Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Free DVD Ripping software

  1. #1
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    52
    Posts
    30,738
    Thanks
    2,140
    Thanked 13,110 Times in 5,607 Posts
    Rep Power
    4221
    Reputation
    152778

    Default Free DVD Ripping software

    hey all

    I want to rip a DVD I own , Up and Down the Glory Road by Richard Clapton as I dont play DVD's anymore and would rather watch them as an mp4 file on a media player.

    Opening up this disc with Handbrake, the preview shows video that has blocks and green tinges all over it. I am presuming its some sort of protection ?

    As I havent done much of this in years, I thought I would ask for any suggestions to other free software I could try before I download a collection of crap that is in fact not free

    Cheers



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    52
    Posts
    30,738
    Thanks
    2,140
    Thanked 13,110 Times in 5,607 Posts
    Rep Power
    4221
    Reputation
    152778

    Default

    Well, looks like DVD Fab works ok. I used the trial and it did the job (with a watermark through it of course). No idea why Handbrake wont do it.

  • #3
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    1,012
    Thanks
    2,408
    Thanked 1,123 Times in 402 Posts
    Rep Power
    461
    Reputation
    19837

    Default

    hate your picture did you take it your self ????

  • #4
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    52
    Posts
    30,738
    Thanks
    2,140
    Thanked 13,110 Times in 5,607 Posts
    Rep Power
    4221
    Reputation
    152778

    Default

    No, I just thought it was extremely annoying so I used it.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to admin For This Useful Post:

    Rick (24-07-18)

  • #5
    Premium Member
    hinekadon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    still above ground level
    Posts
    1,012
    Thanks
    2,408
    Thanked 1,123 Times in 402 Posts
    Rep Power
    461
    Reputation
    19837

    Default

    you are right annoying but not funny to me

  • #6
    Senior Member
    Thala Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    1,284
    Thanks
    811
    Thanked 1,425 Times in 637 Posts
    Rep Power
    680
    Reputation
    27587

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by admin View Post
    Well, looks like DVD Fab works ok. I used the trial and it did the job (with a watermark through it of course). No idea why Handbrake wont do it.

    "Supported Input Sources:
    Handbrake can process most common multimedia files and any DVD or BluRay sources that do not contain any kind of copy protection."


  • #7
    LSemmens
    lsemmens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Rural South OZ
    Posts
    8,097
    Thanks
    7,365
    Thanked 4,681 Times in 2,321 Posts
    Rep Power
    2060
    Reputation
    84880

    Default

    I( used to use DVDshrink but haven't touched it in a couple of years, so cannot comment on recent offerings.
    I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message...

  • #8
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Tasmania
    Posts
    646
    Thanks
    879
    Thanked 566 Times in 277 Posts
    Rep Power
    325
    Reputation
    10521

    Default

    I recall DVDShrink being the one every used to use in the past. It probably still works.

    Another one, that I used more recently is IMGBurn . I ended up ripping all my DVDs to .ISO images, so I donít have to mess around finding the DVD when I want to watch something.

  • #9
    Senior Member
    Philquad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    nelson bay
    Age
    51
    Posts
    3,786
    Thanks
    183
    Thanked 1,237 Times in 741 Posts
    Rep Power
    579
    Reputation
    15578

    Default

    shrink is the go



    bypasses protection
    why do we need the NBN ? because the copper network is constipated & needs fibre

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Philquad For This Useful Post:

    tristen (24-07-18)

  • #10
    Administrator
    admin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Victoria
    Age
    52
    Posts
    30,738
    Thanks
    2,140
    Thanked 13,110 Times in 5,607 Posts
    Rep Power
    4221
    Reputation
    152778

    Default

    Thanks guys, particuarly Phil

  • The Following User Says Thank You to admin For This Useful Post:

    Philquad (24-07-18)

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •