Thread: Rebooting Altech UEC Vast TV

Thanks

Default Rebooting Altech UEC Vast TV

Hi all - hoping this is in the right spot.

I’ve been using my Altech TV for about 6 months on 12 volt with not too many issues. All of a sudden tonight when using it, it powered off then the green light came back on and it starting powering back up. It goes through its “loading vast” intro screen and then power goes off and it starts the whole process again. I’ve swapped the cords with my Altech Vast box in case it was a dodgy cord but made no difference. Any suggestions on what else it could be? Or I could try?

FB - Moseying around Australia

Look Here ->
    Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 15,066 Times in 6,761 Posts

Sounds like a power supply issue.

Check electro caps for bulging/leaking.

Thanks

All sorted. Dodgy cables. Thank you

FB - Moseying around Australia

Premium Member

Thanks
    Thanked 3,806 Times in 2,525 Posts

Thanks for the update but can you be a bit more specific as to what caused the problem?
    Is it in a Caravan ?
    I stand unequivicably behind everything I say , I just dont ever remember saying it !!

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 15,066 Times in 6,761 Posts

Also a bit confusing as you said you checked all the cables, swapping them over to another decoder and they worked fine.

Which cable turned out to be dodgy?

Thanks
    Thanked 3,664 Times in 831 Posts

That's extra weird. Normally when UEC boxes do this, it is usually at the point where they are about to pack up. I've had it before where UEC boxes do this once or twice, then work again, and then a few months down the line - bang, they just loop reboot and never come on again.

Hate to be pessimistic, but I think the cable swap is a false-positive/just a coincidence.

Like mtv said, check those capacitors on the PSU for bulging, this is a known thing even on other older UEC boxes here in South Africa (where they make the things).