Thread: Humax HDR-1003S + Foxtel Dish, some help please

Thanks

Question Humax HDR-1003S + Foxtel Dish, some help please

I last posted here about 3 years ago. I have some questions for the regulars:

1. I have a 2014 Foxtel dish and 2 cables coming out of the wall for their IQ unit. I do not have the IQ unit, nor do I have a Foxtel subscription, and I will never rejoin Foxtel. I use only one cable into the back of my Humax VAST unit and this seems adequate. Can I remove the other cable completely?
    2. The dish was set up for Foxtel. Is it worth fiddling with the LNB to fine tune it for VAST? If so, how (any helpful links?)
    3. I have not done anything to my Humax HDR-1003S for 3 years. Are there any software/firmware updates that I should apply, or will that happen automatically?
    4. Is there any you-beaut replacement for the Humax that I should consider, or is the Humax still good enough technology?

Any other comments also welcome!

Thanks guys,
    Last edited by Sunshine Coast; 06-04-18 at 03:02 PM.

Look Here ->
    Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 15,066 Times in 6,761 Posts

Yes, you can remove the second cable, as they both function independently.

I'm guessing both cables are on a wallplate, so are you just talking about disconnecting one cable flylead from the wallplate, or are you talking about removing the whole cable run from the LNB?

I wouldn't suggest doing the latter, as you may possibly use it later, for a dual tuner, a second VAST decoder, or just as a back-up. Removing a flylead from the wallplate... no problem.

If your VAST signals are working OK, I would suggest there's no need for any adjustment to the LNB.

When Foxtel installs dishes, the LNB is optimised for their horizontally-polarised signals, so a slight tweek on the vertical VAST signals can help, but only if they are intermittent now.