Modem nor a Mobile phone.
    Last edited by gordon_s1942; 19-01-18 at 03:00 PM.
    I stand unequivicably behind everything I say , I just dont ever remember saying it !!

  • #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    New England, NSW
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 18 Times in 11 Posts
    Rep Power
    102
    Reputation
    220

    Default

    Well Telstra gave you bum advice. Any current SIM card will work in the Sierra Air Card or any other Telstra device. Telstra haven't had locked to device SIM cards for longer than I can remember. The CMotech modems were the last locked to SIM Telstra devices. Thinking back must be 10+ years past.

  • #8
    Senior Member
    oceanboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    15,410
    Thanks
    6,788
    Thanked 7,907 Times in 4,145 Posts
    Rep Power
    3310
    Reputation
    133212

    Default

    Not sure if this helps, but every Telstra branded Android phone i've had works perfectly with an Optus SIM in it.
    I do remember the Telstra Netgear stuff being firmware stuck to the Telstra Network (which i would think covered Boost, Aldi, Woolworths)
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #9
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Central Tablelands of NSW
    Age
    76
    Posts
    13,822
    Thanks
    1,242
    Thanked 3,801 Times in 2,522 Posts
    Rep Power
    1730
    Reputation
    56886

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lineland View Post
    Well Telstra gave you bum advice. Any current SIM card will work in the Sierra Air Card or any other Telstra device. Telstra haven't had locked to device SIM cards for longer than I can remember. The CMotech modems were the last locked to SIM Telstra devices. Thinking back must be 10+ years past.
    It is possible for a card to be devise specific like the SMART card used by Foxtel.

    Now as for Telstra giving me 'Bum advise' I had already tried another Telstra SIM card (with credit) in the Sierra Air card modem (BEFORE ringing them ) and it would NOT, NOT work.
    I tried the SIM from the Air car in the Telstra elite modem and it would NOT, NOT work in it either.
    Now I know the Elite Modem will work on another Telstra SIM card because I took the one out of our Mobile and went On Line.
    Optus isnt a strong signal here without an external antenna so I dont have easy access to one.

    I think I purchased the Siera Air Card 4G modem at least 4 or more years ago.
    Last edited by gordon_s1942; 31-01-18 at 11:33 AM.
    I stand unequivicably behind everything I say , I just dont ever remember saying it !!

  • #10
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    2,675
    Thanks
    1,227
    Thanked 1,773 Times in 842 Posts
    Rep Power
    732
    Reputation
    25528

    Default

    Aldi Data only plans

  • #11
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Central Tablelands of NSW
    Age
    76
    Posts
    13,822
    Thanks
    1,242
    Thanked 3,801 Times in 2,522 Posts
    Rep Power
    1730
    Reputation
    56886

    Default

    I am into my 5th Month using the $15 Aldi SIM and now because of the changes made, I am now able to continuously 'Roll Over' any Data left at the end of the Billing Month.
    I have run out of data once and all it does is stop you downloading things the Emails, BOM and Facebook but you can still make and receive calls.
    There are other similar SIM plans (cheaper too) now on the Market but most of the SIM's can only be bought Online and due to my location, Telstra covers my area where the others are unreliable.

    Also I have it set on 'Auto Recharge' so I dont have to worry about forgetting when the 'end of the Month' is.
    Last edited by gordon_s1942; 27-10-18 at 01:19 PM.
    I stand unequivicably behind everything I say , I just dont ever remember saying it !!

  • The Following User Says Thank You to gordon_s1942 For This Useful Post:

    pheggie (28-10-18)

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •