Thread: DVBS2 Severe Pixelation Intermittent Issue, Signal levels good, clear line of sight

Thanks

Default DVBS2 Severe Pixelation Intermittent Issue, Signal levels good, clear line of sight

Hi Members,

I'm new to this forum. I have been installing residential satellite systems for more than 3 years and have done a small amount of MATV and commercial installation. I have an issue that totally eludes me and would welcome any suggestions!

It's at a commercial premises, 80cm hills dish (from memory, it's been a while since I've inspected), it had a new sharp twin LNB a while ago, has some inline coax powered amps (which I've only seen a photo of so far, I'm guessing there is no power at their location), this runs into a comms/equipment room where there are 2 splitters and 2 separate 8way multi-switches to give 16 outlets (long story why it's not just a 16 way). This runs into 1 sky box, 5 Mystar2 (HD) boxes and 1 Fox IQ2 (HD) box. The Fox and MyStar are tuned to HD channels and going into HD modulators via HDMI.

Signal levels are good. In fact I have attenuated before the splitters 6db to ensure I'm not over-driving the tuners. Signals on the DVB-S2 transponders are around 75-76 DCP, 16MER and post BER better that 10E7. The dish is secure and there is absolutely clear line of sight. The dish is around 30-40m from the comms room where the multi-switches and set-tops are located.