Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 105

Thread: Eonon Android Car Radios

  1. #21
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,795
    Thanks
    7,667
    Thanked 9,429 Times in 4,787 Posts
    Rep Power
    3976
    Reputation
    163652

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by voyteke View Post
    Eonon 2170 as per 1st post, Toyota Yaris 2012

    antenna socket on original radio is like: oops, I can only insert image from URL, not a local file ? oops, sorry was going to post a photo, don't think I can
    Probably the same as BMW's etc
    There is a conversion lead for it

    This might help you


    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to ol' boy For This Useful Post:

    voyteke (06-05-18)



  • #22
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,121
    Thanks
    141
    Thanked 588 Times in 254 Posts
    Rep Power
    962
    Reputation
    32407

    Default

    ok so you will need



    check aerpro site they should have similar autobarn can order one in as they supply all aerpro gear.

    Quote Originally Posted by oceanboy View Post
    My unit, because it is older, will only take a 32Gb USB Drive or Micro SD card (Max Size)
    It will not accept portable hard drive
    it could be the external drive you are testing with , yours is a newer model to mine
    and i just plugged in my spare drive and shows up 250gig



    Last edited by fandtm666; 05-05-18 at 02:40 PM.

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fandtm666 For This Useful Post:

    ol' boy (06-05-18),voyteke (06-05-18)

  • #23
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,795
    Thanks
    7,667
    Thanked 9,429 Times in 4,787 Posts
    Rep Power
    3976
    Reputation
    163652

    Default

    That's awesome mate
    Must try to get a HDD working
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #24
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    85
    Reputation
    70

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fandtm666 View Post
    ok so you will need



    check aerpro site they should have similar autobarn can order one in as they supply all aerpro gear.
    thanks ! have found on aeropro reverse of what I need, like the one you've posted link earlier, but, I need reverse of this, like the ebay link, anyhow, getting somewhere



    I mis-measured the unit, beginner's error, took length from mount/bracket to front of radio, rather than, back of bezel, compared between factory unit and 2170, thought it will fit perfectly as is, but, unit sticks out maybe 1/1.5cm, cannot re fit trim, I think I'll just drill extra holes in bracket

    swapped SIMs, now Voda works for tethering, though, Voda signal was poor, around -120/-110 dbm, couldn't download what I wanted, I'll try today
    thanks again

  • #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    85
    Reputation
    70

    Default

    thanks for all the advice and help so far:

    tried today plugging an USB Telstra/Huawei cell modem, but, nothing happened, as I have not used this modem for years, not sure, I'll try to test it in a PC to make sure it works.
    in the docs it says something should pop up on top bar/notification area, I think?

    for whatever reason could download some latge stuff with Voda, but, some larger apps like 200MB just wouldn't download, not sure, used Testra cell modem, and, it worked. smaller apps, etc, downloaded just fine with Voda.

    DAB radio worked well, not sure if I had any drop outs, when I'll see low antenna signal indication, I'll try bridging antenna's ground plate copper strip to ground with a piece of wire, curious to see if it will make difference

    looking on aeropro web, I see there are some modules to connects SWC/vehicle bus to radio:

    on the Yaris wiring I have two plugs 'left over', each with 3 wires:
    28 pin plug with blue/pink/red in 7/8/9, and
    5 ping plug with violet/green/pink 1/3/5

    these would have to be..? SWC (vol up/down, change); and, brake/reverse ?
    so, all or some of these will need to connect with the 6 'bare' wires on LHS ?



    I think I've found 3 wires on 28 pin connector: SW1 SW2 SWG
    Last edited by voyteke; 06-05-18 at 11:39 PM.

  • #26
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,795
    Thanks
    7,667
    Thanked 9,429 Times in 4,787 Posts
    Rep Power
    3976
    Reputation
    163652

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fandtm666 View Post
    it could be the external drive you are testing with , yours is a newer model to mine
    and i just plugged in my spare drive and shows up 250gig



    Ok.... I have a few questions here:

    1. I thought these units would not run a portable HDD (powering issues?)

    2. Has your Portable drive been formatted in FAT32 fandtm666?
    (My GA2114 will only read FAT32, hence why it will only SDHC up to 32GB, not the SDXC cards of 64GB+ which are exFAT)

    3. Ok, so your Headunit has discovered and mounted the 250GB portable drive
    Will it read off it ok?
    Or even write to it (not that i imagine you'd ever want to do that, well, maybe Dash Cam recording)

    I read a lot of failed writing and corruption when you try to trick an Android device to read/write to these larger capacity drives

    Thanks mate, great to know it see's it anyway
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #27
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    85
    Reputation
    70

    Default

    Made some progress today, connected SWC, also reverse and hand brake wires.

    The harness plug with brake and reverse has a third wire, what could that be??

    Illumination wire on radio: does that go +12 from headlights ON ? Does it then dim display?

    Placed dash cam next to DAB antenna, but I think it caused interference, so removed it.

    Couldn't pair my OBD unit, not sure, just wasn't showing up on bt scan?

  • The Following User Says Thank You to voyteke For This Useful Post:

    xapi (08-05-18)

  • #28
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,121
    Thanks
    141
    Thanked 588 Times in 254 Posts
    Rep Power
    962
    Reputation
    32407

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oceanboy View Post
    Ok, so your Headunit has discovered and mounted the 250GB portable drive
    Will it read off it ok?
    Or even write to it (not that i imagine you'd ever want to do that, well, maybe Dash Cam recording)
    threw some movies on it and plays them perfectly same with music

  • The Following User Says Thank You to fandtm666 For This Useful Post:

    ol' boy (07-05-18)

  • #29
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,795
    Thanks
    7,667
    Thanked 9,429 Times in 4,787 Posts
    Rep Power
    3976
    Reputation
    163652

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by voyteke View Post
    Made some progress today, connected SWC, also reverse and hand brake wires.

    The harness plug with brake and reverse has a third wire, what could that be??

    Illumination wire on radio: does that go +12 from headlights ON ? Does it then dim display?
    Yes, when parkers are turned on
    I found the Aerpro harness was missing the Orange Illumination terminal, so i had to buy the pin and fit it inside the harness plug
    So it got he 12+ trigger when headlights are turned on
    You may then need to go into Android settings and select AUTO for this feature to be activated

    Quote Originally Posted by voyteke View Post
    dash cam next to DAB antenna, but I think it caused interference, so removed it.

    Couldn't pair my OBD unit, not sure, just wasn't showing up on bt scan?
    I have no issue with this.

    You may need to add a string in Torque Pro
    (if that is what you are using)
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #30
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,795
    Thanks
    7,667
    Thanked 9,429 Times in 4,787 Posts
    Rep Power
    3976
    Reputation
    163652

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fandtm666 View Post
    threw some movies on it and plays them perfectly same with music
    Drive formatted in FAT32 mate?
    Did you have more on the drive than the 32GB threshold?
    (some devices have a 32GB firmware block, some don't)
    Sounds great, i'll find an old portable drive and give it a try.
    There goes buying $$$ USB thumb drives or Micro SD cards
    Last edited by ol' boy; 07-05-18 at 09:16 PM.
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #31
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,795
    Thanks
    7,667
    Thanked 9,429 Times in 4,787 Posts
    Rep Power
    3976
    Reputation
    163652

    Default

    This is a unit I found installed by someone else.....
    I found the Brake-In and GND termination interesting (Pink and Black wire, screwed to Radio chassis, top and centre in pic)
    Units works fine....
    Doesn't look like great practice though.

    Last edited by ol' boy; 07-05-18 at 11:11 PM.
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #32
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,795
    Thanks
    7,667
    Thanked 9,429 Times in 4,787 Posts
    Rep Power
    3976
    Reputation
    163652

    Default

    V0054 DAB+ Digital Audio Broadcasting box
    (Made for Eonon Android head units.)



    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #33
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,121
    Thanks
    141
    Thanked 588 Times in 254 Posts
    Rep Power
    962
    Reputation
    32407

    Default

    the hdd is NTFS and reads and plays everything but when i tried to record
    to it the usb camera app could not find it.



    i also have a one of these which by default are fat32



    plugged it in found straight away and default camera recording app
    on the unit recorded to it without any issue , the camera plugged in is only a endoscope
    for testing because i dont have a usb cam for the unit.
    $25 for 128gig of storage cheaper than a sdcard
    Last edited by fandtm666; 08-05-18 at 07:42 AM.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to fandtm666 For This Useful Post:

    ol' boy (08-05-18)

  • #34
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,795
    Thanks
    7,667
    Thanked 9,429 Times in 4,787 Posts
    Rep Power
    3976
    Reputation
    163652

    Default

    Wow, i'll have to try my NTFS Pocket Drives for file play back
    I thought no way the Android Unit would recognise them. Considering it cant see exFAT.

    Thank you for the link to the thumb drives, do they come in normal USB?
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #35
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,121
    Thanks
    141
    Thanked 588 Times in 254 Posts
    Rep Power
    962
    Reputation
    32407

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oceanboy View Post
    Wow, i'll have to try my NTFS Pocket Drives for file play back
    I thought no way the Android Unit would recognise them. Considering it cant see exFAT.

    Thank you for the link to the thumb drives, do they come in normal USB?
    the drives have 2 connections one either end you just slide the top one way or the other.
    I actually got it to be able to backup my iphone and do recordings from iphone to it
    when i have the need because my phone is only a 16gig .

    standard usb - mini usb for android , so i just plug it in via the standard usb
    into one of the 2 usb cables on the head unit.
    Last edited by fandtm666; 08-05-18 at 07:46 AM.

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fandtm666 For This Useful Post:

    ol' boy (08-05-18),xapi (08-05-18)

  • #36
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    85
    Reputation
    70

    Default



    I think that's what the doctor ordered. What could be the blue wire for?

  • #37
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,795
    Thanks
    7,667
    Thanked 9,429 Times in 4,787 Posts
    Rep Power
    3976
    Reputation
    163652

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by voyteke View Post


    I think that's what the doctor ordered. What could be the blue wire for?
    Power Antenna or Antenna Booster or both
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #38
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,795
    Thanks
    7,667
    Thanked 9,429 Times in 4,787 Posts
    Rep Power
    3976
    Reputation
    163652

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fandtm666 View Post
    the hdd is NTFS and reads and plays everything but when i tried to record
    to it the usb camera app could not find it.
    Just did some testing on the Eonon GA2114 with Portable HDD's

    Some interesting outcomes:

    My GA2114 has 3 USB inputs (1x Front and 2 x Rear on USB/3G fly leads plugged into rear of unit)

    USB1 is Front (Micro USB)
    USB2 and 3 Rear (Standard USB)

    I managed to get a 1TB Portable HDD (NTFS) to load and read and play files ONLY when using either of the Rear USB inputs
    It would not even recognise the HDD using the Front micro USB port
    (this is what i had tried in the passed and figured it just doesn't load Portable HDD's, until you showed it would 666)

    Next, i could not have a second USB thumb drive (FAT32) in the spare Rear USB port and expect both drives to load
    Which ever was plugged in first, would load, then other was ignored

    I could have the 1TB HDD plugged into a Rear USB port then add a 32GB Thumb drive to the front USB port and both would load and play.
    The Android unit would show NAND / SD CARD / USB1 and USB2 under the Storage setting

    As expected, the Android unit was a bit laggy as it sorted through the 1TB HDD file table, would be the same on my laptop to be honest, the drive is packed full of files and folders.

    So for me, No HDD in front USB port, so far only a 32GB Thumb drive in the front USB port works.
    And the Rear USB ports will take 1 drive, either the Portable HDD or the Thumb Drive at a time.

    Very impressed.

    I don't plan on leaving a 1TB HDD permanently connected the head unit, 64GB or 128GB is more than i can remember.
    But that fact it can be connected might be handy if the drive was taken in the vehicle on long trips away is good enough.
    Played some 1080p files and playback was fast and smooth just using the native Android player

    UPDATE

    Plugged a 2TB Portable HDD (NTFS) in the rear USB port, it loaded and showed all files
    But file play back kept stalling then starting. It might have been a small fault with the drive as it was making a clicking noise.

    Not sure i'm a fan of running the higher current draw Portable HDD's off the Eonon unit, i have no idea what power supply is supporting the USB ports
    I'd hate to cook something on the moterboard

    My 1TB drive seems to run silent and smooth though
    Last edited by ol' boy; 08-05-18 at 08:25 PM.
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #39
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,121
    Thanks
    141
    Thanked 588 Times in 254 Posts
    Rep Power
    962
    Reputation
    32407

    Default

    nice report there mate , my external drive has a 250gig ssd so uses sweet fa power
    but like your self only on long trips because the 128 stores more than enough
    music and no i also know it can be recorded to.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to fandtm666 For This Useful Post:

    ol' boy (08-05-18)

  • #40
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,795
    Thanks
    7,667
    Thanked 9,429 Times in 4,787 Posts
    Rep Power
    3976
    Reputation
    163652

    Default

    Brilliant fandtm666, i hadn't even considered a Solid State Drive, that would be awesome.
    I have been using a 32GB Thumb drive for my stored media, it has heaps of music (mp3 and FLAC) and 50 or 60 full music video clips and there is still 22Gb free
    64GB is more than most people can handle i'd think.... 128GB, wawaweewah

    Out of interest i still have a lousy 2GB Micro SD card in the GPS slot, that could be improved to larger and faster card i guess
    I had purchased the 64GB SDXC card for that purpose, but as the units only natively support 32GB FAT32 (SDHC), i'll find a proper 32GB SDHC for that.
    Last thing i want is GPS maps failing or App writing failing.
    Last edited by ol' boy; 08-05-18 at 01:00 PM.
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •