Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Lg lcd tv 50la6230

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    496
    Thanks
    93
    Thanked 26 Times in 15 Posts
    Rep Power
    166
    Reputation
    388

    Default Lg lcd tv 50la6230

    Would any LG techs please help me with this question......I have an LG 50LA6230 TB-AAUYLH tv in need of a main board EAX64872105 (1.0) .I found a board on ebay LG MAIN BOARD EBT62304520
    Model 32LA6230-TB.AAUYLH which is for a 32 inch set , would this work ok in the 50 inch set ? Thank you



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member
    TVguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Nomad
    Posts
    988
    Thanks
    405
    Thanked 867 Times in 416 Posts
    Rep Power
    404
    Reputation
    12348

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CrYpto View Post
    ...would this work ok in the 50 inch set ? Thank you
    Definitely not. Why not source the correct part locally?
    “Confidence is the prize given to the mediocre”

    Robert Hughes

  • #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    496
    Thanks
    93
    Thanked 26 Times in 15 Posts
    Rep Power
    166
    Reputation
    388

    Default

    That part was so much cheaper , it would have made the tv a viable repair.

  • #4
    Premium Member
    TVguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Nomad
    Posts
    988
    Thanks
    405
    Thanked 867 Times in 416 Posts
    Rep Power
    404
    Reputation
    12348

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CrYpto View Post
    That part was so much cheaper , it would have made the tv a viable repair.
    May I ask as what drew you to the final diagnosis? The main PCBs tend to be rather robust, with the main failure points being the PSU followed by the LED strip arrays.
    Main PCB failure can generally be attributed to wall mounting with insufficient spacing for heat transfer. 800+ pin BGAs with no room to breathe will fail; mainly due to thermal stress.
    Please pay no heed to those who suggest placing the PCB in an oven or annihilating the chip with a heat gun. Micro-fractures of the connecting balls are the primary cause of failure.
    Factory feedback has indicated that ball fracture is the main cause of premature failure, with the precipitant being lack of thermal relief.
    The sheer physical stress of vertical mounting with orthogonal hardware is a recipe for a shortened MTBF.

    Out of curiosity, what is the symptom that has drawn you to condemn the main PCB?
    Does the backlight come on, is there sound, any signs of life?
    PM if you need the service manual.
    “Confidence is the prize given to the mediocre”

    Robert Hughes

  • The Following User Says Thank You to TVguy For This Useful Post:

    tw2005 (04-02-18)

  • #5
    Member tw2005's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Mancave
    Posts
    308
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 114 Times in 84 Posts
    Rep Power
    153
    Reputation
    1743

    Default

    I'm interested in your diagnosis , and your geographic location too. The part number I'd quote would be EBT62533620.

    Also I'd be highly skeptical that's a new board as advertised.


    Also, TVguy, can you expand on the "Definitely not" please.
    Last edited by tw2005; 04-02-18 at 06:46 AM.

  • #6
    Premium Member
    TVguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Nomad
    Posts
    988
    Thanks
    405
    Thanked 867 Times in 416 Posts
    Rep Power
    404
    Reputation
    12348

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tw2005 View Post
    Also, TVguy, can you expand on the "Definitely not" please.
    The LVDS drive to the panel simply requires more "lanes".
    Also the option code settings will be very different depending on panel size, manufacturer and feature sets.
    Many of these options are not open to adjustment. Whilst the platform is global, panel size dictates the hardware specifications.
    Firmware is written to take into account local dimming (dictated by LED array size), and every fraction of a cent that can be shaved off on hardware, is saved for a smaller panel.
    No manufacturer creates a universal PCB that can be used for every LCD screen size, to do so is a shortcut to bankruptcy. Price is everything in consumer electronics, and entry level 32" screens are built to accommodate a market segment.
    “Confidence is the prize given to the mediocre”

    Robert Hughes

  • The Following User Says Thank You to TVguy For This Useful Post:

    tw2005 (04-02-18)

  • #7
    Member tw2005's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Mancave
    Posts
    308
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 114 Times in 84 Posts
    Rep Power
    153
    Reputation
    1743

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TVguy View Post
    The LVDS drive to the panel simply requires more "lanes".
    Also the option code settings will be very different depending on panel size, manufacturer and feature sets.
    Many of these options are not open to adjustment. Whilst the platform is global, panel size dictates the hardware specifications.
    Firmware is written to take into account local dimming (dictated by LED array size), and every fraction of a cent that can be shaved off on hardware, is saved for a smaller panel.
    No manufacturer creates a universal PCB that can be used for every LCD screen size, to do so is a shortcut to bankruptcy. Price is everything in consumer electronics, and entry level 32" screens are built to accommodate a market segment.
    Reason I ask is because I've tried out swapping mains for the LB5610 series with no issues and some have been labelled as subs for NLA boards. So for example 42" and 50 " into a 55" both drove it without any issues and vice versa .

    I've also had to resort throwing a 42" main into a 55 Panasonic LED LCD with a LG panel and it went alright too, used daily. maybe there's a diffrenec but I can't tell. Obviously within the board states it's a 42.

    So it is not the Tcon that has all the panel data or settings?

  • #8
    Member tw2005's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Mancave
    Posts
    308
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 114 Times in 84 Posts
    Rep Power
    153
    Reputation
    1743

    Default

    awfully quiet, any progress report

  • #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    496
    Thanks
    93
    Thanked 26 Times in 15 Posts
    Rep Power
    166
    Reputation
    388

    Default

    Sorry for the late reply however I have been able to source the correct main board locally from a scrapped unit and it now works fine.....the symptom was that the tv was on permanent standby , with the red led on the front permanently on. Thanks for all your help.

  • #10
    Member tw2005's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Mancave
    Posts
    308
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 114 Times in 84 Posts
    Rep Power
    153
    Reputation
    1743

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CrYpto View Post
    Sorry for the late reply however I have been able to source the correct main board locally from a scrapped unit and it now works fine.....the symptom was that the tv was on permanent standby , with the red led on the front permanently on. Thanks for all your help.
    South Australia? Was hoping we could experiment and learn, bummer. Glad it's fixed. Re-glued 160 odd LED lenses last night. Was a very long night.

  • #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    496
    Thanks
    93
    Thanked 26 Times in 15 Posts
    Rep Power
    166
    Reputation
    388

    Default

    Yes , thats the one i got the board from , South Australia. Ebay.

  • #12
    Member tw2005's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Mancave
    Posts
    308
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 114 Times in 84 Posts
    Rep Power
    153
    Reputation
    1743

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CrYpto View Post
    Yes , thats the one i got the board from , South Australia. Ebay.
    NIce, yes I was waiting to tell you about it. SO you're in SA? so you scored the whole unit? Can't remember now the style of LEDs in these but I'd keep the brightness levels down, hopefully extend the life. I wonder how many take LG on out of warranty.

  • #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TVguy View Post
    PM if you need the service manual.
    Can you send me service manual. I need to find an information what leds this TV uses. I need to replace one led.

  • #14
    Member tw2005's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Mancave
    Posts
    308
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 114 Times in 84 Posts
    Rep Power
    153
    Reputation
    1743

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dom1nga View Post
    Can you send me service manual. I need to find an information what leds this TV uses. I need to replace one led.
    I don't think the service manual is not going to tell you that , nor is it going to identifiy the LED strip.
    There's 4 different types of strips fitted to make up the complete array



    L1 LED BAR 6916L-1241A LC500DUE (SF)(U2)
    L2 LED BAR 6916L-1272A LC500DUE (SF)(U2)
    R1 LED BAR 6916L-1273A LC500DUE (SF)(U2)
    R2 LED BAR 6916L-1276A LC500DUE (SF)(U2)

  • #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2019
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default

    i was hoping to find some information about leds (voltage, brightness)
    ordered some: LG Innotek 6v 2W and LG Innotek 3v 1W 100LM (originals)
    most likely 3v it what i'm searching for but please correct me if i wrong

  • #16
    Member tw2005's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Mancave
    Posts
    308
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 114 Times in 84 Posts
    Rep Power
    153
    Reputation
    1743

    Default

    Well you could try badcaps and do a search there. More than likely someone has identified whatctype they are. I generally scavange off other strips which is crude but gets me going again. I love zero cost fixes . Maybe even try searching ebay using keywords that narrow it to lg strips. Panel number midel brand of strip etc.

    Sent from my SM-N920I using Tapatalk

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •