Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Bye to foxtel cable

  1. #1
    Premium Member
    mkhannah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    2,479
    Thanks
    3,237
    Thanked 1,506 Times in 767 Posts
    Rep Power
    615
    Reputation
    19742

    Default Bye to foxtel cable

    I know it's common news that cable is almost history but our iq2 cable box died and foxtel won't replace it, they are going to give me an iq3 and put me on satellite.

    My immediate problem is that it appears my rf modulator that sends a picture to the man cave won't work with an iq3, can anyone suggest the best solution for me please? Otherwise I'll just move my wireless mini pc out there and watch their app.



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    55
    Posts
    5,391
    Thanks
    219
    Thanked 3,402 Times in 1,480 Posts
    Rep Power
    1250
    Reputation
    46648

    Default

    HDMI splitter and HDMI to LAN sender/receiver....

    Sent from my CLT-L29 using Tapatalk



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • #3
    Senior Member
    LeroyPatrol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N.E. Vic
    Posts
    15,709
    Thanks
    3,178
    Thanked 4,317 Times in 2,607 Posts
    Rep Power
    1435
    Reputation
    38691

    Default

    i remember a time when this is what people wanted lol

  • The Following User Says Thank You to LeroyPatrol For This Useful Post:

    Tiny (25-05-18)

  • #4
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    17,557
    Thanks
    5,128
    Thanked 11,321 Times in 5,580 Posts
    Rep Power
    3950
    Reputation
    161535

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hoe View Post
    HDMI splitter and HDMI to LAN sender/receiver....
    Or HDMI splitter to wireless HDMI sender/receiver... or, HDMI splitter to HDMI/RF modulator.

    Sending HDMI would provide you with HD picture quality, as would a digital RF modulator.

  • #5
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    55
    Posts
    5,391
    Thanks
    219
    Thanked 3,402 Times in 1,480 Posts
    Rep Power
    1250
    Reputation
    46648

    Default

    I prefer the lan units as wireless senders can be hit and miss

    You can still use them over wifi.


    Sent from my CLT-L29 using Tapatalk



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • #6
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    55
    Posts
    4,583
    Thanks
    1,471
    Thanked 2,383 Times in 1,098 Posts
    Rep Power
    972
    Reputation
    34095

    Default

    I use video/audio baluns over cat 5. I know itís not hdmi but Iím not a videophile like some.
    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!

  • #7
    Premium Member
    mkhannah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    2,479
    Thanks
    3,237
    Thanked 1,506 Times in 767 Posts
    Rep Power
    615
    Reputation
    19742

    Default

    Thanks for all your suggestions guys. Just got the install done to iq3.

    My young bloke is away working at the moment, he's back on Friday and he takes his xbox one with him. He has a kit for it to link up to an old crt tv which is all they have in their rooms....anyway I'll try using that to my old rf modulator and see if that works. The man cave only has an aerial socket, no hard wired internet etc. The cheapest solution may be a wireless sender as not too much is viewed out there, just the odd game of rugby/soccer which isn't on fta.

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •