Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Connecting Video Cam via WiFi to 'Smart Phone'.

  1. #1
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Central Tablelands of NSW
    Age
    76
    Posts
    13,824
    Thanks
    1,242
    Thanked 3,803 Times in 2,523 Posts
    Rep Power
    1741
    Reputation
    56926

    Default Connecting Video Cam via WiFi to 'Smart Phone'.

    The Reject shop is selling a Video Camera for $39 that connects to your 'smart phone' via Wifi.
    As an aside, the system supports PAN and TILT !!!
    It also has Hear and Speak audio which you you can turn on and off.
    It must be connected to a typical 5 Volt supply by a USB cord.
    No 240V/5V plug pack supplied.
    Motion sensor and Night Vision.
    Takes up to a 32 GB micro SM card for recording on.
    No mention though if it just records and stops when full or wipes previous recorded material.

    Well, I drove my self sillier yesterday trying to get the two connected.
    After many many futile and frustrating attempts I did manage to get a picture on the phone and made the camera move Pan slightly (5mm) and then lost the bloody lot.

    You have to go to Playstore (android) for the software but which one?
    I chose one of the two called 'Motorized Camera' which I have now deleted and going to TRY the other one listed and see if I can get THAT to work.

    Note this Camera isnt intended to work like the one on TV that rings your phone when your away so you can see and hear who is where ever you have the Camera installed, the Front Door for instance.
    The Camera and SMART phone must be within WiFi range to function.
    That could be handy in some situations so long as you can power up the camera.

    Anyway, I will download the other program and see if that works any better.

    I do wonder why I get into things I know damn well are smarter than me.............
    I stand unequivicably behind everything I say , I just dont ever remember saying it !!



Look Here ->
  • #2
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    8,189
    Thanks
    7,475
    Thanked 4,779 Times in 2,356 Posts
    Rep Power
    2102
    Reputation
    86840

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gordon_s1942 View Post
    I do wonder why I get into things I know damn well are smarter than me.............
    Maybe the thing is so dumb that the big words you are using to control it are only confusing it.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #3
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Central Tablelands of NSW
    Age
    76
    Posts
    13,824
    Thanks
    1,242
    Thanked 3,803 Times in 2,523 Posts
    Rep Power
    1741
    Reputation
    56926

    Default

    I dont use nuttin that aint in Websters Dictionary............
    I stand unequivicably behind everything I say , I just dont ever remember saying it !!

  • #4
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,112
    Thanks
    141
    Thanked 571 Times in 248 Posts
    Rep Power
    954
    Reputation
    32067

    Default

    brand and model would be a good start

    most have their own dedicated apps for them
    have a look on the base and see if there is a QSCODE
    as most are adding that to their devices so the right
    software is found.

  • #5
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Central Tablelands of NSW
    Age
    76
    Posts
    13,824
    Thanks
    1,242
    Thanked 3,803 Times in 2,523 Posts
    Rep Power
    1741
    Reputation
    56926

    Default

    iDigital if that means anything and all it says is to go one either Apple or Google Playstore to get 'software'.
    I cant use that 'scan' feature as I dont have the App for it.
    I did get it working to display a picture but so far the 'home page' doesnt display the 'touch' points to cause the camera to move.

    Just downloaded 2 QRSCAN apps and both read the details ok but say they cant find the website.
    So I have deleted the various Apps for the time being and will try again later.
    Last edited by gordon_s1942; 18-06-18 at 03:10 PM.
    I stand unequivicably behind everything I say , I just dont ever remember saying it !!

  • #6
    Senior Member
    fandtm666's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    5,112
    Thanks
    141
    Thanked 571 Times in 248 Posts
    Rep Power
    954
    Reputation
    32067

    Default

    ok i have an idea on the camera and is one that
    i think was sold at the reject shop it uses's
    and app from clever dog


  • #7
    Premium Member RedXT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    379
    Thanks
    191
    Thanked 100 Times in 57 Posts
    Rep Power
    182
    Reputation
    1484

    Default

    download this ONVIF Device Manager on any pc connected to the wifi network and see if it can find the camera, If the camera is on and connected to the wifi it will tell u the information about it as well as showing a picture, at least u will then know the camera is working correctly.
    Last edited by RedXT; 19-06-18 at 10:27 AM.

  • #8
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Central Tablelands of NSW
    Age
    76
    Posts
    13,824
    Thanks
    1,242
    Thanked 3,803 Times in 2,523 Posts
    Rep Power
    1741
    Reputation
    56926

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fandtm666 View Post
    ok i have an idea on the camera and is one that
    i think was sold at the reject shop it uses's
    and app from clever dog

    I hadnt seen this sold by the Reject shop before but that means little.
    This camera has a 330 degree PAN and a 90 degree Tilt, not outdoors and no 3G option.
    When I had it working before, it was the Pan/Tilt controls that were NOT available and I am wondering is my phone smart enough or have enough memory for it to function?

    Thanks for the help btw, very appreciated.
    I stand unequivicably behind everything I say , I just dont ever remember saying it !!

  • #9
    Premium Member RedXT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    379
    Thanks
    191
    Thanked 100 Times in 57 Posts
    Rep Power
    182
    Reputation
    1484

    Default

    I have something like these depending on the software u may or may not be able to use tilt,pan and zoom if capable. the generic ones like this connect to eg 10.0.0.63:5000/onvif/device_service where onvif is what supplies the video and pan,tilt commands are sent to port 5000 so it can depends on what what software supports what.

    I use onvifer app and just turn the camera on start Onvifer hit the + button to add camera and select "from discovered" and it shows the camera it will then connect, name test and save settings all good

    cheers thomo

  • #10
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Central Tablelands of NSW
    Age
    76
    Posts
    13,824
    Thanks
    1,242
    Thanked 3,803 Times in 2,523 Posts
    Rep Power
    1741
    Reputation
    56926

    Default

    I have downloaded and removed 3 separate QRSCAN programs and they all find the devise ok but they cant find the link or website.
    At the moment the camera is looking at the ceiling after it does its Pan and Tilt start up routine.
    I could just mount it like that or 'Armstrong' the Camera to the vertical angle but I dont want to do that.

    I am going to try that 'Cleverdog' program suggested by Fandtm666 when I work out how to on the phone.
    I stand unequivicably behind everything I say , I just dont ever remember saying it !!

  • #11
    Senior Member joezep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    SE Melbourne
    Posts
    849
    Thanks
    458
    Thanked 229 Times in 161 Posts
    Rep Power
    219
    Reputation
    2428

    Default

    Is it this one? If so read the link has got instructions



    The cleverdog app is in the play store install from there

  • #12
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Central Tablelands of NSW
    Age
    76
    Posts
    13,824
    Thanks
    1,242
    Thanked 3,803 Times in 2,523 Posts
    Rep Power
    1741
    Reputation
    56926

    Default

    No, the one I bought is slightly different in shape and has the ability to Pan and Tilt, this one shown doesnt.
    Loaded the app and signed up but it requires the user to press a button on the camera that mine doesnt have..............

    Back to the drawing board.
    I stand unequivicably behind everything I say , I just dont ever remember saying it !!

  • #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default iDigital Motorized Camera aka iTek Motorized Camera

    By any chance was the OP referring to iDigital Motorized Camera aka iTek Motorized Camera
    A friend of mine was given one recently (purchased from the Reject Shop).
    There are countless bad reviews of the app that you are supposed to use. (There are three versions of the app in the play store)
    The majority of complaints fall into 2 categories -
    1) The app fails to connect, or easily loses the connection
    2) It can only be used when both the camera and the phone are within range of the Wifi equipment
    HOWEVER one reviewer said that he can be in Hong Kong, and easily see his driveway (in another country).

    Either the App is buggy
    OR
    The instructions are incomplete (or confusing)

    Has anyone got that camera (AND App) to work properly, when your phone is miles away from your home ?

    Thanks,
    Rob
    Last edited by RobDownUnder; 24-01-19 at 12:24 PM.

  • #14
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    17,793
    Thanks
    5,195
    Thanked 11,523 Times in 5,679 Posts
    Rep Power
    4055
    Reputation
    166151

    Default

    Rob,

    Sadly, the OP (gordon_s1942) won't be able to respond as he passed away in December.



    Gordon did have a tendency to buy rubbish, so it's possible he had the same or a similar product.

  • #15
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    52
    Posts
    30,763
    Thanks
    2,154
    Thanked 13,153 Times in 5,620 Posts
    Rep Power
    4252
    Reputation
    154245

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mtv View Post
    Gordon did have a tendency to buy rubbish, so it's possible he had the same or a similar product.
    ROFL !

    He did indeed. Half the posts on this forum involve Gordon buying cheap rubbish that didn't work. I just hope we can survive without his posts every time Aldi has a sale

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •