View Poll Results: Your current O/S

Voters
66. You may not vote on this poll
  • Sticking with XP for now

    30 45.45%
  • Vista Home

    1 1.52%
  • Vista Home Premium

    4 6.06%
  • Vista Business

    2 3.03%
  • Vista Ultimate

    17 25.76%
  • Some kind of Linux

    1 1.52%
  • Dual Booting as I love being a total geek

    6 9.09%
  • I would use Vista but machine is under spec

    0 0%
  • Vista is not for me

    5 7.58%
  • I want to go back to dos! (dont care for polls)

    0 0%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 37

Thread: Vista Poll?

  1. #1
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Location, Location
    Posts
    4,056
    Thanks
    1,170
    Thanked 930 Times in 532 Posts
    Rep Power
    351
    Reputation
    4290

    Default Vista Poll?

    Just had a play on vista (yeah I know its old) and I liked very much what I saw. bought a laptop thinking of using vista for a while to evaluate it...

    interested on whos using it now and what flavour of it

    feel free to comment on pros/cons benefits you have seen, you machine specs, or dual booters whats your feeling on it
    If you feed ducks at a pond, chances are your bound to feed a goose or two without even knowing it.



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,938
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked 362 Times in 171 Posts
    Rep Power
    853
    Reputation
    27887

    Default

    have had 4 brand spanking new laptops come into my house over the last yr and total time vista lasted on any of them was about 5 minutes.

    i cant stand it and even on a 2 gig dual core with 2 gig of ram and 250gig 5400 hdd it sucked

  • #3
    Premium Member Twoshots's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    In the Wood
    Posts
    1,129
    Thanks
    444
    Thanked 107 Times in 60 Posts
    Rep Power
    179
    Reputation
    533

    Default

    Running Vista Ultimate on desktop.
    Dual core 3.00gig, 3 gig ram, 500gig hdd, Gforce 8500.......

    I have had no problems so far, i'm happy to keep using it.
    Have a lappy with XP to do rom updates on my phone etc.
    Old Dog, No Flies

  • #4
    Senior Member
    oceanboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    15,285
    Thanks
    6,696
    Thanked 7,787 Times in 4,095 Posts
    Rep Power
    3257
    Reputation
    130812

    Default

    Everytime i have had to work on a Vista machine, i struck problems..... then when searching the net Re: that problem, found that there were many other posts about the exact same thing. That whatever i'm trying to do has problems under Vista... Eg: PSK on WiFi

    To be honest, i can't beleive a company, any company can call a product like Vista an Improvement over what they already had.

    For a total dumb ass end user, maybe its ok.... but if you have somean idea what you are doing, it is painful to say the least.

    Vista does have one good use though, you can install it on someones machine as a practical joke!

  • #5
    Senior Member
    best4less's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    7,689
    Thanks
    3,480
    Thanked 2,206 Times in 1,132 Posts
    Rep Power
    690
    Reputation
    15145

    Default

    Well with all the sh#t I download mine is still going and I am very happy with it But I would never pay for it
    When you do things right, people won't be sure that you have done anything at all

  • #6
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    51
    Posts
    0
    Thanks
    2,059
    Thanked 12,638 Times in 5,448 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    143338

    Default

    I am upgrading the last computer in the house from XP to Vista as we speak.
    I had a few early problems which they seem to have now ironed out , no complaints now at all.

  • #7
    Member rickove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Mount Gambier S.A.
    Posts
    261
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Rep Power
    140
    Reputation
    35

    Default

    3 pc here with Vista,one Basic,Ok. One Premium edition with tuner card a Dog of a machine.one Dellspec machine with the Dell Oem Ultimate version.Good.
    3 pc with xp pro all good!
    1 pc old amd 1400 Thunderbird with Me,a screamer for video/rip/conversion an older 98 flavour softwares,I cant understand it?

  • #8
    Senior Member z80's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,842
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 77 Times in 48 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    708

    Default

    I downgraded 400 brand new HP and Toshiba systems to XP last month at the request of one customer.

    I have as many activation keys as there are stars in the sky for Vista business.


    I prefer dos prompt for most things.

  • #9
    Senior Member
    oceanboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    15,285
    Thanks
    6,696
    Thanked 7,787 Times in 4,095 Posts
    Rep Power
    3257
    Reputation
    130812

    Default

    400 new O/S on 400 seperate machines in a week.

    That is a lot of power points, a lot of physical room and a lot of setting up.
    Sure sounds like stars in the sky to me

  • #10
    Senior Member gavpk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    712
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 37 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    158
    Reputation
    176

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fandtm666 View Post
    i cant stand it and even on a 2 gig dual core with 2 gig of ram and 250gig 5400 hdd it sucked
    i would have totally agreed with you on that before SP1, i now have a extensa 5620 (vista home premium) , i think it as good, if not better than xp
    (i never thought i would say that )

    Quote Originally Posted by Sanity View Post
    I am upgrading the last computer in the house from XP to Vista as we speak.
    I had a few early problems which they seem to have now ironed out , no complaints now at all.
    yes, wont be long before i do the same, i will run xp for as long as i can
    at work for AutoCAD and prosteel, but i even run vista on my media center,
    As you say, no complaints

  • #11
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,938
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked 362 Times in 171 Posts
    Rep Power
    853
    Reputation
    27887

    Default

    yeah mine is also the 5620 gavpk, when i need to redo it i might have a look again

  • #12
    Senior Member gavpk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    712
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 37 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    158
    Reputation
    176

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fandtm666 View Post
    yeah mine is also the 5620 gavpk, when i need to redo it i might have a look again
    i think you will be happy mate my wife loves it, and she told me " i will never ever use vista"

  • #13
    Senior Member gavpk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    712
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 37 Times in 12 Posts
    Rep Power
    158
    Reputation
    176

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oceanboy View Post
    400 new O/S on 400 seperate machines in a week.

    That is a lot of power points, a lot of physical room and a lot of setting up.
    Sure sounds like stars in the sky to me
    i think he said 400 "last month"

  • #14
    Super Moderator shagga66's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Age
    48
    Posts
    1,084
    Thanks
    235
    Thanked 127 Times in 80 Posts
    Rep Power
    188
    Reputation
    1014

    Default

    I voted for Vista Ultimate as I have been using it for ages now without any dramas.

    Intel core 2 Quad Q9400 2.6ghz
    4gig Ram
    9800gt

    I also have it running on a the following without any problems, a lot slower..
    P4 2.8ghz
    1gig ram
    6600gt

    btw, I do use dual boot with xp as my CAD software wont run on vista, but I use vista %80 of my PC time.

    Shagga

  • #15
    Senior Member urban_s0ulja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    South East Asia
    Posts
    4,063
    Thanks
    380
    Thanked 509 Times in 329 Posts
    Rep Power
    312
    Reputation
    2256

    Default

    ive stuck with windows xp x64...
    im tempted to give vista another go, ive been using it on and off every since rc1 days
    i havnt found a compelling reason yet to stick with it.

  • #16
    Senior Member z80's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,842
    Thanks
    112
    Thanked 77 Times in 48 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    708

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gavpk View Post
    i think he said 400 "last month"
    Yep, although in one of the weeks it was 100 in ONE DAY....


    This 50 will have Vista replaced by XP in the morning....and plenty of time before lunch Oceanboy.


  • #17
    Senior Member joezep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    SE Melbourne
    Posts
    834
    Thanks
    425
    Thanked 226 Times in 158 Posts
    Rep Power
    206
    Reputation
    2368

    Default

    I had dual boot (xp pro and vista ultimate) and is only vista now and love it.

    People say that they have problems with old hardware but if you look hard enough you will find drivers.

    Example: I have an old adaptec SCSI card and a canon scanner from the year 2000. They are both working better from when i had 98SE.

  • #18
    Member SuperSize's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Gold Coast QLD
    Posts
    418
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 37 Times in 14 Posts
    Rep Power
    147
    Reputation
    322

    Default

    I've just gone back to XP from Vista Ultimate 64.
    Yep I lost a full 1GIG of my 4GB's of ram but it was worth it.

    I've finally gotten around to playing GTA: SA (Yep took that long), it kept shitting itself in Vista. Plus I copy heaps of stuff across my network to my HTPC and Vista does it in twice the time as XP.

    The general "feel" of Vista is slow. I was running Vista there for over 2 months, it grew on me, then finally it started to shit me to tears.
    I hate all the extra crap it installs over 10GB's for a OS with shit you'd never use.

    I remember back in the Win98 days you could choose what "ëxtras" you want to install.

    "Exclusive Interview: Microsoft Admits What Went Wrong with Vista, and How They Fixed It"



    I think Vista was a rushed OS for Microsoft as they went very stale there in the OS front at one stage. They tried to introduce all these wiz bang features and looks to WOW all the new computers users, but forgot that XP had been around so long everyone was in their comfort zones with it. They had their machine perfectly setup, with all the software they needed.

    Anyway thats my rant, and not everyone feels the same.

  • #19
    Senior Member DND's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,314
    Thanks
    359
    Thanked 301 Times in 186 Posts
    Rep Power
    205
    Reputation
    1569

    Default

    vista ult
    wont go back to xp

  • #20
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,938
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked 362 Times in 171 Posts
    Rep Power
    853
    Reputation
    27887

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by z80 View Post
    Yep, although in one of the weeks it was 100 in ONE DAY....


    This 50 will have Vista replaced by XP in the morning....and plenty of time before lunch Oceanboy.

    Glad to see you at least left enough room for the red beast to live inside mate

  • Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •