Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: serious flash accident - MTP3000 series

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    30

    Default serious flash accident - MTP3000 series

    Hi to you all!

    I had a serious flash accident on friday and I'm asking everyone here for help. I tried to update a Motorola MTP3150 (H63PCH6TZ3AN) from Version 14.2.1.a (Clear) to 16a (CLEAR).
    I used the RS232 cable an the TETRA CPS plus 7.2. After the upgrade process started and ran for about 2 or 3minutes, I saw a red display on the device with a crossed USB sign. After a while the CPS interrupted with an error.
    The bootloader of the radio was still working but showed Version 9.?? instead of Version 7.??. I tried to recover the radio back to 14.2.1.a. This didn't work either. The red display showing the crossed USB sign appeared again.
    Not knowing what this would cause, I selected "Erase memory" from the tools menue. After this, the radio switched off and I was not able to wake it up again, even with the key 1 and 9 pressed while switching it on.
    Nothing happens :-( I read a lot in the forums but nobody ever seems to have touched the MTP3000 series very deep or had such a bad luck dating a device up.

    The only thing I found is three youtube videos from a smart guy, who saved his MTM5400 with a factory_upstart_kernel file brought into the radios DSP with the LAB CPS and a Serial cable.

    Here are the links to the videos:







    In the third video, he solves the problem.

    Is this an idea? Does anybody have these special files for reinitializing the Bootloader?

    Who has an idea and can help?

    Regards and 73!

    Tom



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    EMEA
    Posts
    943
    Thanks
    263
    Thanked 1,266 Times in 495 Posts
    Rep Power
    585
    Reputation
    22070

    Default

    Hi,

    Where are you located ?
    "To live is the rarest thing in the world.
    Most people exist, that is all."

  • #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    30

    Default

    Germany

  • #4
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 161 Times in 24 Posts
    Rep Power
    137
    Reputation
    3593

    Default

    I am from Poland, can repair Your radio mate. Yours

  • #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    30

    Default

    I am looking for tech support. I would like to do the necessary steps here in my lab. Can you help me?

  • #6
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 161 Times in 24 Posts
    Rep Power
    137
    Reputation
    3593

    Default

    Sure, for reflashing You need RS232 cable with flash switch (PMKN4122). And factory kernel file, for run radio in bootstrap mode.

  • #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    30

    Default

    That interesting, so there is another cable I need. Where can I get this cable? Do you have the PIN configuration that I can make one? I didnt find it online.

  • #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    30

    Default

    Hi baskom,

    thanks for your Message. Could you please send me the bootloader file? I will try to get the flash cable. (Or does it work with the USB)?

    Best regards

    Tom

  • The Following User Says Thank You to radiomac For This Useful Post:

    Filipe Passos (21-04-17)

  • #9
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 161 Times in 24 Posts
    Rep Power
    137
    Reputation
    3593

    Default

    I do not have pinout flash cable. I use orginal hardware from motorola factory. You can use USB cable, only when radio have load bootloader via port RS232. Now your desktop detect Your radio like "unknow device" from USB port. Ps kernel is not public.

    PMKN4122A:



    Can You buy here:

  • #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Dear All,

    I have also the same problem with MTM5400.
    The radio is completely Brocken after firmware update.

    I'm looking for information and also for factory_upstart_kernel.

    Can you help me ?

    PS: It is for personnal use.

  • #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Hi,
    did you solve the problem with the missing bootloader? I have a similar problem with a MTP3100 and looking for a repair solution.
    Thank's
    Peter

  • #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    50

    Default

    Hi,

    Have also MTM5400 and it's bricked. I Don't have solution for the moment. The problem was that's not possible to flash the device only with the rear programmation cable because the main unit not match with the front panel. It's necessary to have the front programmation cable.

    Rear: Only main unit
    Front: Main and front unit

    But Don't have information or kernel to debug now.

    Regards

  • #13
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    EMEA
    Posts
    943
    Thanks
    263
    Thanked 1,266 Times in 495 Posts
    Rep Power
    585
    Reputation
    22070

    Default

    "The problem was that's not possible to flash the device only with the rear programmation cable because the main unit not match with the front panel."

    Well you still can reflash brick to match the CH firmware version using rear cable !
    "To live is the rarest thing in the world.
    Most people exist, that is all."

  • #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    50

    Default

    Dear All

    I have continued to work on my 2 MTM5200 and one is ok now.
    The second is more complicated because the main unit is not detected, only the head.
    Probably also the bootloader.
    The main unit seems to loop at startup.
    What can I do ?
    Thanks

  • #15
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    109
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 161 Times in 24 Posts
    Rep Power
    137
    Reputation
    3593

    Default

    I have same problem with my MTM5400. Uart Death, communication lost RADIO <=> CH. I flash bricked radio via rear accesorry connector , not help. For flashing need connected two cables USB to CH and RS232 flash cable to rear connector. BTW Sorry factory_upstart_kernel is not public.

  • #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    50

    Default

    I have two that works, maybe it is possible to extract the file.
    Any help is welcome.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to stephkax For This Useful Post:

    sdr2468 (17-04-19)

  • #17
    Junior Member sdr2468's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    china
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    98
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Rep Power
    34
    Reputation
    90

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stephkax View Post
    I have two that works, maybe it is possible to extract the file.
    Any help is welcome.
    Stephkax Hello! My MTP3000 series! Can you share the boot file?

  • #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    50

    Default

    Hi,
    Sorry but I don't have.
    I have 3 MTM 5xxx
    2 are ok and 1 is bricked (probably boot). My question is : Is it possible to extract the boot file Is it possible to extract the startup file from the one that works ?

    Thanks

  • The Following User Says Thank You to stephkax For This Useful Post:

    sdr2468 (17-04-19)

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •