Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Optarse 3G speeds

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Guiseppe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,270
    Thanks
    767
    Thanked 309 Times in 201 Posts
    Rep Power
    247
    Reputation
    5144

    Default Optarse 3G speeds

    For the last couple of days my 3G mobile speed is slower than molasses in winter. I have been, via online chat, in contact with the Mobile Technical Support Team who simply advised returning APN to default.

    I have done this and my speed is still bleh! 69ms ping, 8.28Mbis down, 0.37Mbis up. This is to Sydney - only a few hundred km away!.

    Any ideas? I have noticed that my IP has changed several times ...
    If Australia is a democracy why, then, is voting compulsory?

    "What has changed between the arrival of the First Fleet and today?"
    "Wearing leg irons is now not required."



Look Here ->
  • #2
    Senior Member
    oceanboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    15,281
    Thanks
    6,695
    Thanked 7,784 Times in 4,093 Posts
    Rep Power
    3256
    Reputation
    130752

    Default

    Sometimes Optus 3G speeds suffer for a day (work being done), but i have found they generally come back faster than before.
    That is what ive observed over the 6+ years i've been with them

    Took this 2 days ago



    Just remember, big changes are coming to our deal this month
    Last edited by oceanboy; 30-07-18 at 08:48 PM.
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #3
    Senior Member
    Guiseppe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,270
    Thanks
    767
    Thanked 309 Times in 201 Posts
    Rep Power
    247
    Reputation
    5144

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oceanboy View Post
    I wish - I doubt my speed has ever been that good. I note the time is 3:37AM.

    Quote Originally Posted by oceanboy View Post
    Just remember, big changes are coming to our deal this month
    Yes. Received a SMS a few days ago. Checked out the details on the web site but not sure that I will continue given my usage.

    I have a 4G SIM coming so will be quite interesting to see what difference there is in speed.

    PS. Your inbox is reporting as being full.

    EDIT: As a matter of interest what are your APN settings please.
    Last edited by Guiseppe; 31-07-18 at 01:01 PM.
    If Australia is a democracy why, then, is voting compulsory?

    "What has changed between the arrival of the First Fleet and today?"
    "Wearing leg irons is now not required."

  • #4
    Senior Member
    oceanboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    15,281
    Thanks
    6,695
    Thanked 7,784 Times in 4,093 Posts
    Rep Power
    3256
    Reputation
    130752

    Default

    Is this a better time for you mate?
    It makes not one scrap of Difference what time I do it...
    Maybe different for you
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #5
    Senior Member
    oceanboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    15,281
    Thanks
    6,695
    Thanked 7,784 Times in 4,093 Posts
    Rep Power
    3256
    Reputation
    130752

    Default

    No idea what my APN is
    Just tossed the sim into the new phone 1 year ago and didn't touch a thing
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • #6
    Senior Member
    Guiseppe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,270
    Thanks
    767
    Thanked 309 Times in 201 Posts
    Rep Power
    247
    Reputation
    5144

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oceanboy View Post
    Is this a better time for you mate?
    It was just an observation ...

    Things have gone from bad to worse - last night I could not stream SBS.

    Quote Originally Posted by oceanboy View Post
    No idea what my APN is
    Just tossed the sim into the new phone 1 year ago and didn't touch a thing
    Clutching at straws here - is speed device dependent?

    All suggestions welcome.
    Last edited by Guiseppe; 01-08-18 at 10:45 AM.
    If Australia is a democracy why, then, is voting compulsory?

    "What has changed between the arrival of the First Fleet and today?"
    "Wearing leg irons is now not required."

  • #7
    Senior Member
    Guiseppe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,270
    Thanks
    767
    Thanked 309 Times in 201 Posts
    Rep Power
    247
    Reputation
    5144

    Default

    Somebody? Anybody?
    If Australia is a democracy why, then, is voting compulsory?

    "What has changed between the arrival of the First Fleet and today?"
    "Wearing leg irons is now not required."

  • #8
    Premium Member
    SS Dave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    North Canberra
    Age
    57
    Posts
    1,062
    Thanks
    2,446
    Thanked 1,046 Times in 353 Posts
    Rep Power
    486
    Reputation
    17262

    Default

    I would guess it location dependent. I use a Telstra 4g sim and the speed varies depending on location and time of day.

    North Canberra Midday I get 45Mbps evening is 20mbps

    South Canberra 75Mbps midday and some mornings 120Mbps that's not a typo.

    That's a big difference on the same phone.

    So Maybe a 4G sim and phone might be the go.

    See if some one you know has one you can test at your location and or try one of the other carriers


    SS Dave

  • The Following User Says Thank You to SS Dave For This Useful Post:

    Guiseppe (02-08-18)

  • #9
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    54
    Posts
    5,219
    Thanks
    199
    Thanked 3,188 Times in 1,380 Posts
    Rep Power
    1114
    Reputation
    40490

    Default

    Download Australian phone towers app.
    It'll tell you what providers and bandwidth are available in your area.
    Telstra 4g with carrier aggregation is very fast.....
    I can get up to 180mbps with Optus here using my Huawei mobile...

    Sent from my CLT-L29 using Tapatalk



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • The Following User Says Thank You to hoe For This Useful Post:

    Guiseppe (02-08-18)

  • #10
    Senior Member
    Guiseppe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,270
    Thanks
    767
    Thanked 309 Times in 201 Posts
    Rep Power
    247
    Reputation
    5144

    Default

    The 4G SIM arrived this morning and is activated.

    I note that my signal strength is very low but using the deskstop speed test I am getting, depending on who I use, speeds from 11 - 17 Mbis compared to 1.8Mbis on 3G a few minutes ago.
    If Australia is a democracy why, then, is voting compulsory?

    "What has changed between the arrival of the First Fleet and today?"
    "Wearing leg irons is now not required."

  • #11
    Senior Member
    Guiseppe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,270
    Thanks
    767
    Thanked 309 Times in 201 Posts
    Rep Power
    247
    Reputation
    5144

    Default

    Despite a long "Live Chat" with Optarse I am still none the wiser and my speed is still abysmal ...
    If Australia is a democracy why, then, is voting compulsory?

    "What has changed between the arrival of the First Fleet and today?"
    "Wearing leg irons is now not required."

  • #12
    Senior Member
    oceanboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    15,281
    Thanks
    6,695
    Thanked 7,784 Times in 4,093 Posts
    Rep Power
    3256
    Reputation
    130752

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Guiseppe View Post
    Clutching at straws here - is speed device dependent?
    Do you have spare mobile devices to try your SIM card in?
    Can you drive to the next town to see if speed changes?
    (used to drive through a certain country town and Optus was hopeless there, Full Sig Strength, just no speed, used to time out)
    Do you have a friend or family member with an Optus service to compare in your location?
    If u want to go on an expedition get a Land Rover, if u want to come home from an expedition get a Landcruiser!

  • The Following User Says Thank You to oceanboy For This Useful Post:

    Guiseppe (03-08-18)

  • #13
    Premium Member
    hoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    -30.7719955,121.495211
    Age
    54
    Posts
    5,219
    Thanks
    199
    Thanked 3,188 Times in 1,380 Posts
    Rep Power
    1114
    Reputation
    40490

    Default

    What are you using it in ?
    If you are using a cheap phone, nothing will help.....

    I had really good results with Optus using a 4g USB dongle plugged into my router.
    The new ones made by Huawei work very well.
    Telstra and Optus both use Huawei USB dongles, Telstra's has a micro SD slot as well.

    Sent from my CLT-L29 using Tapatalk
    Last edited by hoe; 02-08-18 at 08:50 PM.



    Finally got FTTN, 710m line length....

  • #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Penrith
    Age
    34
    Posts
    92
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
    Rep Power
    126
    Reputation
    240

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Guiseppe View Post
    Somebody? Anybody?
    depending on what frequency your on, your speed will vary, 3g 850/900 vs 3g 2100, 2100 will be alot faster, same as 4g 700 vs 1800 vs 2100 vs 2300 vs 2600 etc, the higher the frequency the better your overall speeds, add in mimo with 4g and speeds get spectacular.

    example,
    in laws are on optus, 4g 700mhz tower is about 48km away and 730m higher (top of the warrumbungles) with clear line of sight to the tower, single antenna gave them 10mb/sec, added a second to enable mimo, speeds increased to 25mb/sec, note, mimo only works once the signal gets over a certain signal threshold.

    device is the hauwei e3372 optus usb dongle into a d link dwr 116 router.

  • The Following User Says Thank You to Lazyone For This Useful Post:

    Guiseppe (03-08-18)

  • #15
    Senior Member
    Guiseppe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1,270
    Thanks
    767
    Thanked 309 Times in 201 Posts
    Rep Power
    247
    Reputation
    5144

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oceanboy View Post
    Do you have spare mobile devices to try your SIM card in?
    Yes. I can try it in my Galaxy Tab S later in the day. EDIT: Later in the day tried to get the 4G SIM out of the tablet and I realised, in my enthusiasm, I had pushed in a nano SIM instead of a micro SIM. Now comes the "fun" part.

    Quote Originally Posted by hoe View Post
    What are you using it in ?
    Motorola Moto E 2nd Gen.

    Just did a speed test. Ping 41ms, 6.33Mbis download - test did not complete the upload. That's to Sydney.
    Last edited by Guiseppe; 03-08-18 at 06:11 PM.
    If Australia is a democracy why, then, is voting compulsory?

    "What has changed between the arrival of the First Fleet and today?"
    "Wearing leg irons is now not required."

  • Bookmarks

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •