Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: update maps

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    50
    Posts
    3,771
    Thanks
    183
    Thanked 1,229 Times in 734 Posts
    Rep Power
    573
    Reputation
    15418

    Default update maps

    help
    a mate give me his tomtom
    i think he wants to use it in new zealand
    i went to tom tom site
    says $85 or so for nz maps
    is this how to do it or is there a sneaky cheaper version?
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member
    mandc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Gold Coast
    Age
    65
    Posts
    3,653
    Thanks
    1,783
    Thanked 2,401 Times in 1,237 Posts
    Rep Power
    782
    Reputation
    26095

    Default

    Newer tomtoms now have free maps for NZ /SE Asia and Aus plus 'lifetime updates'


    Just a thought as it's not much dearer than the ripoff $85 they want to upgrade an older model

    To do the sneaky way would probably depend of which model he has....I know my older Via 220 with "lifetime maps" was recently classed by tomtom as having reached it's life's end. Apparently tomtom have a very loose definition of 'lifetime'.

  • #3
    Administrator

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Newcastle, Nsw
    Posts
    4,484
    Thanks
    784
    Thanked 2,392 Times in 1,081 Posts
    Rep Power
    900
    Reputation
    30596

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Philquad View Post
    a mate give me his tomtom
    is there a sneaky cheaper version?
    Download TomTom Go Mobile for iPhone or iPad - It's free and so are maps.
    It's free to use for driving up to 75km per month.

    If you want to pay a subscription:
    1 Month Unlimited Navigation $8.99
    1 Year Unlimited Navigation $27.99


  • #4
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    50
    Posts
    3,771
    Thanks
    183
    Thanked 1,229 Times in 734 Posts
    Rep Power
    573
    Reputation
    15418

    Default

    after updating & all that it say, too old, go buy a new 1
    he can do that

    i will suggest that he can do the iphone thing too, thanks guys
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    115
    Thanks
    54
    Thanked 31 Times in 26 Posts
    Rep Power
    140
    Reputation
    475

    Default

    What is the model of TomTom?

  • The Following User Says Thank You to iannic52 For This Useful Post:

    xapi (11-03-18)

  • #6
    Senior Member satboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,320
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 100 Times in 64 Posts
    Rep Power
    193
    Reputation
    534

    Default

    I just updated my Via 220 to the latest oz map and also got the message saying that my lifetime subscription has reached its use by date, hmm lifetime has the same meaning as Unlimited that ISP use.
    Ill never buy another tomtom, ill use my phone and all the free software that's out there.

  • #7
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    50
    Posts
    3,771
    Thanks
    183
    Thanked 1,229 Times in 734 Posts
    Rep Power
    573
    Reputation
    15418

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by iannic52 View Post
    What is the model of TomTom?
    its a tom one ? so it says
    he can buy a new 1, im over it lol
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •