Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: New SatKing DVBS2-980CA Freeview Plus VAST Twin Tuner PVR

  1. #1
    Premium Member
    Smacca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,140
    Thanks
    630
    Thanked 1,052 Times in 413 Posts
    Rep Power
    436
    Reputation
    12107

    Default New SatKing DVBS2-980CA Freeview Plus VAST Twin Tuner PVR Ready

    Announced yesterday. RRP $295.


    The DVBS2-980CA is Australia's Freeview plus twin tuner VAST receiver. The unit has cutiing edge design, compact size with fully featured PVR ready functions. You can now simply plug in a HDD up to 3TB and record 2 channels at once.

    Missed a program? Simply connect to the internet and watch catch up TV from ABC IVeiw, Plus7, Nine Now, SBS on demand and Ten Play. SatKing have again taken the VAST platform to another level.

    Source:


    The SatKing DVBS2-980CA is Australia’s first VAST & Freeview Plus certified satellite TV receiver, making this unit the most advanced VAST receiver on the the market. Fully designed in Australia this top of the range receiver brings a new level of features to the VAST platform.

    The receiver has Freeview Plus catch up TV and the enhanced Freeview Plus EPG built in. No longer will you miss your favourite programs, you can simply go back in the Freeview Plus program guide and catch up available programs.

    Connect an external hard disk drive (up to 3TB) and take advantage of the twin tuners, you can record two different channels and watch a third program from within a network all at the one time. You can also use the receivers advanced media playback functions to playback movies in AVI, DIVX, MOV, FLV, MKV, MP4 files and pictures via the 2 USB ports.

    The receiver has all the market leading features you expect from SatKing like compact size, built in signal finder, 12/240V operation, recording series link, learning remote control and low power consumption.


    * Australian VAST Certified
    * Freeview Plus Catch up TV Certified
    * High Definition MPEG4 Compliant
    * Twin Tuner, Record and 2 Channels and Watch a 3rd from Within a Network
    * USB PVR Ready 3TB Maximum External Hard Disk Drive
    * Pause & Rewind Live TV
    * Compact Size 230x163x43mm
    * Low Power Consumption with Energy Saving Function
    * 8 Day EPG with Series Link
    * Enhanced Freeview EPG
    * Catch up Services ABC i-View, SBS On Demand, Plus7, 9Now, Ten Play
    * Signal Finder with Beeper
    * Optional WIFI Dongle & Infrared Target
    * Subtitles Supported (Closed Captions)
    * 1080P Upscaling
    * Learning Remote
    * Over The Air Software Download Supported
    * Easy to Use with Auto tuning and One Touch Recording

    Source:
    Last edited by Smacca; 24-07-18 at 12:14 AM.

    | www.SatTVGuide.com.au |

    Volunteer, non-profit online TV guides for VAST viewers.

  2. The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to Smacca For This Useful Post:

    efab (24-07-18),gordon_s1942 (24-07-18),hazman (24-07-18),Mr 672A (24-07-18),OSIRUS (18-09-20),Softek2 (24-07-18),Thala Dan (13-08-18),Tiny (24-07-18),tristen (24-07-18)



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Crazy Diamond
    Tiny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tasmania
    Age
    61
    Posts
    6,205
    Thanks
    10,488
    Thanked 5,105 Times in 2,548 Posts
    Rep Power
    1974
    Reputation
    82437

    Default

    That looks like it would be my current preferred choice for VAST.
    Wish it was available from the beginning of VAST history.

    I'd be interested to see some screen shots of user interface for EPG, PVR etc.
    Cheers, Tiny
    "You can lead a person to knowledge, but you can't make them think? If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the problem.
    The information is out there; you just have to let it in."

  • #3
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Central Tablelands of NSW
    Age
    77
    Posts
    13,824
    Thanks
    1,242
    Thanked 3,803 Times in 2,523 Posts
    Rep Power
    1755
    Reputation
    56926

    Default

    Tiny, it certainly is a HUGE step up from the now aging UEC DSD 4121 with NO option of recording in its first release.
    The price too makes it much more affordable too.

    Now all we need is some decent programs worth recording !!!!

    Some questions to be answered as the information become available.

    Must you use a HDD to record to or can it record via USB to a memory stick?

    Are the recordings 'portable' to be played back on 'anything' or only on the one that recorded the program or another of the same make?

    *********************************
    I have always said I am not the brightest candle on the cake but on viewing the rear panel, I realised it has TWO satellite inputs (Twin Tuners dickhead!!) which might be a problem if their VAST instal only has a single cable (old Austar) or are running a Foxtel SD stb on one leg and VAST on the other !!
    Last edited by gordon_s1942; 24-07-18 at 04:18 PM.
    I stand unequivicably behind everything I say , I just dont ever remember saying it !!

  • #4
    Premium Member
    Smacca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,140
    Thanks
    630
    Thanked 1,052 Times in 413 Posts
    Rep Power
    436
    Reputation
    12107

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gordon_s1942 View Post
    which might be a problem if their VAST instal only has a single cable (old Austar) or are running a Foxtel SD stb on one leg and VAST on the other !!
    You can just loop the connection with twin tuners on VAST boxes as they only use transponders with vertical polarity. Use loop out from tuner 1 to give tuner 2 signal. Looping to/from Foxtel boxes is problematic though as they use both horizontal and vertical polarities. Cue dual LNB and separate cabling with or without a multi-switch in those cases.
    Last edited by Smacca; 24-07-18 at 10:55 PM.

    | www.SatTVGuide.com.au |

    Volunteer, non-profit online TV guides for VAST viewers.

  • #5
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Central Tablelands of NSW
    Age
    77
    Posts
    13,824
    Thanks
    1,242
    Thanked 3,803 Times in 2,523 Posts
    Rep Power
    1755
    Reputation
    56926

    Default

    Smacca and Tiny, my brain as usual was in neutral in my last posting as I wasnt thinking that CURRENTLY VAST only uses Vertical? polarization so you can run as many VAST STB's off a single cable as you like.

    HOWEVER, by NOT connecting the twin tuners internally and having a connection for each tuner separately, would this allow VAST at a future date to use BOTH vertical and Horizontal polarities ?

    At the moment the User cannot access the menu to alter any settings but that could be done by software updates the same way Foxtel does.

    I cant see any such changes happening this side of 'Domesday' (old spelling) but, who knows? (Only the Shadow Knows!!!)
    I stand unequivicably behind everything I say , I just dont ever remember saying it !!

  • #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 21 Times in 11 Posts
    Rep Power
    98
    Reputation
    393

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gordon_s1942 View Post
    Are the recordings 'portable' to be played back on 'anything' or only on the one that recorded the program or another of the same make?
    I'm keen to know the answer to this too. It annoys me that i can't do this with my Humax 1003s, it's all encrypted.

  • #7
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    1,433
    Thanks
    934
    Thanked 1,660 Times in 724 Posts
    Rep Power
    793
    Reputation
    32287

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kabammi View Post
    I'm keen to know the answer to this too. It annoys me that i can't do this with my Humax 1003s, it's all encrypted.

    4. Can I watch recordings made by my VAST set top box on other devices or my PC?

    It is a condition of the VAST platform that you can only playback recording made on your VAST decoder on the actual VAST decoder the recording was made on.



    Doubt that this will have changed with the new model.

  • #8
    Premium Member

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Central Tablelands of NSW
    Age
    77
    Posts
    13,824
    Thanks
    1,242
    Thanked 3,803 Times in 2,523 Posts
    Rep Power
    1755
    Reputation
    56926

    Default

    This recording of programs is purely at the pleasure of the broadcasters who tried to force that so called 'FreeView' system onto everybody with the introduction of Digital TV.
    Because everything is timed to the second (except Live Sports etc) they demonstrate their dislike of allowing recordings by over running programs so it doesnt end until after the advertised time.
    I dont record much FTA but those shows I do, I try to add 5+ minutes to the end time.
    The Broadcasters made a few errors and got wrapped over the knuckles when they tried to control Terrestrial FTA TV but VAST is a different story as its totaly new.
    I stand unequivicably behind everything I say , I just dont ever remember saying it !!

  • #9
    Member transit's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    near Wilmot, TASMANIA
    Age
    65
    Posts
    271
    Thanks
    92
    Thanked 95 Times in 58 Posts
    Rep Power
    132
    Reputation
    955

    Default

    Has anyone out there got their hands on one of theses yet. I would be really interested to know if they live up to their description. Many bugs? Might be my next decoder.

  • #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Rep Power
    0
    Reputation
    10

    Default Quick review

    As no one has done a review on this thread I thought I would and maybe someone might know more than me about my issues with this unit.

    let me say first that I like this one very much in many ways and I think it offers good value or bang for the buck. My main issues with this unit are really minor but I would have thought that Satking would have learnt a thing or two from Humax by now. It is no Humax in showing any great style and is typical of Satking in presenting a cheap and nasty outward looking box. I find the ability to shut out unwanted extra channels inconvenient and a pity as to be able to do that would make it a much more pleasant experience.

    Having stated my concerns, I must say well done Satking for the improvement over the last model but if Humax were still available I'd buy them instead but only because of how it fits in with the house decor.
    Last edited by Superrabbit; 15-08-20 at 06:32 PM.

  • #11
    Premium Member zeke.damien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Gippsland
    Age
    33
    Posts
    231
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
    Rep Power
    165
    Reputation
    78

    Default

    Ordered this unit the other day will post up a review and some pics when it arrives (maybe even a youtube review) i also ordered the 35 dollar wifi dongle that goes with it
    become a premium member ---- DO IT NOW!!!!!!
    CFA Member District 9

  • The Following User Says Thank You to zeke.damien For This Useful Post:

    william10 (18-09-20)

  • #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 21 Times in 11 Posts
    Rep Power
    98
    Reputation
    393

    Default

    Thanks Damien, i look forward to it.
    My humax 1003s is dying after 7+ years and it's starting to fail. I'll need a new vast receiver very soon .

  • The Following User Says Thank You to kabammi For This Useful Post:

    william10 (24-09-20)

  • #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 21 Times in 11 Posts
    Rep Power
    98
    Reputation
    393

    Default

    Well bugger it, i just ordered one. It's not like there's much choice these days anyway.

  • #14
    Senior Member
    Johnno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    The Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    758
    Thanks
    826
    Thanked 1,391 Times in 346 Posts
    Rep Power
    738
    Reputation
    27831

    Default

    I'm thinking of buying one.. it's time to update - any more reviews ?

  • #15
    Premium Member zeke.damien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Gippsland
    Age
    33
    Posts
    231
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
    Rep Power
    165
    Reputation
    78

    Default

    Recieved the decorder today after a month delay in postage thank you Australia post *so far menu has been super intuitive, friendly just getting an update for the box now which is taking its time will post up some screenshots
    I did buy a external hdd + wifi dongle for it so it can get freeview plus (if its available)
    if you have a foxtel box as well and plan on using the loop out don't you need to get a multiswitch 2 in 4 out to make this work
    thanks Leroy for your post regarding this
    become a premium member ---- DO IT NOW!!!!!!
    CFA Member District 9

  • #16
    Premium Member
    Smacca's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,140
    Thanks
    630
    Thanked 1,052 Times in 413 Posts
    Rep Power
    436
    Reputation
    12107

    Default

    Would love to see those screenshots zeke.damien

    | www.SatTVGuide.com.au |

    Volunteer, non-profit online TV guides for VAST viewers.

  • #17
    Administrator
    mtv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    18,382
    Thanks
    5,486
    Thanked 12,116 Times in 5,954 Posts
    Rep Power
    4337
    Reputation
    178639

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zeke.damien View Post
    if you have a foxtel box as well and plan on using the loop out don't you need to get a multiswitch 2 in 4 out to make this work
    Correct.

    If you want independent use of both decoders, you will need a multiswitch if you only have two (H/V) cables from a dual LNB available.

    If you only have a single output LNB, as many VAST viewers have and you want to connect a Foxtel box, you will also need to upgrade the LNB and cabling to a dual-output LNB.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to mtv For This Useful Post:

    william10 (19-10-20)

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •