View Poll Results: Site Upgrade : Members choice, which forum software ?

Voters
20. You may not vote on this poll
  • Xenforo

    16 80.00%
  • VBulletin 5

    4 20.00%
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 38 of 38

Thread: Site Upgrade : Members Choice

  1. #21
    Super Moderator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    16,496
    Thanks
    4,651
    Thanked 10,234 Times in 5,105 Posts
    Rep Power
    3455
    Reputation
    139210

    Default

    Chris,

    Moved your thread here, as it's no doubt related.

    Try logging out, clearing cache and cookies and log back in.

    See above... looks like admin is working on the postimage issue.

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    cmangle (12-04-18)



  • #22
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Under the Boardwalk AC USA
    Posts
    2,065
    Thanks
    1,395
    Thanked 2,938 Times in 753 Posts
    Rep Power
    1244
    Reputation
    52507

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by admin View Post
    This is the problem, I get the same with Chrome (and no doubt all browsers show the same)....for example images with postimage.org are not https which is why its going to be extremely hard.

    At least your message is nicer than Chromes which tells people not to use credit cards on this site because it could be stolen by attackers !
    Admin, I had NO problems 2 days ago?

    What changed in the last two days?

    Thanks for putting my post where it belonged . . .

  • #23
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    58
    Posts
    5,539
    Thanks
    9,086
    Thanked 4,202 Times in 2,184 Posts
    Rep Power
    1561
    Reputation
    64377

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cmangle View Post
    Admin, I had NO problems 2 days ago?

    What changed in the last two days?

    Thanks for putting my post where it belonged . . .
    Post#16+ from yesterday, all that happened is he switched the forum from http to https so we don't get insecure page content warnings.
    No big deal. It will all be resolved as he fixes any hiccups.
    Quote Originally Posted by admin View Post
    Due to above (Google and Paypal forcing it) I am currently switching us to https. Any problems , post them here, but probably give it a while if not urgent as I sort out any hiccups.
    Quote Originally Posted by admin View Post
    This is the problem, I get the same with Chrome (and no doubt all browsers show the same)....for example images with postimage.org are not https which is why its going to be extremely hard.

    At least your message is nicer than Chromes which tells people not to use credit cards on this site because it could be stolen by attackers !
    Last edited by Tiny; 12-04-18 at 09:41 AM.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Tiny For This Useful Post:

    cmangle (12-04-18)

  • #24
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Under the Boardwalk AC USA
    Posts
    2,065
    Thanks
    1,395
    Thanked 2,938 Times in 753 Posts
    Rep Power
    1244
    Reputation
    52507

    Default

    mtv I completely deleted opera, deleted all registry entires, deleted opera app data and reloaded qupzilla and the same issues still exist.

    Like I said above 2 days ago I had not experienced ANY of these issues!

    Hell, Ive been posting humor thread joke pictures for the last two weeks no problem! Not now!

  • #25
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    58
    Posts
    5,539
    Thanks
    9,086
    Thanked 4,202 Times in 2,184 Posts
    Rep Power
    1561
    Reputation
    64377

    Default

    Post Image look to have made some changes as well that may effect things, for a bit. Still works from the link at the top of the forum, though but you get this warning, it still uploads the image & gives you links to paste in the forum. I use the hotlink for forums link.

    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Tiny For This Useful Post:

    cmangle (12-04-18)

  • #26
    Super Moderator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    16,496
    Thanks
    4,651
    Thanked 10,234 Times in 5,105 Posts
    Rep Power
    3455
    Reputation
    139210

    Default

    The post image change is unrelated to Austech changes... just lousy coincidental timing.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    cmangle (12-04-18)

  • #27
    Premium Member
    Mr 672A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    The only Country in the English speaking World where you cannot sue your Solicitor or Barrister.
    Posts
    2,813
    Thanks
    699
    Thanked 655 Times in 365 Posts
    Rep Power
    384
    Reputation
    11035

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cmangle View Post
    FIRST, is this the correct place to report these issues?

    ISSUE #1) I just tried to logon to austech and I get an vbulletin message that says . . .

    "Invalid redirect url (http://www.austech.info/?tabid=2)"

    My logon name and password are removed from above, but yet if I click on "new posts" page actually does redirect to "new posts" and "cmangle" now appears above where it should be!


    ISSUE #2) "Post Image" no longer appears at the end of any thread or in advance posting (which means i can't post the screen shot of the vbulletin message above), and if I click on any image, there's no redirect to the web page postimage.org, and the picture/image does NOT appear, but I do get an error message that says . . .

    "This site cannot be reached" . . . "postimg.org's server IP address could not be found"

    BTW, I tried logging on from two different machines user different browsers, Opera, QupZilla and Internet Explorer and the same results!

    Any input on my issues from anyone?

    Thanks chris
    I continually get ISSUE 1 for the first time when I try to log in on first time in the morning. I try for the second time and its ok then.
    Not responsible for any post written after the 28/10/2014. My pet hate, Corrupt Politicians, Corrupt Legal System + a legal system Australia wide that does not allow you to sue a Solicitor or Barrister for Professional Negligence (as Stated by the Law Society and prominent Lawyers) and Corrupt Cops. Not necessarily in this order. Please Note Lawyers are PROTECTED SPECIES IN THIS COUNTRY, PROTECTED FROM THEIR F..K UPS

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Mr 672A For This Useful Post:

    cmangle (12-04-18)

  • #28
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Under the Boardwalk AC USA
    Posts
    2,065
    Thanks
    1,395
    Thanked 2,938 Times in 753 Posts
    Rep Power
    1244
    Reputation
    52507

    Default

    I still get the "ISSUE 1" error and I can NOT see ANY pics that are attached to posts . . .!

    I tried the upload image thing at the top and other that at postimg.org, I have no idea where it is at here at Austech!

    I tried copy/paste the URL from postimg.org but nada that didn't include a picture/image at Austech!

  • #29
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    58
    Posts
    5,539
    Thanks
    9,086
    Thanked 4,202 Times in 2,184 Posts
    Rep Power
    1561
    Reputation
    64377

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cmangle View Post
    I still get the "ISSUE 1" error and I can NOT see ANY pics that are attached to posts . . .!

    I tried the upload image thing at the top and other that at postimg.org, I have no idea where it is at here at Austech!

    I tried copy/paste the URL from postimg.org but nada that didn't include a picture/image at Austech!
    Can you see this one?





    & this one, this what I used.



    This one you posted in the Joke thread, is just the link
    not the Hotlink,
    Last edited by Tiny; 12-04-18 at 07:07 PM.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Tiny For This Useful Post:

    cmangle (12-04-18)

  • #30
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Under the Boardwalk AC USA
    Posts
    2,065
    Thanks
    1,395
    Thanked 2,938 Times in 753 Posts
    Rep Power
    1244
    Reputation
    52507

    Default

    Yes I see the pic now that you posted of my comment.

    . . . and no I didn't use the hot link!

  • #31
    Premium Member
    Mr 672A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    The only Country in the English speaking World where you cannot sue your Solicitor or Barrister.
    Posts
    2,813
    Thanks
    699
    Thanked 655 Times in 365 Posts
    Rep Power
    384
    Reputation
    11035

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr 672A View Post
    I continually get ISSUE 1 for the first time when I try to log in on first time in the morning. I try for the second time and its ok then.
    Still get ISSUE 1 but all I have to do is CLICK on the AUSTECH logo up the top to get into the Forums.
    Not responsible for any post written after the 28/10/2014. My pet hate, Corrupt Politicians, Corrupt Legal System + a legal system Australia wide that does not allow you to sue a Solicitor or Barrister for Professional Negligence (as Stated by the Law Society and prominent Lawyers) and Corrupt Cops. Not necessarily in this order. Please Note Lawyers are PROTECTED SPECIES IN THIS COUNTRY, PROTECTED FROM THEIR F..K UPS

  • #32
    Administrator

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Newcastle, Nsw
    Posts
    4,356
    Thanks
    729
    Thanked 2,283 Times in 1,028 Posts
    Rep Power
    839
    Reputation
    28416

    Default

    Anyone with ISSUE #1 problems....
    You are trying to access the site via http and not https

    Delete your bookmark.
    Type into your browser
    Login
    Then bookmark the site if you want to.

    Problem solved.

  • The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to WhiteOx For This Useful Post:

    admin (20-04-18),cmangle (15-04-18),lsemmens (13-04-18),Tiny (13-04-18)

  • #33
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Under the Boardwalk AC USA
    Posts
    2,065
    Thanks
    1,395
    Thanked 2,938 Times in 753 Posts
    Rep Power
    1244
    Reputation
    52507

    Default

    I still don't see ANY picture uploaded to postimages, with the exception of the zuckerberg picture!

    I get a pop out message in the url bar opposite the web address that says "Content Blocked" ???
    Last edited by cmangle; 15-04-18 at 09:06 AM.

  • #34
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Under the Boardwalk AC USA
    Posts
    2,065
    Thanks
    1,395
    Thanked 2,938 Times in 753 Posts
    Rep Power
    1244
    Reputation
    52507

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WhiteOx View Post
    Delete your bookmark.
    Type into your browser
    Login
    Then bookmark the site if you want to.

    Problem solved.
    thanks white Ox worked for me

    How about something similar for postimage, or is that problem on their end?

  • #35
    Administrator

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Newcastle, Nsw
    Posts
    4,356
    Thanks
    729
    Thanked 2,283 Times in 1,028 Posts
    Rep Power
    839
    Reputation
    28416

    Default

    You can't see the images because the links to the images are incorrect.
    Postimg, postimage or whatever they call themselves now have changed the domains which images are stored.

    Images previously displayed on Austech were linked to using the postimg.org domain.
    If you take a look at post #26 by Tiny you will see that they now use postimg.cc and postimages.org as their domains.

    So unless all the links to all images are pointing to the correct domain/s you aint gunna be seeing them in a hurry.
    It would take us forever to edit them by hand, maybe a replace command on the database would do the trick providing they are still on the same servers.
    eg; s17.postimg.org to s17.postimg.cc - it won't do much good if the image is on s5 or something.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to WhiteOx For This Useful Post:

    cmangle (15-04-18)

  • #36
    Premium Member Hillsbysa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,846
    Thanks
    175
    Thanked 166 Times in 93 Posts
    Rep Power
    210
    Reputation
    1218

    Default

    Xenforo seems to be the clear choice for me. Vbulletin is not geared for the future by the looks.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Hillsbysa For This Useful Post:

    cmangle (19-04-18)

  • #37
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    50
    Posts
    29,770
    Thanks
    1,978
    Thanked 12,323 Times in 5,324 Posts
    Rep Power
    3858
    Reputation
    137038

    Default

    Postimage now have an https address, I have changed the link on the toolbar.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to admin For This Useful Post:

    Tiny (20-04-18)

  • #38
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    50
    Posts
    29,770
    Thanks
    1,978
    Thanked 12,323 Times in 5,324 Posts
    Rep Power
    3858
    Reputation
    137038

    Default

    If anyone does find any part of Austech that still has an active HTTP link, please let me know in this thread.

    If anyone doesnt quite understand what I mean, hold your mouse pointer over a link on the toolbar at the top of the page. You will see the menu's link start with https:// rather than http://

  • Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •