Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Bye to foxtel cable

  1. #1
    Premium Member
    mkhannah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    2,591
    Thanks
    4,032
    Thanked 1,587 Times in 806 Posts
    Rep Power
    676
    Reputation
    21362

    Default Bye to foxtel cable

    I know it's common news that cable is almost history but our iq2 cable box died and foxtel won't replace it, they are going to give me an iq3 and put me on satellite.

    My immediate problem is that it appears my rf modulator that sends a picture to the man cave won't work with an iq3, can anyone suggest the best solution for me please? Otherwise I'll just move my wireless mini pc out there and watch their app.



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    runway.knighted.crypt
    Age
    57
    Posts
    5,766
    Thanks
    241
    Thanked 3,849 Times in 1,663 Posts
    Rep Power
    1466
    Reputation
    55588

    Default

    HDMI splitter and HDMI to LAN sender/receiver....

    Sent from my CLT-L29 using Tapatalk


    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • #3
    Premium Member
    LeroyPatrol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    N.E. Vic
    Posts
    16,172
    Thanks
    3,505
    Thanked 4,683 Times in 2,779 Posts
    Rep Power
    1622
    Reputation
    46011

    Default

    i remember a time when this is what people wanted lol

  • The Following User Says Thank You to LeroyPatrol For This Useful Post:

    Tiny (25-05-18)

  • #4
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    18,655
    Thanks
    5,762
    Thanked 12,561 Times in 6,105 Posts
    Rep Power
    4530
    Reputation
    187539

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hoe View Post
    HDMI splitter and HDMI to LAN sender/receiver....
    Or HDMI splitter to wireless HDMI sender/receiver... or, HDMI splitter to HDMI/RF modulator.

    Sending HDMI would provide you with HD picture quality, as would a digital RF modulator.

  • #5
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    runway.knighted.crypt
    Age
    57
    Posts
    5,766
    Thanks
    241
    Thanked 3,849 Times in 1,663 Posts
    Rep Power
    1466
    Reputation
    55588

    Default

    I prefer the lan units as wireless senders can be hit and miss

    You can still use them over wifi.


    Sent from my CLT-L29 using Tapatalk


    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • #6
    Premium Lager

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Age
    57
    Posts
    4,799
    Thanks
    1,585
    Thanked 2,634 Times in 1,193 Posts
    Rep Power
    1106
    Reputation
    39206

    Default

    I use video/audio baluns over cat 5. I know itís not hdmi but Iím not a videophile like some.
    __________________________________________________ __
    Statistically, if you wait long enough, everything will happen!

  • #7
    Premium Member
    mkhannah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    2,591
    Thanks
    4,032
    Thanked 1,587 Times in 806 Posts
    Rep Power
    676
    Reputation
    21362

    Default

    Thanks for all your suggestions guys. Just got the install done to iq3.

    My young bloke is away working at the moment, he's back on Friday and he takes his xbox one with him. He has a kit for it to link up to an old crt tv which is all they have in their rooms....anyway I'll try using that to my old rf modulator and see if that works. The man cave only has an aerial socket, no hard wired internet etc. The cheapest solution may be a wireless sender as not too much is viewed out there, just the odd game of rugby/soccer which isn't on fta.

  • #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    30

    Default

    Foxtel Now

  • #9
    Premium Member
    mkhannah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    2,591
    Thanks
    4,032
    Thanked 1,587 Times in 806 Posts
    Rep Power
    676
    Reputation
    21362

    Default

    Ended up with a digital modulator, although with media boxes so cheap now I should have got one with a Foxtel go app.
    Good picture though.

  • #10
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,360
    Thanks
    846
    Thanked 428 Times in 266 Posts
    Rep Power
    333
    Reputation
    6261

    Default

    anything worth watching on foxtel or is it still repeats and ads?

  • #11
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3,437
    Thanks
    1,783
    Thanked 1,892 Times in 944 Posts
    Rep Power
    839
    Reputation
    28228

    Default

    Read during the week, Foxtel now a loss or near loss making venture, local papers in decline and falling sales of mast head publications also in decline = Ruperts influence also in decline
    There is a fine line between "Hobby" and "Madness"

  • The Following User Says Thank You to allover For This Useful Post:

    th37sk (20-06-20)

  • #12
    Senior Member
    Johnno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    The Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    1,254
    Thanked 1,930 Times in 452 Posts
    Rep Power
    965
    Reputation
    38611

    Default

    @efab,
    Same shit different day... Repeats and Ads. I'm seriously thinking of dumping it.. After so long I cant even remember when I first subscribed.
    It was called Galaxy satellite back then.
    Last edited by Johnno; 09-06-20 at 04:56 PM.

  • #13
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    1,360
    Thanks
    846
    Thanked 428 Times in 266 Posts
    Rep Power
    333
    Reputation
    6261

    Default

    can't understand why people still have it. years ago it would have been worth it just doesn't seem right for what it costs.

  • #14
    Premium Member
    Mr 672A's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    The only Country in the English speaking World where you cannot sue your Solicitor or Barrister.
    Posts
    3,910
    Thanks
    1,166
    Thanked 1,171 Times in 675 Posts
    Rep Power
    657
    Reputation
    20925

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Johnno View Post
    @efab,

    It was called Galaxy satellite back then.
    Galaxy was a different Company and had nothing to do with Fox Smell. Fox Smell screw Galaxy and they collapse because of fox smell.
    Not responsible for any post written after the 28/10/2014. My pet hate, Corrupt Politicians, Corrupt Legal System + a legal system Australia wide that does not allow you to sue a Solicitor or Barrister for Professional Negligence (as Stated by the Law Society and prominent Lawyers) and Corrupt Cops. Not necessarily in this order. Please Note Lawyers are PROTECTED SPECIES IN THIS COUNTRY, PROTECTED FROM THEIR F..K UPS

  • The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mr 672A For This Useful Post:

    Johnno (16-11-20),OSIRUS (16-11-20)

  • #15
    Senior Member
    Johnno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    The Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    924
    Thanks
    1,254
    Thanked 1,930 Times in 452 Posts
    Rep Power
    965
    Reputation
    38611

    Default

    Yep, you are correct. It is a different company. All I was trying to say is, I've been subscribing to Pay Tv since the Galaxy days.
    Then migrated to Fox when Galaxy crashed. I think they had the exact same channel lineup. I can't remember. /mid-early 90's
    I still have the original Irdeto 1 V1.2 card that I used to fiddle with.

    Last edited by Johnno; 16-11-20 at 01:34 PM.

  • The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Johnno For This Useful Post:

    harryt (08-12-20),jayhari (21-11-20),OSIRUS (16-11-20)

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •