Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345
Results 81 to 96 of 96

Thread: Eonon Android Car Radios

  1. #81
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    51
    Posts
    2,514
    Thanks
    348
    Thanked 516 Times in 355 Posts
    Rep Power
    361
    Reputation
    7118

    Default

    I won't be watching TV or Netflix or using any streaming apps.

    Sent from my K10000 using Tapatalk



  • #82
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    83
    Reputation
    70

    Default

    I've installed HAL9k ROM (from XDA) on my 2170 unit, and, now that developer of HAL9k provided an Android 9 build, I've installed Android 9, seems to work OK. A9 is a standard build, whereas A8/HAL9k includes additional settings/features, so I might go back to it (unless similar ROM is ported to A9)

    I'm trying to set a GPS data logger to continuously log any travel, but, it doesn't restart logging after car is restarted, apparently with the custom ROM I will be able to so so

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to voyteke For This Useful Post:

    fandtm666 (26-04-19),ol' boy (26-04-19)

  • #83
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,511
    Thanks
    7,510
    Thanked 9,142 Times in 4,656 Posts
    Rep Power
    3850
    Reputation
    157912

    Default

    Well Done....
    Wasn't much development of these when I started.

    What improvements have you noticed?
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #84
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    83
    Reputation
    70

    Default

    this particular Android 9 build was a disaster on my 2170, unit would loose time settings, on every power on, time was wrong, GPS updates were 2 hours off, network updates were off by ? whatever
    oops, forgot to take some shots before re formatting, sorry... re installed Hal's moded A8. with A9, I see on XDA few ppl love it, but, 3 or 4 had same time/clock issue like me

    below some default setup images, main improvements is additional settings (that I don't know much about (but (hopefully?) can't hurt having?)), so you can configure apps to restart after ACC OFF

    (hmm, not sure how to post images, maybe this?)


    my main usage with this unit is radio and street navigation, occasionally Internet radio or Spotify (now that my entry level plan has more data that I know what to do with, might use it more.)
    might have another go at setting Torque or some other OBD app (though OBD socket has been occupied by TT Curfer (OBD data logger)
    Last edited by voyteke; 26-04-19 at 10:29 PM.

  • #85
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    8,081
    Thanks
    7,342
    Thanked 4,663 Times in 2,311 Posts
    Rep Power
    2053
    Reputation
    84520

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by voyteke View Post
    I've installed HAL9k ROM
    You'd better watch those
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #86
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    51
    Posts
    2,514
    Thanks
    348
    Thanked 516 Times in 355 Posts
    Rep Power
    361
    Reputation
    7118

    Default

    Might get around to installing the reversing camera this weekend, instructions aren't that clear but with my CANBUS system should i only need power and an earth for the camera and not a reverse light pickup ?

  • #87
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,511
    Thanks
    7,510
    Thanked 9,142 Times in 4,656 Posts
    Rep Power
    3850
    Reputation
    157912

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loanrangiel View Post
    Might get around to installing the reversing camera this weekend, instructions aren't that clear but with my CANBUS system should i only need power and an earth for the camera and not a reverse light pickup ?
    Mine works off the reverse tail light
    That in-turn triggers the unit to enable the camera input to be displayed
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #88
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    51
    Posts
    2,514
    Thanks
    348
    Thanked 516 Times in 355 Posts
    Rep Power
    361
    Reputation
    7118

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oceanboy View Post
    Mine works off the reverse tail light
    That in-turn triggers the unit to enable the camera input to be displayed
    Thats how expect it needs to be wired but thought maybe the canbus would recognise its in reverse and then turn the screen to camera mode, will see how its on the weekend.

  • #89
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    51
    Posts
    2,514
    Thanks
    348
    Thanked 516 Times in 355 Posts
    Rep Power
    361
    Reputation
    7118

    Default

    Sent an email to Eonon and they advise to connect the camera power to the patch lead harness camera input so then i just need to earth it at the camera end.

  • #90
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,091
    Thanks
    136
    Thanked 542 Times in 240 Posts
    Rep Power
    940
    Reputation
    31487

    Default

    had issues with my reverse camera and i had to actually snip the canbus cable for reverse
    and connect and all worked perfect .For some reason the module they sent wasnt reading
    the trigger.

  • #91
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    51
    Posts
    2,514
    Thanks
    348
    Thanked 516 Times in 355 Posts
    Rep Power
    361
    Reputation
    7118

    Default

    Was up in the high country on the weekend and GPS always had a signal and the IGO nextgen i loaded showed the track we were on and all the intersecting tracks.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to loanrangiel For This Useful Post:

    ol' boy (27-05-19)

  • #92
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,511
    Thanks
    7,510
    Thanked 9,142 Times in 4,656 Posts
    Rep Power
    3850
    Reputation
    157912

    Default

    I have to agree, the GPS on my Eonon is better than my phone!
    Its great down to walking track level. And never losses connection, but it does have an external antenna where as the phone doesn't.
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #93
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    51
    Posts
    2,514
    Thanks
    348
    Thanked 516 Times in 355 Posts
    Rep Power
    361
    Reputation
    7118

    Default

    Had the day off yesterday so decided to fit the reverse camera, after emailing aerpro s test confirmed that I could wire the camera power into the head unit's reverse control lead and the aerpro harness reverse trigger lead.
    This meant no wiring required at the camera end.
    Works well and even turns on without the head unit being on.


    Sent from my K10000 using Tapatalk

  • The Following User Says Thank You to loanrangiel For This Useful Post:

    ol' boy (08-06-19)

  • #94
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    51
    Posts
    2,514
    Thanks
    348
    Thanked 516 Times in 355 Posts
    Rep Power
    361
    Reputation
    7118

    Default

    Got the dash cam coming as a freebie from Eonon so will see how that goes, hopefully i can use it like a gopro when i go offroad except i don't think it has audio.

  • #95
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,511
    Thanks
    7,510
    Thanked 9,142 Times in 4,656 Posts
    Rep Power
    3850
    Reputation
    157912

    Default Eonon Android 9 Pie head units

    Just checked out a new Eonon unit installed
    Now with Android 9 Pie, Bluetooth 5, Android/Apple Car Play support, 1024x600 Res.



    Eonon now selling their own OBD2 adapter:



    And their own DAB+ adapter
    (I think this has been posted previously)

    Last edited by ol' boy; 13-08-19 at 06:58 PM.
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #96
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    51
    Posts
    2,514
    Thanks
    348
    Thanked 516 Times in 355 Posts
    Rep Power
    361
    Reputation
    7118

    Default

    BT V5.0 would be good as my OBD software doesn't work on mine, their OBD and DAB adapter were options when i bought mine.

  • Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •