Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 81 to 100 of 108

Thread: Eonon Android Car Radios

  1. #81
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    51
    Posts
    2,545
    Thanks
    357
    Thanked 521 Times in 360 Posts
    Rep Power
    368
    Reputation
    7218

    Default

    I won't be watching TV or Netflix or using any streaming apps.

    Sent from my K10000 using Tapatalk



  • #82
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    87
    Reputation
    70

    Default

    I've installed HAL9k ROM (from XDA) on my 2170 unit, and, now that developer of HAL9k provided an Android 9 build, I've installed Android 9, seems to work OK. A9 is a standard build, whereas A8/HAL9k includes additional settings/features, so I might go back to it (unless similar ROM is ported to A9)

    I'm trying to set a GPS data logger to continuously log any travel, but, it doesn't restart logging after car is restarted, apparently with the custom ROM I will be able to so so

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to voyteke For This Useful Post:

    fandtm666 (26-04-19),ol' boy (26-04-19)

  • #83
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,876
    Thanks
    7,713
    Thanked 9,510 Times in 4,823 Posts
    Rep Power
    4013
    Reputation
    165272

    Default

    Well Done....
    Wasn't much development of these when I started.

    What improvements have you noticed?
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #84
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
    Rep Power
    87
    Reputation
    70

    Default

    this particular Android 9 build was a disaster on my 2170, unit would loose time settings, on every power on, time was wrong, GPS updates were 2 hours off, network updates were off by ? whatever
    oops, forgot to take some shots before re formatting, sorry... re installed Hal's moded A8. with A9, I see on XDA few ppl love it, but, 3 or 4 had same time/clock issue like me

    below some default setup images, main improvements is additional settings (that I don't know much about (but (hopefully?) can't hurt having?)), so you can configure apps to restart after ACC OFF

    (hmm, not sure how to post images, maybe this?)


    my main usage with this unit is radio and street navigation, occasionally Internet radio or Spotify (now that my entry level plan has more data that I know what to do with, might use it more.)
    might have another go at setting Torque or some other OBD app (though OBD socket has been occupied by TT Curfer (OBD data logger)
    Last edited by voyteke; 26-04-19 at 10:29 PM.

  • #85
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    8,368
    Thanks
    7,744
    Thanked 4,901 Times in 2,421 Posts
    Rep Power
    2160
    Reputation
    89280

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by voyteke View Post
    I've installed HAL9k ROM
    You'd better watch those
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #86
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    51
    Posts
    2,545
    Thanks
    357
    Thanked 521 Times in 360 Posts
    Rep Power
    368
    Reputation
    7218

    Default

    Might get around to installing the reversing camera this weekend, instructions aren't that clear but with my CANBUS system should i only need power and an earth for the camera and not a reverse light pickup ?

  • #87
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,876
    Thanks
    7,713
    Thanked 9,510 Times in 4,823 Posts
    Rep Power
    4013
    Reputation
    165272

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loanrangiel View Post
    Might get around to installing the reversing camera this weekend, instructions aren't that clear but with my CANBUS system should i only need power and an earth for the camera and not a reverse light pickup ?
    Mine works off the reverse tail light
    That in-turn triggers the unit to enable the camera input to be displayed
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #88
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    51
    Posts
    2,545
    Thanks
    357
    Thanked 521 Times in 360 Posts
    Rep Power
    368
    Reputation
    7218

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oceanboy View Post
    Mine works off the reverse tail light
    That in-turn triggers the unit to enable the camera input to be displayed
    Thats how expect it needs to be wired but thought maybe the canbus would recognise its in reverse and then turn the screen to camera mode, will see how its on the weekend.

  • #89
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    51
    Posts
    2,545
    Thanks
    357
    Thanked 521 Times in 360 Posts
    Rep Power
    368
    Reputation
    7218

    Default

    Sent an email to Eonon and they advise to connect the camera power to the patch lead harness camera input so then i just need to earth it at the camera end.

  • #90
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,134
    Thanks
    145
    Thanked 600 Times in 263 Posts
    Rep Power
    969
    Reputation
    32647

    Default

    had issues with my reverse camera and i had to actually snip the canbus cable for reverse
    and connect and all worked perfect .For some reason the module they sent wasnt reading
    the trigger.

  • #91
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    51
    Posts
    2,545
    Thanks
    357
    Thanked 521 Times in 360 Posts
    Rep Power
    368
    Reputation
    7218

    Default

    Was up in the high country on the weekend and GPS always had a signal and the IGO nextgen i loaded showed the track we were on and all the intersecting tracks.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to loanrangiel For This Useful Post:

    ol' boy (27-05-19)

  • #92
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,876
    Thanks
    7,713
    Thanked 9,510 Times in 4,823 Posts
    Rep Power
    4013
    Reputation
    165272

    Default

    I have to agree, the GPS on my Eonon is better than my phone!
    Its great down to walking track level. And never losses connection, but it does have an external antenna where as the phone doesn't.
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #93
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    51
    Posts
    2,545
    Thanks
    357
    Thanked 521 Times in 360 Posts
    Rep Power
    368
    Reputation
    7218

    Default

    Had the day off yesterday so decided to fit the reverse camera, after emailing aerpro s test confirmed that I could wire the camera power into the head unit's reverse control lead and the aerpro harness reverse trigger lead.
    This meant no wiring required at the camera end.
    Works well and even turns on without the head unit being on.


    Sent from my K10000 using Tapatalk

  • The Following User Says Thank You to loanrangiel For This Useful Post:

    ol' boy (08-06-19)

  • #94
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    51
    Posts
    2,545
    Thanks
    357
    Thanked 521 Times in 360 Posts
    Rep Power
    368
    Reputation
    7218

    Default

    Got the dash cam coming as a freebie from Eonon so will see how that goes, hopefully i can use it like a gopro when i go offroad except i don't think it has audio.

  • #95
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,876
    Thanks
    7,713
    Thanked 9,510 Times in 4,823 Posts
    Rep Power
    4013
    Reputation
    165272

    Default Eonon Android 9 Pie head units

    Just checked out a new Eonon unit installed
    Now with Android 9 Pie, Bluetooth 5, Android/Apple Car Play support, 1024x600 Res.



    Eonon now selling their own OBD2 adapter:



    And their own DAB+ adapter
    (I think this has been posted previously)

    Last edited by ol' boy; 13-08-19 at 06:58 PM.
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #96
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    51
    Posts
    2,545
    Thanks
    357
    Thanked 521 Times in 360 Posts
    Rep Power
    368
    Reputation
    7218

    Default

    BT V5.0 would be good as my OBD software doesn't work on mine, their OBD and DAB adapter were options when i bought mine.

  • #97
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,876
    Thanks
    7,713
    Thanked 9,510 Times in 4,823 Posts
    Rep Power
    4013
    Reputation
    165272

    Default

    Amazing how narrow the new units are



    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #98
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    51
    Posts
    2,545
    Thanks
    357
    Thanked 521 Times in 360 Posts
    Rep Power
    368
    Reputation
    7218

    Default

    I was originally going to fit one of these shallow units into a spare space in my dash an wire into the aux input but since the CD player died it made sense just to replace it with a standard DD sized unit, still really happy with my choice.
    I've seen some pics of other generic android units opened up and there is a lot of dead space inside, room for at least 1 or 2 SSD HDD's.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to loanrangiel For This Useful Post:

    ol' boy (06-09-19)

  • #99
    Premium Member
    ol' boy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    16,876
    Thanks
    7,713
    Thanked 9,510 Times in 4,823 Posts
    Rep Power
    4013
    Reputation
    165272

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by loanrangiel View Post
    I was originally going to fit one of these shallow units into a spare space in my dash an wire into the aux input but since the CD player died it made sense just to replace it with a standard DD sized unit, still really happy with my choice.
    I've seen some pics of other generic android units opened up and there is a lot of dead space inside, room for at least 1 or 2 SSD HDD's.
    That is a good point
    Other units don't have the amount of USB inputs the Eonon units have either
    I must admit, i have a 1TB hard drive connected to my Eonon head unit and i really don't use it at all
    Too much "Streaming" content these days... HDD's have gone the way of the CD
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #100
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Melbourne, NE.
    Age
    51
    Posts
    2,545
    Thanks
    357
    Thanked 521 Times in 360 Posts
    Rep Power
    368
    Reputation
    7218

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ol' boy View Post
    That is a good point
    Other units don't have the amount of USB inputs the Eonon units have either
    I must admit, i have a 1TB hard drive connected to my Eonon head unit and i really don't use it at all
    Too much "Streaming" content these days... HDD's have gone the way of the CD

    Untill you go out of a reception area, i don't stream in the car, prefer to just load up onboard storage or usb drive.

  • Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

    Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •